A New Quinoa Recipe to Ring in the New Year

Happy New Years Eve everyone! Smile 

On my side of the world I am 30 minutes away from ringing in the new year! Obviously, I am having a pretty mild new years eve as I am blogging at this time…

Although my night has been on the more tame side, it has been wonderful…

My parents and I invited some family friends over for another crab feast. You can never have too much crab Winking smile Crab has such a sweet tasting meat, I love it!

Along with our crab we served Greek Salad

quinoanew 014

And I made the dressing

quinoanew 018

Great Greek Salad Dressing

1/4 cup red wine vinegar

1/2 cup extra virgin olive oil

1 tsp basil

1/2 tsp oregano

salt and pepper to taste

So simple, but so good Smile 

I also made a quinoa side dish to go along with our crab and greek salad. Instead of making my go to quinoa salad, I made something totally new! And it turned out so well that I may even like it better! I highly recommend trying this recipe out! Smile

Cook 2 cups of quinoa in water and chicken stock (I used a 2:1 ratio of water/chicken stock to quinoa)

quinoanew 002

Thinly slice a bundle of green onions (probably a total of ten green onions? I didn’t measure, but this may measure to one cup diced green onions)

quinoanew 003

Toast that many (again, no measurements) pine nuts in a frying pan on low heat until golden and fragrant

quinoanew 004

(toasted pine nuts are definitely one of the best things in life)

quinoanew 005

Toss the toasted pine nuts in quinoa with 3 tsp cilantro*

quinoanew 007

*I used the Garden Gourmet Cilantro; however, you can use fresh cilantro leaves instead!

quinoanew 013

I served this side dish at room temperature, but it would be nice warm as well.

Cilantro Quinoa with Toasted Pine Nuts

2 cups quinoa, rinsed and cooked

1 bundle (approximately 1 cup) thinly sliced green onions

3 tsp Garden Gourmet Cilantro (or fresh cilantro leaves)

2/3 cup (approximately) pine nuts, toasted

I found this quinoa dish to be extremely comforting, yet light. Let me know if you try it! I would love to hear feedback!

After a wonderful dinner, we played a rousing game of Catch Phrase after watching the Canadians win the hockey game Winking smile 

I have a fitness post coming at you tomorrow, so be ready!

Happy New Years!

Meg
xoxoxoxo

How did you spend your new years?
Have you made any new recipes lately? If so, what did you make?
Crab or lobster? Which do you prefer?
I definitely prefer crab over lobster Smile

About Meg (A Dash of Meg)

Hello, my name is Meg. I am a 20-year-old passionate Foods & Nutrition student on my way to becoming a Registered Dietitian who loves food, cooking, fitness, seafood, and a nice cup of tea.

Posted on January 1, 2012, in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink. 26 Comments.

  1. I rang in New Years with family and friends!! It’s 2012 on the east coast…enjoy new years out your way!! Xo

  2. Thanks for the recipe! I’ve only had quinoa once but I loved it. It’s so nutty! I just cooked up lunch for myself – a mung bean/spinach/red spinach/cabbage/egg stew with black and red rice. Mmm.

  3. crab is amazing! my mother purchased the “big crab pack” from Sam’s Club so that i could enjoy something fish whilst everyone else ate “meat” @ christmas. it was completely gone in two days. breakfast + dinner + breakfast (the next day). nom nom nom! LOVE crab! dipped in ketchup! but of course, in my world, practically everything is always dipped in ketchup. 😉

    cheers to a healthy, happy, fashionable new year to you! xxx

  4. I like crab more than lobster too 🙂 Looks like a delicious way to bring in 2012! Glad you had fun!!

  5. Happy New Years Meg! I’m jealous of your night at home – I went to a party and I was forced to stay out til 1:30 am because my friend was driving. I just wanted to go to bed haha! 😛 It was a fun night though.

    Love the quinoa recipe! Toasted pine nuts are seriously the best thing ever.

  6. Do you think I could use beef broth? (I buy the “Imagine” brand of beef or chicken broth usually…all I have now is the beef). Also, I wonder how long this would store in the fridge? I’d like to cook more rice and quinoa and maybe store it in my fridge just to grab n’go…

  7. I crawled into bed around 7, turned on CTV to find my favourite movie (Mary Poppins) and fell asleep around 8:00 when Mary Poppins sang “Stay Awake”. That gets me every time 😉

    PS I love quinoa! Nice salad!

  8. Ooooh…pine nuts and cilantro sounds like the best quinoa ever!! Happy new year, Meg!

  9. OOH yum!!! these both look great, I’ve definitely been more than a little obsessed with quinoa lately so I’m totally gonna have to try that! I had a pretty tame NYE too – just me and my parents, and it was perfect! 🙂 And I agree – crab over lobster any day. Happy 2012!!! 😀

  10. Both of these recipes look delicious! Definitely bookmarking. I love love love crab. I’m allergic to lobster but I’ve still had it before and it was meh. Nothing compares to some white meat crab legs dipped in melted butter! I hope you had a great New Years girl 🙂

  11. survivingcandyland

    I LOOOOOOVE crab too. I want to come over. You can hide me under the table. Haha. Sweet quinoa recipe. I some how have acquired about 4 boxes of it and had no idea what to do with it all, but I’m definitely going to make this!

    Have a great New Year! Lurrrveee you!

  12. Happy New Year, Meg!! Looks like you had a nice and relaxing night just like me 🙂 Dean and I just made dinner together and he read a book while I took a nap (need to nap or I can’t stay up until midnight ha). Counted down and then went back to sleep! Pretty awesome new years if I say so myself!

    I need to try this quinoa! I am always looking for new ways to eat it and simple is best for me! Thanks for the recipe!

  13. I’m all about the lobster! 🙂

  14. Very excited for a Greek Salad dressing recipe 🙂 Will be a great salad to take to work when I start back this week! Thanks, Meg.

    That game got a little intense in the last bit hey? 🙂

  15. happy new year!! i loveee greek salad and yours looks so good !

  16. The salad and quinoa both look deliciously healthy! I loveee Greek style salads- something about the combo of cucumbers, tomatoes, feta, and olives is awesome 😛

  17. Happy New Year Hun! Your NYE was much more exciting than mine…I was so tired from a hike I went on that I barely made it to 12am! As for crab or lobster, I love both. I think a really good day would contain either (or both)!!!!

  18. You’re so right! You can never have too much crab 😉

  19. Is this you trying to subconsciously force me to eat quinoa?!

    I ate cookies, played cards, and hung out with friends at their house on NYE. It was bliss! 🙂

  20. I looove quinoa! I actually had a black bean, quinoa, and kale dish for dinner tonight! Mexican inspired so it was pretty spicy, but delicious none the less.
    This recipe sounds so yummy! I love greek foods and flavors. I’ve actually never had crab or lobster, and probably never will. But, most of my friends are HUGE crab lovers.
    Happy New Year, pretty lady!

  21. Great perspective. I was watching The Today Show and they were discussing NY Resolutions with a dietitian, a financial expert, and a relationship expert…and they made the point about being present, regardless of which area you’re thinking about.

    I see big things in your future! Yay for 2012.

    I’m just making my grocery list and looking through my new Peas and Thank You cookbook for recipe ideas. Stay tuned! 🙂

A penny for your thoughts...

