Pep In My Step

I don’t even think the words “Happy Friday” are good enough to describe how much I actually want to celebrate that today is Friday! Smile But, Happy Friday anyways friends Smile I hope you all had a delightful day and are looking forward to the weekend! I definitely am.

I am also looking forward to a good sleep tonight Winking smile My body isn’t used to being out so late!

When I got home from school today all I wanted to do was change into my pyjamas, put warm socks on, and maybe procrastinate studying for a little while Winking smile The weather was unbelievably winter-like today that I seriously thought it was going to snow, so I definitely wasn’t planning on leaving my cozy home once I got home from class Smile

However, this all changed when I received some very exciting news Open-mouthed smile 

The little blinker on my answering machine was flashing away, so I checked my messages and found out that my order for About Time protein powder had come in already! This totally changed my mellow mood into one full of excitement Winking smile The surprising news definitely put a “pep in my step!” Winking smile

Within minutes I was off to the market! Smile

Walking from where I parked my car to the market I began laughing to myself when I realized I was walking around with a ridiculously huge smile on my face haha. Open-mouthed smile My excitement was out for the world to see. Not only was I extremely happy about the arrival of my order, but any trip downtown makes this girl a happy one Winking smile Especially if it’s a trip to the market!

When I got to the store, I could barely speak. You might think I am exaggerating, but when I asked the owner for my parcel I had to reword my sentence three times before it actually made any sense haha

“A parcel away for me”

“She called and said my package came”

“Protein powder, it came”

Seriously.

The poor man trying to interpret my confusing phrases.

He walked me over to the protein powders and there it was my cinnamon swirl flavoured protein powder. But then I saw something else that caught my eye…

CARAMEL LATTE ABOUT TIME PROTEIN POWDER!

I am a sucker for anything coffee related, so I went with the caramel latte flavour over cinnamon swirl.

So welcome the newest addition to my little About Time protein fam jam Smile I think she fits in quite well Winking smile 

whey muffin 007

(you know what this means… new protein powder review!)

The rest of my night continued with exciting events Smile

My Dad purchases tickets to come visit me in November after my midterms are done Open-mouthed smile I am so excited. I have a memo pad started in my phone titled “Things to do with Dad” already Winking smile It’s getting pretty lengthy too… I hope he knows there’s not going to be anytime for monkey business Winking smile We have stuff to do Open-mouthed smile Fun, fun, fun! (Take this as a warning Daddy!)

My parents also purchased plane tickets for myself to come home for Christmas holidays! Open-mouthed smile The university released our final exam schedule, so I found out that I am done exams December 19th and will be home sweet home by December 20th Smile Definitely something to look forward to and the way life goes, it will be here before I know it!

The rest of the excitement that occurred tonight took place in the kitchen Winking smile I was cooking up a storm (instead of studying, oops) and created some pretty fabulous dishes Winking smile You guys are going to get so spoiled these next few days! The recipes are going to come at you so fast you won’t know what to do with them all Winking smile 

As for now, I have two recipes for you which involve one of my favourite foods in the world Smile

Avocado!

Avocados are a wonderful fruit packed with heart healthy fats (monounsaturated and polyunsaturated), vitamin E, folate, fibre, and pantothenic acid. Avocados also contain small amounts of iron and zinc.

Personally, I wouldn’t be upset if I had to eat avocados every day Winking smile I love the creamy buttery texture of them so much I could squeal!

Another thing that draws me to this amazing fruit is their versatility! I enjoy avocados plain, mashed on toast, in salads, in replace of salad dressings, mixed in cottage cheese, inside sushi rolls, and the list goes on and on Smile One of the craziest, but most tasty combo’s I have came up with so far using avocados is my avocado and mango topped english muffin Smile (My mouth is watering just thinking about this combo!)

But, I bet you want these recipes already!? Smile Alright. Recipe number one…

A Creamy Avocado and Parsley Sauce

locallove 078

locallove 073

2 oz. (4 Tbsp) avocado

1 tsp olive oil

7 – 10 leaves parsley

2 tsp lemon juice

1/2 garlic clove

sea salt (just a sprinkle!)

locallove 052

Blend ingredients and enjoy! I topped my asparagus with this sauce, but I will definitely be using it as a pasta sauce in the near future Smile 

Second recipe…

Savoury Kale Eggrito

bedouin 003

bedouin 011

1 whole grain tortilla (I use Food for Life brand)

3 – 4 egg whites

kale

red pepper

yellow pepper

1 Tbsp avocado

1 Tbsp hummus

Sauté vegetables in frying pan. Add eggs and scramble when vegetables are tender. Meanwhile, spread tortilla with hummus. Once eggs are cooked, stuff tortilla with egg and vegetable mixture and avocado. Wrap it up and enjoy as a healthy meal at anytime! I had this for breakfast earlier this week and bragged to all of my friends about how good my breakfast was.

Did anyone care?

I’m not sure, but I was sure excited Winking smile 

Two pumpkin recipes comin’ at you guys tomorrow! Yes. Pumpkin. I hope you aren’t sick of pumpkin yet because I just opened up a huge can and am going to get creative Winking smile 

See you with the recipes tomorrow! Bring your smiles!

