Thoughtfulness

thought‘ful·ness n.
1. a calm, lengthy, intent consideration
2. kind and considerate regard for others
3. the trait of thinking carefully before acting
4. a considerate and thoughtful act

Today I was able to spend some time with close friends of my family’s Smile My Mom’s best friend came over with her two little girls (who are two of the most precious girls I have ever met) for a visit. It was so nice to see the three of them as it has been two years since our last visit!

Over the few hours we visited, we were able to catch up and laugh a lot.

At the end of the visit, I received a gift that I feel as though I have to share with all of you because it is the most thoughtful gift I have ever received.

Personally, I think Christmas does not need to include presents…

If I were able to come home and just spend time with my family for Christmas without any presents being given to me at all, I would be totally cool with that. However, it seems as though that never happens around here…

So, when I shop for Christmas presents I make sure to put a lot of thought into each gift before I purchase it because it is truly the thought that counts. I know, cliché – right? But honestly, have you ever received a present that struck you in a way that you knew so much thought went into it?
If yes, aren’t those the best gifts you have ever received?

Well, today I received the most thoughtful gift from my Mom’s long-time best friend (who I consider to be a close friend of mine, as well)

A Terry’s chocolate orange.

anita 025

Simple?

Yes.

Thoughtful?

Even more so.

To some of you this may seem to be just a chocolate, but to me – I know the meaning behind it all…

You see, my Mom’s friend reads my blog regularly which I find very touching and truly special. And while reading my blog, she recognized my love for DAVIDsTEA, especially the Terry’s chocolate orange flavoured tea that just came out in stores this Christmas called “Christmas Treat” which brought her to buy this particular present for me Smile 

The most thoughtful present that I have ever received.

This simple, but oh so meaningful, gift of chocolate put a smile on my face the entire day. I couldn’t stop blabbing to my Mom about how thoughtful it was of her. First of all, I think it is just amazing that she actually takes time out her day to read my little blog when she is already so busy with her two little girls. And second of all, to think of getting me a Terry’s chocolate orange because she knows how much I love the flavour all because of the tea I drink!? Extremely thoughtful.

What was the most thoughtful gift you have ever received?
Do you put a lot of thought into the gifts you buy?

About Meg (A Dash of Meg)

Hello, my name is Meg. I am a 20-year-old passionate Foods & Nutrition student on my way to becoming a Registered Dietitian who loves food, cooking, fitness, seafood, and a nice cup of tea.

Posted on December 23, 2011, in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink. 15 Comments.

  1. I am with you…presents are just an addition..christmas isn’t about all that..it’s about being surrounded by the people you love and that love you 🙂

    Merry Christmas pretty lady! 🙂

  2. Aww how wonderful! I just love reading stuff like this, never fails to get me in the holiday spirit 🙂
    I put a lot of thought in my gifts too, I love getting my family and friends special and unique things. And their faces make it so worth it!
    Merry Christmas eve eve my friend!

  3. This is amazing! I love those oranges! Okay so maybe not the most thoughtful but the most creative gift I ever got from Dean was last year. We decided not to do anything too big, but it had to be creative. I made him a crazy stocking with all kinds of beautiful things glued and stitched onto it. DEAN on the other hand made me an amazing video with little snippets of memories together and there were also cheesy parts in it of him pretending to play the guitar and sing me a song. It was really cute. BUT what tops this video off as the best gift ever was the END. You see there is this homeless man downtown who sits in front of a Starbucks and he wears a Santa hat and asks for money. Dean paid him to wish me a Merry Christmas and FILMED IT. It is so ridiculous and I nearly died watching it. The man is clearly drunk and he wishes me a Merry Christmas and a Happy New Year.

    I should post it on the blog…

    You might think we are total weirdos now but you really have to see the video. It is epic.

  4. This was so sweet! Such a touching gift!

  5. IS IT CRAZY THAT I JUST HAD A DREAM ABOUT ONE OF THOSE CHOCO ORANGE THING??? I haven’t had one in like 8 years. CRAZY!!

  6. I think the simple act of actually putting THOUGHT into gifts says a lot about a person! It doesn’t matter how big or expensive it is, or whether or not it’s a tangible object, just knowing that a person put effort into it is key!

  7. beautiful beautiful beautiful!
    my heart is so warmed by your gift, meg!
    please snap photographs of the interior. i’m curious to know of how it looks after taking that first delicious bite.
    i put thought into all of my gifts. this year, i gave the most special gift to my heart . . . gave it to a blog friend, actually. i will be posting about it on christmas.
    happy christmas to you, beautiful girl. x

    http://www.nicoleandgwendolyn.com

  8. Thoughtful gifts are the best because that person had taken the time to actually seek something you will appreciate! I really do believe that it’s the thought that counts & not the cost or how big the gift is 🙂
    Hope you have a lovely Christmas!!

  9. it’s amazing how the simplest little things are what really make your day!! That’s such a sweet gift, and so much more than “just chocolate” – its the gift of her time and interest! 🙂 I put a LOT of thought into the gifts I give, and usually they’re not “things” – for instance my mom is running her first marathon since before I was born and she’s really nervous, so my “gift” to her is that I’m going to coach her – I’ll make up her training schedule, run with her as often as possible, be there to time her speed workouts, be her massage therapist, etc etc. (I did get her a cool new running shirt to “introduce” the gift though haha). So I get to help her do something she wants to, and get to spend lots of time with her too!

    Merry Christmas!! 🙂

  10. I am with you honey..Christmas is definitely NOT about presents for me…In fact I actually struggle with this because there are a few individuals in my life who really focus on the presents and that’s just sad to me…It’s just so much more than that…

    That being said, if someone gives me a gift and it is thoughtful, it shows me that the person cares enough to do more for me than go to Walmart and pick up a $10 item on an impulse rack…you know?

    I would say the most thoughtful gift I’ve been given is either a box of Christmas Eve tea, an apron (as seen on yesterdays post), or workout DVDs. Practical, inexpensive, and applicable!

    I try very hard to put thought into my gifts…A gift is that much more meaningful when I take a moment to think about who the person is that I’m buying for, and what they like in life.

    Merry Christmas my new dear Saskatchewanian buddy.

  11. Aw! My grandmas used to always give us these : )

  12. About a month ago, I posted a circle scarf that I loved off of Etsy.com on my sister’s Facebook wall. Rather than order it for my birthday, she crocheted one. Only her fourth project. It’s 7 feet long before it was attached and I look EXACTLY like the girl in the picture I sent her. I said “I’ve never had anyone make me something that wasn’t edible” … I could cry! 🙂

  13. I saw an orange chocolate the other day at TJ’s and thought of you! I had never heard of orange chocolate until reading about it on your blog 😛 I ultimately didn’t get one but def should have…

  14. Hope you actually ate it!!

    That stuff is GOOD.

A penny for your thoughts...

