The London Groove

Slowly but surely, I am getting back into the groove…

Even though today was only my first full day back in London, I feel like I have everything under control and I feel good about starting classes again tomorrow Smile I am pretty excited actually.

I think having the entire day off today to get prepared really helped me get back into somewhat of a routine (heading to bed early last night didn’t hurt either! I was sleeping by just after 9:00)

I planned on going to the gym today, but I didn’t want to set an alarm or anything. I wanted to let me body rest until it was ready to wake up. Unfortunately, I was woken up by a phone call at 7:00! If it had been my parents calling, I wouldn’t have been upset, but it was someone with the wrong number! I was not impressed. Since I was still pretty sleepy, I lied in bed for a while, but I am not the type to fall back asleep, so I was out of bed and found myself in the kitchen by 7:30 Smile

After a good breakfast, I was off to the gym! It was so nice to get back to my beloved gym. It was leg day, so that made things even better Winking smile I also increased my weights for lunges, so I was an extra happy girl after that!

backinthegroove 002

(greek yogurt, rolled oats, strawbs, cocoa powder, and a side of scrambled eggs was my breakfast of choice today!)

I spent the rest of my morning finishing the unpacking I didn’t get to last night, organizing my kitchen, washing dishes, and prepping for school tomorrow (getting my binders and textbooks organized, etc.)

Washing dishes was a must! I needed to put at least one of my new Christmas dishes to use throughout the day!

Isn’t it beautiful?

backinthegroove 003

After lunch, I met up with a friend at Starbucks. It was so nice to see some other form of human life. I often find myself being quite a hermit when I get back into “school mode”. I get so into studying and homework that I forget to pay attention to my social life. During this second term of school, I am going to make a point of doing other things than just school work and gym-related things! Last term there were many days when the only time I left my apartment was to go to the gym! It’s really beneficial to see other people; I get less lonely (obviously), so this term I am definitely going to change things up a bit!

I had so much fun with my friend. We chatted forever while enjoying our Starbucks ❤
I got a venti Zen tea.

After my tea date, I came back home to get more things on my to-do list scratched off; one of them being meal prep! I love meal prep ❤
I will be at school from 8:30 – 5:30 tomorrow, so I packed three meals for myself.

backinthegroove 011

Salad that I later topped with tilapia…

backinthegroove 008

backinthegroove 009

Aw! My last swordfish steak! So sad!

backinthegroove 007

I have been loving green beans lately ❤ They remind my of summer.

backinthegroove 010

Can you tell I love tilapia too?

backinthegroove 012

This was my dinner tonight. Usually, there would be chicken breast thrown into the mix somewhere, but when I went to Costco yesterday there was NO CHICKEN!

Costco with no chicken? What is this world coming to!?

I seriously couldn’t believe my eyes. I had to circle the meat refrigerators about three times until I convinced myself that they had no chicken.

Overall, today was a very productive day. My mood is completely different than yesterday and I attribute all of my positivity to being well rested and getting out with amazing friends (I have another tea date tonight; this time with Chelsea!) I seriously cannot function on less than 7 hours of sleep, so today I am in an entirely different mindset than yesterday Smile It’s wonderful. (P.s. no tears today! yay!)

I have to meet up with Chelsea soon, but before I go, as I was shovelling quinoa into my mouth from my dinner, ironically, I came across this article! If you haven’t tried quinoa yet, I highly suggest doing so. Not just because it provides so many nutritional benefits, but it is easy to cook, versatile, and one of my favourite sources of carbs Winking smile (Clearly, the latter reason is the one that should ultimately convince you to try quinoa! Cheryl, I’m talking to you! Haha!)

How often do you go out with friends?
Have you tried quinoa before? What is your favourite way to enjoy this fabulous seed?
What is your favourite source of carbohydrate?

I have so much to talk about. So, look forward to my posts this week Winking smile I want to show you the inside of my gym bag and what my current favourite piece of fitness equipment is!

Meg
xoxoxoxo

About Meg (A Dash of Meg)

Hello, my name is Meg. I am a 20-year-old passionate Foods & Nutrition student on my way to becoming a Registered Dietitian who loves food, cooking, fitness, seafood, and a nice cup of tea.

Posted on January 9, 2012, in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink. 16 Comments.