Meg
xoxo

Favourite recipe using avocado?
Favourite recipe using pumpkin?
Would have you gone with the caramel latter flavoured protein powder or the cinnamon swirl?

What I Learnt Today:

To help keep your mushrooms last up to an entire week longer, place in large plastic resealable bag lined with paper towel. Monitor the paper towel throughout the week; when damp – replace with dry paper towel!

About Meg (A Dash of Meg)

Hello, my name is Meg. I am a 20-year-old passionate Foods & Nutrition student on my way to becoming a Registered Dietitian who loves food, cooking, fitness, seafood, and a nice cup of tea.

Posted on October 21, 2011, in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink. 18 Comments.

  1. I definitely smiled and giggled my way through reading this post!
    First of all, those protein powder flavors sound amazing! Caramel Latte?! I need to get my hands on some. And second, that is SO exciting that your dad is coming to visit and that you’ll be able to go home for Christmas. There really is nothing like spending time with family during the holidays. (:
    I made pumpkin-spice muffins today- just the basic spice-cake mix+pumpkin (and I threw in some vegan chocolate chips for good measure!) They turned out delicious!

  2. Hahahaha I just cracked up at your description of trying to ask for the package. But the most important thing is you got it!

    Avocados on asparagus also seem like such a great idea 🙂

  3. mmm, avocado parsley sauce sounds so good! Favorite pumpkin recipe would be Katie’s pumpkin cream cheese bars. I’m obsessed with them, and surprisingly so is my picky eating boyfriend. I would of went with the cinnamon, because I’m obsessed with that too! haha

  4. Awesome! I would want both of those flavours for sure!

    I love avocados as well – mostly in the form of guacamole 🙂 I can put guac on ANYTHING!

    My favourite pumpkin recipe so far has been Angela’s (from Oh She Glows) vegan pumpkin mac + “cheeze” sauce (it doesn’t contain any cheese!). Pumpkin is the secret ingredient and it is so delicious! Here is the link if you want to try it: http://ohsheglows.com/2011/10/13/vegan-pumpkin-mac-n-cheeze-sauce/

  5. My favorite avocado creation is just some good guacamole. Nothing too crazy! 🙂 Your eggrito looks yummy! My favorite pumpkin recipe is probably pumpkin protein oatmeal right now. I really want to try Mama Pea’s pumpkin protein bar recipe from yesterday though. I definitely would have went with the cinnamon flavor-I’m not a huge caramel fan!

  6. I love avocado, but in Australia they go a little bit crazy. For example, a chicken and avocado sandwich will usually contain an entire avocado! Now, my husband doesn’t like it anymore!! Haha

  7. Andrea Docherty

    omg!!! that is so awesome they got more about time flavours!!!! i am definitely going to have to go get one of those flavours! I think I would choose caramel latte too.. I will wait for your review on it and see! Or maybe I’ll get the cinnamon and I can tell you how it is 😛
    Happy studying this weekend ! 🙂 lol

  8. I’ve never been a huge fan of avocado, I think it’s the texture? But the eggrito looks delicious! 🙂 I’ve always wanted to try those About time protein powders!

  9. I eat a half an avocado a day (at least). Is 2 oz equal to 30 or 60 grams? I get confused with the exchanges.

    How much do you spend on groceries per week Meg? I buy protein powders and stuff too (and I eat a 500 g tub of yogurt in 1.5-2 days maximum) so I go through quite a bit. Unfortunately, I’m financially strained, so I am really struggling to meet the bills.

    I saw your last bedtime snack. I wish I had your willpower. I just eat so much food before bed. Seriously not good 😦

    Do you count calories? Eat 6x a day? Did you count calories while gaining anddidyou have a lot to gain? I hope these questions are alright.

    • 2 oz. = 60 g 🙂

      I buy groceries daily 😀 hahahaha it’s odd if I am not at the grocery store within a day…

      As I have said in a previous post, I monitor my cals so I know I am on track. I eat 6 meals/day as well.

  10. Hahah you are adorable 🙂
    I’m in love with this post. Everything about it. Avocado. Eggs. Kale. Wraps. Asparagus. Way to make me drool over my laptop 😉

  11. I really have a hard time liking Kale. I’m always buying it, trying one dish with it, hating it, and throwing out. Do you have any suggestions for max kale enjoyment?

    … and I totally would have chosen caramel latte as well 😀

  12. I LOVE avocados! That parsely sauce sounds so good and simple, definitely going to try it.

  13. ha! I would have been the same way if I had gotten protein powder in the mail!!
    I LOVE avacado, and I can’t wait to see your pumpkin recipes. I love pumpkin 😀

  14. ilovefetacheese

    I’m looking forward to hearing about the About time protein….I’ve been wanting to try it!

  15. My last final is on Dec 19th too 🙂 it is coming so fast! have fun with your dad when he comes!

  1. Pingback: Dreaming of Pumpkin « A Dash of Meg

  2. Pingback: Love All Around « A Dash of Meg

A penny for your thoughts...

