The Return of the Shopaholic

Hey friends!! Smile How’s everyone’s weekend going!?

I just returned from grocery shopping Smile My favourite pass time Winking smile

sweet potato pancake 016

I love grocery shopping and usually *cough* always *cough* buy more than I went for Smile Last year, when I lived in residence, I bought more than my teenie weenie bar fridge could hold. Lucky me, I don’t have to deal with that this year Smile Having said that, I am glad I lived on residence for my first year in London Smile Things wouldn’t be the same if I didn’t. I wouldn’t change a thing Smile

I bought a ton of groceries, as you can see above. The entire elevator ride up to my apartment I was giving thanks for my Dad’s brilliant idea to purchase the granny grocery stroller Winking smile It sure helps me out when I get carried away at Costco!

I am so pumped that I have an incredible packed fridge and freezer now Smile It gives me more inspiration for new recipes Winking smile

Not like I am running out of ideas though…

This morning I developed another new fall-time recipe Smile Call me obsessed with the new season? Smile
I can’t get enough of the fresh apples here Smile Definitely not something I got back in Saskatchewan Smile

Apple Cinnamon Sweet Potato Cakes

1 sweet potato (4 oz.), grated

1/2 apple, peeled, cored, and grated

1/4 cup + 1 Tbsp egg whites

1 1/2 Tbsp soy flour

cinnamon

Mix all ingredients together

sweet potato pancake 006

Take a 1/4 cup of mixture, press into measuring cup firmly, and drop onto heated skillet with olive oil

sweet potato pancake 002

Flip the cake once golden on one side. Remove from heat once both sides are golden.

I served mine with a dollop of Greek yogurt on each cake and more cinnamon! Smile (Along side 2 eggies!)

sweet potato pancake 013

sweet potato pancake 015

This breakfast fuelled my hammie & glutes workout that made me sweat!! Winking smile I rarely sweat when working out. I usually only sweat during HIIT, but this was a killer leg workout inspired by Naomi Smile Her workouts are intense Smile I love them.

Hamstrings & Glutes

Exercise Sets Reps
Triset #1
Lying Hamstring Curls 3 8
Reverse Lunge w/ Barbell 3 12, 10, 8 (increasing weight)
Low Jacks 3 50 sec.
Triset #2
DB Step Ups 3 10 each leg
Hip Thrusters w/ Barbell 3 20
Bosu Leg Crunch w/ Medicine Ball 3 15 each leg
Triset #3
Straight Leg Deadlift 3 10
Plié Squats w/ DB 3 15
Russian Twists w/ Medicine Ball 3 20 each side

I was feeling fantastic after this workout, but my legs were definitely like jelly Smile I love that feeling Smile I finished with 10 minutes of stretching.

Homework has been going great today. I have completed all of my readings for Nutritional Assessment, now I will move onto Clinical then Advance Food Science. My to do list is getting smaller and smaller Winking smile But it won’t if I keep chatting Sad smile

Enjoy your evening!

Meg
xoxo

P.S. did you remember to check out Jess’ blog and read my guest post? Check it out kids! Smile

What is your favourite way to pass the time?

Love or hate grocery shopping? I love it, obviously Winking smile

What was your most recent favourite purchase at the grocery store? Mine, ALMOND BUTTER Open-mouthed smile (I ran out, so I was in desperate need!)

About Meg (A Dash of Meg)

Hello, my name is Meg. I am a 20-year-old passionate Foods & Nutrition student on my way to becoming a Registered Dietitian who loves food, cooking, fitness, seafood, and a nice cup of tea.

Posted on September 25, 2011, in Breakfast, Eat, Recipes, Sweat, Uncategorized, Workouts and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 10 Comments.

  1. I went kinda crazy grocery shopping today too, I sure didn’t stick to my list haha! Best thing I bought was probably a ton of fresh carrots mmm 🙂 Congrats on finishing all of your reading and homework, that’s awesome! I still have some chem to do…eww!
    Have a great rest of your weekend girl!

  2. Nice creation!

  3. survivingcandyland

    I love grocery shopping. I try to go with a list, so I don’t go overboard, but there is always one or two items that I didn’t go in wanting to buy and then come out with. Yes for finishing hw! I’m taking nutritional assessment next semester! Hows adv food science? I have to take that next semester also.

    • Lists are good ideas. I had one too, but totally didn’t stick too it 😉 Too many goodies I wanted (needed??)

      Nutritional assessment is actually my all time favourite class right now hun 🙂 It is my first class on Mondays 🙂 Its the best way to start my week 😀 And, advanced food science is cool. I still need to do readings for that class, but I like the material so far; however, I like the clinical aspect of foods and nutrition a lot more 🙂

  4. you do HIP THRUSTS!!!!!! YES YES YES!!!!! sorry… exercise gets me all riled up.. i get really excited when i see great workouts!!

  5. Oh MY! The pancakes with sweet potatoes and apples look delish! I wonder if I could get away with making them to go with my dinner tonight?

  1. Pingback: Sugar free challenge, workouts, and Whats my important to you?, When I was younger survey « kaliesthoughts

A penny for your thoughts...