Celebrating Friendship: Pedicures and Appetizers

I love Thursdays Smile This is something I definitely would not have been saying throughout my most recent university term because I had a continuous six hours of lecture; however, when I am home (in Yorkton), I love Thursdays Smile

Thursdays are Mom and Meg day ❤

My Mom doesn’t work on Thursdays, so I get her to myself all day Smile Quite literally actually; my Dad works from 9:00 in the morning until 9:00 at night, so Thursdays are definitely a day for mother daughter bonding Smile

Mom and I kept pretty busy this morning. We cleaned the house, I fit in a workout (used the Bowflex), and went to the store for groceries.
Busy busy girls.

Lunch was quick, left overs from yesterday night, because Mom and I had a special date planned for early this afternoon Winking smile

appieparty 005

(The salmon I grilled at Grandma’s, whole grain rice mix, and steamed asparagus)

Mom and I treated ourselves to pedicures this afternoon Smile It’s one of our favourite things do to together Smile

appieparty 007

Cafe mocha for Mom

appieparty 008

Green tea for me

appieparty 011

99.9% of the time I have a dark shade of purple on my toes, but I wasn’t feeling the purple today. I was thinking of going blue, but then I saw this cool green colour!

appieparty 013

appieparty 014

Our pedicures took almost two hours. It was a lovely way to spend the afternoon with each other before I have to go back to London on Sunday Smile I enjoyed every minute of it ❤

appieparty 016

It’s always nice to spend time with my best friend (my Mom), but a good pedicure never hurts either Winking smile

Since today was my second last day in Yorkton, my parents and I decided to have some friends over for drinks and appetizers (yay! An excuse for me to try some new recipes!)
Everything turned out phenomenal and there are hardly any leftovers! I will be sharing the recipes with you in a later post Smile Just pictures tonight!

appieparty 027

appieparty 034

appieparty 035

appieparty 037

appieparty 041

appieparty 042

It was a wonderful night and I am so happy I got to spend some more time with my friends and family before I leave Smile 
I am so lucky to have the family I do ❤

appieparty 021

appieparty 023

(Cuddles looks so sassy in this picture! I love it, haha!)

appieparty 019

Do you entertain guests often?
What are some of your “must make” appetizers for company?
Have you had a pedicure before?
I have had many pedicures in the past, but would love to be a “regular” at a spa, haha! Every time my Mom and I go for pedicures we say, “we should do that more often!”

I hope you all had a lovely day!

Meg
xoxoxoxoxo

About Meg (A Dash of Meg)

Hello, my name is Meg. I am a 20-year-old passionate Foods & Nutrition student on my way to becoming a Registered Dietitian who loves food, cooking, fitness, seafood, and a nice cup of tea.

Posted on January 6, 2012, in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink. 31 Comments.

  1. What a lovely day! Mommy & me days are the best. ❤
    I love the polish color you chose! And I have the exact same black and white floral jacket. I wear it all the time!
    I'm telling you, girl- we're twins!

  2. I absolutely love getting pedicures!!!! I rarely do it, but it is such a treat. I’m happy you get to spend time with your mom. Those moments are so precious.

  3. My feet are sooo ticklish that pedicures are a complete nightmare! Haha Last year my mother-in-law took me to the spa for five hours – all we got were massages, manicures and pedicures. It was so over the top and should not have taken five hours! Haha I’m not un-girly really, I’m just not a fan of the spa 😉

    Your food looks delicious! Can’t wait for the recipes 🙂

  4. your arms look amazing in the lettuce wrap photograph!
    long! lean! and strong!
    fabulous.
    and please tell your mother that her kitchen wall is exquisite, as is she!
    happy friday, love! ❤ x

  5. Appetizers always look so yummy, especially pigs in a blanket! I am a sucker for those babies.

    I love the green color! I need to give myself a pedicure/manicure, it is looong overdue!

  6. Your arms are getting awesome!!

  7. love the green color! i used to paint my nails green for swim team because that was one of our team colors

  8. Love that colour of nail polish! I go for pedicures with my sister whenever we’re at home together. We went last week and I got silver on my toes! 🙂

    All those apps look so good – especially the smoked salmon one. I could eat smoked salmon everyday for the rest of my life!

    I can’t believe break is almost ever. 😦 Enjoy your last few days at home!

  9. All of those dishes look so appetizing [hehe, sorry, couldn’t help myself :P]! Enjoying a mani/ pedi is one of my fave ways to relax and unwind! I usually get some shade of pink on my fingers and a darker color on my toes…

  10. I love that green nail polish!

    Have a great last few days of your break! I’m so not ready to go back!

  11. recoveringfree

    I’m always afraid I would scare the people who do the pedicures because my feet are callused and gross 🙂 I tried your oatified banana chocolate protein pudding this morning for breakfast and it was delish!

  12. ilovefetacheese

    This post made me sooo hungry!!! YUM

  13. love that they have tea at your nail shop!
    I’ve been stuck in a pink-red rut with my polish. the green color looks cute!

  14. you are so lucky to have such a great relationship with you mom and be able to spend time with her like that! my eyes went straight to the smoked salmon and eggs 😉 have a great weekend meg!

  15. great aps girl! appetizer parties are so fun because i’m a big fan of bites of everything! why limit yourself to one dang dish right?

  16. Believe it or not, I have actually never had a pedicure before. I tell myself that I should just splurge and treat myself, but I always end up doing my nails at home! I love that rich green color you chose. It fits in perfectly with winter!

  17. May I ask what type of dog cuddles is?? She is soooooo cute!!!

    • well thank you Melanie! 🙂 I think she is quite adorable myself 😉 Cuddles is a Havanese 🙂 the breed is part of the Bichon family. If you are interested in the Havanese breed feel free to ask me any questions 🙂 xoxo

  18. kaliesthoughts

    I love your dog<3

  19. aw I love mom-daughter dates!!! my mom and I like to get pedicures together too – we’re getting some on saturday and then going out to dinner! 😀 all those appetizers look phenomenal, you should cater all of my parties from now on! 😛

  20. Mmmmm, pedicure! And momma bonding time. My mom and I do that all the time in the summer! Okay, not all the time but every 6 weeks. I’m going to have a winter pedi today if I make it through my 17k run alive this morning. If I don’t post tonight, you’ll want to look for me crying in the bushes somewhere!

A penny for your thoughts...

