I may not be Thomas Edison, but…

I have invented some pretty sweet things in my day Winking smile

Hey friends and happy Hump Day! How does it feel to be half way done a wonderfully long week!? Who is looking forward to the weekend as much as me? Smile I need another “homework weekend”. Call me a nerd, but hey, the road to becoming a Registered Dietitian is a busy one! Full of traffic (or assignments, whatever). Winking smile

I first need to thank you all for your support with my new evening snack Smile It’s nice to know I have bloggy friends already Smile I also loved hearing about your favourite exercises Open-mouthed smile Thanks for commenting!

So, I am not exactly what came over me today, but I felt extremely creative and invented a few things Winking smile

Maybe I had extra brain power from all of the energy I was provided with from my protein yogurt last night?? Winking smile

My first invention was created at breakfast time. I was inspired by my outrageous craving for sushi (it has been a full 3 weeks since I have had sushi and I am going cray cray over here!)

Here is my first invention of the day: a wonderful topping option for your toast, english muffin, etc. featuring my favourite maki roll innards…

Avocado and Mango!

avo mango 008

(2 Tbsp of ripe avocado smashed on a toasted english muffin topped with thinly sliced mango)

Too weird for you? Try it any way! Live by one of my favourite sayings: “You don’t know until you try!” Winking smile

This was outrageously tasty. I couldn’t even contain myself. I may have started to sing and dance…

My second invention of the day does not involve food, but I should seriously patent this baby Winking smile

After my celebratory song and dance sesh around my kitchen, I figured I should get ready for school, so I wouldn’t have to go with bed head Smile As I in the middle of straightening my hair I was beginning to get very frustrated; every time I set my straightener down on the counter it would sliiiiide in the direction of the cord and almost burn me. I am an extreme baby and knew I wouldn’t be able to attend school if I got a burn from the hot stick, so I invented a very practical device that quite possible saved my skin from horrendous burns Smile

I present to you…

The Hair Straightener Stabilizer!

avo mango 011

How does it work!? Well, it’s quite easy actually Smile Simply take your toothpaste tube and press the end of your hair straightener into it Smile It’s like a memory foam for your hair straightener Open-mouthed smile Genius? Yes? I thought so.

I have also become quite the professional marinade developer Smile Maybe I’ll be a Top Chef some day? Winking smile

Top_Chef_300

[Source]

Or even better? The next Rachel Ray!

rachel_ray

[Source]

Watch for my face plastered all over pots and pans at a store near you Winking smile

I can only dream…

For now I will just share my recipes and creations with all of you Open-mouthed smile I have no problem with that!

Spicy Soy and Basil

1/4 cup low sodium soy sauce
2 – 3 Tbsp Tabasco sauce
2 Tbsp basil (fresh or dried, but preferably fresh)

Melt in Your Mouth Chicken

1/2 cup red wine (or red wine vinegar, whatever you have on hand)
1 Tbsp dry mustard
1 – 2 Tbsp dill (fresh or dried, but preferably fresh)
Pepper

Quick Stir-Fry Sauce

1/4 cup low sodium soy sauce
2 Tbsp chilli garlic sauce
1/4 cup chopped green onions

I used all of these this week and all were exceptional Smile I just toss stuff together, but I thought I would share because I know some people like to try different combo’s Smile I used the spicy soy basil with pork tenderloin, the chicken marinade with, you guessed it, chicken, and the quick stir-fry sauce with scallopini.

The rest of my day was pretty fab. It was full of great eats, a good library study sesh with my friend, warm weather, blueberry tea, and some X Factor Winking smile (I currently have it on in the background). I didn’t know how I would feel about this show. I was pretty critical of Simon and Paula creating a new show together, but it’s actually pure amazement. I highly suggest you guys tune in and let your jaws drop at all of the breath-taking performances Smile I think there is some serious talent on this show and will continue to watch it Smile It’s definitely not like watching Idol.

Do you follow a recipe for marinades or create your own?
What shows are you watching this season?
Who is your favourite chef?
I love Jamie Oliver. I wish he was my hubby.

food-jamie-oliver

[Source]

What a heart throb! Gorgeous and he can cook Winking smile

Goodnight friends!

Meg
xoxoxo

About Meg (A Dash of Meg)

Hello, my name is Meg. I am a 20-year-old passionate Foods & Nutrition student on my way to becoming a Registered Dietitian who loves food, cooking, fitness, seafood, and a nice cup of tea.

Posted on September 28, 2011, in Breakfast, Dinner, Lunch, Recipes, Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 17 Comments.

  1. I like Tosca Reno’s cookbooks but she wouldn’t be my favourite “chef”, I love Julia Childs but find her cookbooks to time consuming for me (as a student), Jaime Oliver made great progress on “school lunches” and the “food revolution” so he is definitely admirable, Rachel Ray is always a sweetheart but I can’t tolerate spices (I KNOW I hate it) and Gordon Ramsy is also good..

    For more local Canadians I do like Anna Olsen 🙂 When I met her she was so friendly and personable!

    Megs you are also on my list of TOP CHEFS. I would buy your cookbook and workout book if you made one (hint hint hurry it up!)

    🙂

  2. Awesome recipes, love! I wish I was that creative in the kitchen, I’m just so lazy when it comes to cooking haha 😉 Have a great day!

  3. Awsome recipes!!! I love your blog btw!!! I Am so glad that I found you!

  4. Avocado and mango, eh? Sounds crazy, but I’ve heard that a lot of countries use avocados as a sweet ingredient, rather than savory. Hmmm…

    I love the toothpaste for the hair straightener idea, too. My straightener is always flopping and sliding around everywhere!

  5. I love jamie oliver!!!

  6. I need a homework weekend too—looks like it’ll have to be next weekend, though. I’m quaking in my boots over this advanced biochem exam : (

    That marinade sounds delicious! My go-to involves a tablespoon each of miso paste, minced garlic, soy sauce, brown rice vinegar, and either olive or sesame oil, plus a little water if it needs to be thinned out.

  7. Definitely agree with the Jamie Oliver choice. I feel like if anyone should have the name “Naked Chef” it should be him.

  8. survivingcandyland

    You are like the most epic inventor ever. You def need to get on that patent of the straightener stabilizer. I need to start using that. Every time I straighten my hair I either end up on the injured list or almost burning down my apartment. I can’t tell which one is worse.

  1. Pingback: Food, Beautiful Food « A Dash of Meg

  2. Pingback: Pep In My Step « A Dash of Meg

A penny for your thoughts...