  1. That white cool shaped dish is awesome! Love all the meal prep too, especially the swordfish mmmmm 🙂
    Have fun with your tea date with Chelsea!

  2. I love your new Christmas dish! I’m obsessed with handpainted bowls and odd-shaped dishes. That one is so fun and handy!

  3. What self-respecting store RUNS OUT OF CHICKEN? I mean really.

    I have days like that all the timeeee, when I barely leave my house. Sometimes it feels amazing, but if it happens too often, I feel like a huge bum.

  4. Rob and I bought 40 chicken breasts on the weekend because they were on special! We got some weird looks haha

    I was so confused reading about you going back to school and then I realised your holidays are different! It’s summer in Australia right now so our extended holidays are always over December and January. Most universities don’t start up again until mid- to late-February.

  5. ilovefetacheese

    are you still following Jamie Eason’s plan? Eats look great!!

  6. Reminder to try quinoa, noted.

    You need another tea date, with Chelsea AND Cheryl.

    And did you notice that the gym was a zoo? Cuz there was a ton of new faces and like 7 new people in my spin class when i taught at the athletic club tonight! Yay for new years resolutions 🙂

    I can’t choose a single carb…i love them all! It really depends on the day, the time of the day, etc. Chocolate. Cereal/oatmeal. Those end up in my meals pretty much on a daily basis, but you already know that from reading my blog 😉

  7. Costco ran out of chicken??! That’s just ridiculous!

    Have a great first day back at school. With those meals how could it not be a great day? They look delicious. I’ve never tried swordfish before, is it similar to any other kind of fish? I personally love me some good blackened grouper!

  8. I think social time is equally as important as gym time…although I might not always be in the mood, I try and make an effort to make evening plans at least 1-2 times after work and I always leave feeling in such a great mood! As for the weekends, I also try to make the most of it by catching up with friends and family! I love me some quinoa- it’s actually in my Tupperware for lunch today with salmon and kidney beans! Hope your first day back to school goes well 😀

  9. I love quinoa! My fav carb is def pasta though!! enjoy your first day back!

  10. I turn into such a hermit during the semester too – I just get way too focused on school! 😛 But we’ll definitely make this semester a good one!!!

    I’m so impressed with your meal prepping abilities! I’m never on campus for that long so the most I ever have to pack is a meal + a snack, thank goodness. I think I would be so overwhelmed if I had to pack 3 meals!

    I love quinoa! I’m actually eating some in my breakfast right now. 🙂 I don’t know if I could choose a favourite carb though… oats, sweet potatoes, wild rice, and fresh bread are all so good!

  11. Love quinoa! I made some last night and stirred it into soup 🙂

  12. Yay for positivity and happier thoughts! Best of luck with your first day back at school 🙂

    I have a huge bag of quinoa in my kitchen and I’ve had it for quite some time [thanks Costco]… I seem to go in spurts when I really want it and other times don’t even think of it?! I made a fab quinoa bowl last night with bell peppers, onions, roasted corn, horseradish hummus, salsa, a veggie burger, and a sprinkling of parm cheese! I think I should make another bowl tonight…

  13. Glad you’re all set and organized for school!! I always made it a point to go back to school a few days before the semester started so I could organize my room, catch up with friends, get my school supplies set up, re-acquaint myself with the school gym and running routes etc etc. I definitely prefer to start the term organized and settled rather than stressed out haha! all of your friend dates sound like SO much fun! I always made it a point to eat at least one of my meals every day in the company of friends, and I usually would set up standing weekly dates for coffee etc to make sure I got to stay caught up with all my besties 🙂 sometimes I’d have to be a hermit for awhile though, especially during midterms (since we don’t get reading days!). I also lived in the dorm so it was usually impossible for me to go a day without seeing friends….there’s DEFINITELY a downside to that though – I couldn’t ever get a moment alone unless I was studying! hope your first day went well and I can’t wait to see what you’ve got in store for us this week!! 😀

  14. Quinoa does not get enough credit..it’s so nutritionally awesome and it tasted GOOD! Thanks for mentioning it 🙂

    I love how prepared you are with your deliciously balanced meal! Def not how I was in college at all so kudos to you girly 🙂

  15. I love your blog! Sitting with your mom, Myrna bird and Jel having wine and enjoying your blog! Love you!

A penny for your thoughts...

