Too Many Emotions for One Day

I’ve come to the conclusion that no matter how long I am home for, it is never enough. This year I was much luckier than last year and I was able to spend almost a full three weeks at home for my Christmas holidays; however, it’s still so hard to leave my family.

I think it gets harder each time actually?

My flight was at 5:30 AM this morning, so I am running on very little sleep which amplifies my emotions, but after I get my things unpacked and back into some sort of routine I will be fine (a good night’s sleep will also help, too!)

2012-01-07 23.06.54
(I fell asleep on my Grandma’s couch last night at 10:00! Thank goodness because we set our alarms for 3:30 AM this morning, so we would be at the airport for 4:30!)

It’s always hard to say goodbye to my best friends, but I am extremely lucky since they make it a priority of theirs to visit me almost monthly (I think my Dad is coming here in February!)

2012-01-08 05.08.26
(Daddy and I at the airport early this morning)

2012-01-08 05.08.37
(Mommy and I hugging goodbye <3)

My flights went well. I had to fly from Regina to Toronto and then from Toronto to London. On the way from Regina to Toronto I was able to catch a few z’s, but I spent the majority of the flight watching Footloose. Such a good movie!

Despite having an early morning flight, I made sure I fuelled my body as per usual. I had breakfast on the way to the airport and packed snacks for on the plane.

memories 035

When I was in Toronto I picked up a pita from Extreme Pita for my lunch. I also found some cool foodie finds while wandering around and I couldn’t help myself, so I have some new products to try! Smile

newfood 001

newfood 002

It’s amazing how finding new eats can put such a huge smile on my face on such a sad sort of day Smile
(You know you’re a foodie when…)

The flight from Toronto to London is super quick. Like under 30 minutes or something crazy like that? I actually met a new friend on the flight! Smile He goes to Western and seems really sweet. We both like love sushi, so he took my phone number and we’re planning on going out for sushi sometime soon!

So seven hours later and I am back in London, my home. It feels great to be back, but sad at the same time if that makes any sense?

I was so excited when the cab driver pulled up to my apartment and my excitement grew even more as I opened the door to my suite; however, I have had some tears already. My Mom already had to call me and give me a phone hug and kiss.

I know I’ll be OK, I love it here. It’s just different than what I have been experiencing for the past three weeks (family time).

Currently, I am unpacking the THREE suitcases and one backpack I managed to bring back with me.

memories 043

Unpacking = mess.

One suitcase of mine was entirely filled with glass bowls, etc.
I was so happy to see that everything made it in one piece Smile 

memories 044

(Do you like my new tea pot? It’s from DAVIDsTEA obviously Winking smile)

Seeing as how my fridge is bare, except for nut butters, I am planning on going grocery shopping soon. I think I will go to Costco for my meats (chicken breast, ground turkey, fish, etc.) and then Remark for produce (I have been missing Remark so much!)

I am sure it will be an early night to bed for me tonight, but I am thinking I will post again before then because, well, I love you all so much and what else do I have to do? Winking smile 
Classes resume tomorrow, but I have every Monday off this term, so I am a free bird until Tuesday (yay!) which means I have all day tomorrow to get ready and prepare for my new classes! Smile 

Have you seen the new Footloose movie? If so, what did you think?
Have you tried any of my new food purchases before?
Do you like talking to your seat “neighbours” while flying or do you keep to yourself?

Have a wonderful Sunday!

Meg
xoxoxoxoxo

About Meg (A Dash of Meg)

Hello, my name is Meg. I am a 20-year-old passionate Foods & Nutrition student on my way to becoming a Registered Dietitian who loves food, cooking, fitness, seafood, and a nice cup of tea.

Posted on January 8, 2012, in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink. 23 Comments.

  1. I loved footloose!!

    Glad you had a safe trip home!

  2. No reason to be sad. You see your parents like every month, and TIME flies.

    I’ve been out of high school for 10 years and graduated from 2 universities and I haven’t seen my parents for the last 8 years!

    I’ve seen those bars, curious to know if their good.
    What kind of shrimp do you buy? I’m confused by all the different kinds offered (raw, cooked, extra large, normal, sodium, etc etc)! But I want to try it.
    Cute how your treats bag includes crushed up rice cakes!

    Hope you didn’t spill your breakfast in your early morning car trip!

