Pancake Love

Hey friends Smile How was your Saturday?

Did it start with pancakes like mine? Winking smile

They were autumny, fluffy, and stuffed with raisins and walnuts Smile Yes, another seasonal pancake recipe Smile You can never have too much of the fabulous flavours of fall Winking smile Agree?

autumn pancake 009

autumn pancake 006

autumn pancake 011

This wonderful recipe developed by yours truly makes six hearty pancakes that fuelled my morning workout Winking smile

Butternut Squash Pancakes

1 scoop vanilla protein powder

1/2 cup egg whites (4 egg whites)

5 oz. butternut squash, cooked

2 Tbsp wheat bran

cinnamon

baking powder

raisins

walnuts

Blend all ingredients except for raisins and walnuts together (I used my magic bullet as per usual Winking smile). Heat small amount of oil in frying pan on medium heat and cook pancakes! After one magic twist of the wrist and the pancake is flipped, sprinkle with raisins and walnuts for an added fun Winking smile

My day was entirely occupied by homework and cleaning, but I did manage to fit in some baking Winking smile I needed to do my food prep for the week! I made Carrot Cake Protein Bars a la Jamie Eason.

I love her.

autumn pancake 024

I actually made two batches of the recipe, but one has chocolate protein powder instead of vanilla because I ran out, so it will be interesting to try another variation this coming week!

autumn pancake 025

(the chocolate variety)

They both turned out perfect, so I am looking forward to my snacks throughout the week Open-mouthed smile

Jamie Eason’s Carrot Cake Protein Bars

1 cup oat flour

2 scoops vanilla protein (or chocolate if you run out, haha!)

2 heaping tsp cinnamon (I usually fill my palm twice, I love the cinnamon!)

1/2 tsp baking soda

salt

nutmeg

allspice

1/2 cup egg whites (4 egg whites)

3 Tbsp Stevia

2 jars carrot baby food (results to 8.5 oz)

3 oz. water

Mix dry ingredients together in one bowl and mix wet ingredients together in another bowl then combine. Put mixture into cake pan and bake at 350 for 30 mins.

The first time I made this recipe was this summer with one of my sweetest and truest friends Smile I met her during my first year of university and has filled my life with so much positivity ever since Smile
This is a picture of us enjoying an afternoon of baking Smile

205954_10150738072310497_679980496_20103223_6543649_n

Taste testing the finished product!

222538_10150738072580497_679980496_20103227_511539_n

Oh I miss my Saskatchewan friends so much, but I do have a special announcement to make Open-mouthed smile

My flight home for the Thanksgiving weekend HAS been booked! Watch out Yorkton, Meghan is back Winking smile
Even though it is just for the weekend, I am looking forward to seeing my family, puppy, and friends Open-mouthed smile I’ll take anything I can get!

Speaking of my puppy… after this post I am updating my Cuddles page Smile Check it out Smile She’s my baby and I miss her so

Another tasty eat included in my day was a quick combo I whipped up for lunch Smile

autumn pancake 017

– brown rice spaghetti

– asparagus

– shrimp

– toasted pine nuts

I was lucky enough to chat it up with my Mom quite a few times today Smile Morning, noon, and a few times this after noon Smile I often find weekends hard to get through, but today was a great day and I accomplished a lot Smile even laundry! Yay me! (I have been putting it off for quite some time, but I ran out of dish cloths so I thought it was time!)

Tomorrow is another homework day for me! A ton of readings to do for my Clinical Foods and Nutrition class and Dietary & Nutrition Assessment class. Both are very interesting classes, so I find the readings all to be incredibly fascinating Smile I will also be squeezing a grocery shopping trip and gym sesh into my day as well Smile Gym in the morning, grocery shopping… when I feel like it Winking smile We’ll see how the day goes!

Another exciting thing going on in my life tomorrow is a guest post I wrote for Jess is going up on her blog tomorrow, so I think all of you should check that out Winking smile You can learn even more about my love for Foods & Nutrition Open-mouthed smile Exciting I know Winking smile

Time to round up some pictures of my pup!

Talk to you all tomorrow!

Sweet dreams,

Meg
xoxo

Who is your favourite body building, fitness model, etc.?

What chore do you put off until last?

About Meg (A Dash of Meg)

Hello, my name is Meg. I am a 20-year-old passionate Foods & Nutrition student on my way to becoming a Registered Dietitian who loves food, cooking, fitness, seafood, and a nice cup of tea.

Posted on September 24, 2011, in Breakfast, Eat, Lunch, Recipes, Snack, Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 8 Comments.

  1. Jamie eason is the best, love her so much! And her recipes rock too, I can’t get enough of her pumpkin bars mmm
    That’s great you’re already planning for thanksgiving break, early bird gets the worm heehee 🙂 Your quick lunch combo looks delicious too, I love shrimp!
    Best of luck on all your homework tomorrow girl!

  2. survivingcandyland

    All your meals look amazing. That pancake looks like a fluffy pillow that is edible haha. I’m taking nutritional assessment next semester! What is the class like? I bet its really interesting. I love being a nutritional sciences major!

  3. Mmm all of your eats look fantastic! You are inspiring me to have pancakes this morning… I am planning to make them with pumpkin!

  4. Your eats look great- and aren’t Jamie Easons muffins fantastic?! I love them!! She’s also my fitness idol. She’s amazing!

  1. Pingback: Sweet and Nutty Squash Breakfast Bowl | A Dash Of Meg

A penny for your thoughts...