  3. Glad you made it back safely! You’re awesome for keeping your head up, I know how hard it is to go back after such a great vacation. But before you know it, you’ll be reunited with your awesome parents again! 🙂 Sending hugs!!
    Ps– those dry roasted edamames are so freakin good, love em!

  4. Welcome back! Focus on the fact that we’re in the same city, you’re within driving distance of Remark, and that this semester is going to be amazing.

    I always talk to the people next to me. I live alone and I go crazy and talk to myself if I don’t make friends with people on the plane, at the mall, etc. Yesterday I met a stripper while I had my pedicure. Never a dull moment…

  5. My first thought when I read this was “how the eff did she make it from toronto to london in 30 minutes?”

    And then I realized you weren’t talking about Canada.

  6. Haha, finding food products definitely is a mood booster! I always sit to my boyfriend or my mom on planes, because I’m scared of planes and would never travel on them alone haha. I’m weird.

  7. I saw Footloose in the theaters and thought it was good! I’ve never seen the original so I can’t make a comparison, but I think it’s worth seeing 🙂 Costco has huge bags of the dry roasted edamame but I’ve never bought it- look forward to hearing what you think! Glad you had safe travels…

    P.S. You look so much like your parents, it’s adorable! Beautiful family!

  8. It’s so nice that you’re so close to your family =) You don’t see that too much anymore and it’s wonderful to see =)

    Also: WOW nice class schedule! I am super jealous of your free Mondays!

  9. Leaving home is always so hard! The last few times I left home, I was a total emotional mess on the last day.

    I am not really social by nature, so I would usually not strike up a conversation with someone next to me. I’d rather listen to music, read, do my own thang!

  10. I can’t believe you had so much luggage!! When we move, we’re only taking ONE bag each! Talk about packing lightly 😉 Aww you are so lucky you are close to your parents (physically and emotionally). My mum lives on the other side of Australia and I only see her 1-2 times a year, and Rob’s family we only see every 2-3 years (although that’s about to change!). You will see them again soon!

  11. peanut butter banana!!! yum.
    love the pictures 😀

  12. Aww today was an emotional day for me too. After I said goodbye to my parents and drove away, I spent the first 20 minutes of my drive in tears. 😛 We’ll have to cheer each other up when we hang out!

    Ooh that’s so exciting about the plane boy! Is it a date or just a friendly dinner?? 😉

  13. I always feel the same way when I have to leave my family behind. But you’ll get to be reunited with them soon 😀

    I love those edamame things that you got, they’re so delicious!

  14. Aww. I completely agree. It seems like the time at home is never long enough!
    I’m so glad you made it back to London safe and sound. (And that your dishes survived!) I had a TON of luggage that I brought home today too. Literally two cars full- it was crazy! I’m still working on unpacking.
    You’re going to love the dry roasted edamame! It’s a good, high-protein snack. And I’m jealous of that hemp bar! It looks so yummy.

  15. I love that you had shrimp for a snack 😉

  16. yay for new friends! i just bought some edamame like that also! can’t wait to try it!

  17. Even though I know what is going on in your day, I love love love to read your blog! 🙂
    Mom
    (((((:^)))))

  18. Aw sweetie I’m sending you hugs and love. It’s always sad to say goodbye, no matter how short! Just remember that you’ll soon see everyone again 🙂 Until then, thank God for technology!

    How were the snacks you picked up from the airport? I’m intrigued by the hemp power bar!

  19. ahhhh the emotional turmoil of visiting and leaving the parentals!! You will be back in your routine again before you know it:)

    I definitely tread lightly when chatting it up with a passenger because I always fear they won’t stop talking…if it’s a long flight, talking the entire time can be so exhausting LOL!

  20. I totally know how you feel about leaving home!! I swear I cried every single semester going back to school. And I LOVED my college haha! There really is no place like home though, and it must be SUCH a relief knowing you’ll see your parents again soon when they visit! My parents couldn’t really come down to visit too often (I lived in a dorm so they didn’t want to pay for a hotel – only twice a year for moving me in and out), but I’m pretty sure I called my mom every day 🙂 Anyway I’m glad you’re getting settled – grocery shopping was always the first thing I did when moving back in too! Having a full fridge is definitely comforting. And YAY for the new friend!! such a fun suprise! 🙂

A penny for your thoughts...

