A Sweaty Start to a Great Day

Good morning lovelies! Smile

The morning is not my “usual” blogging time, but I didn’t know when I was going to get a chance to post today, so I thought I would take advantage of the spare time I have right now and say a quick “hello!” Open-mouthed smile

After my post last night, I took complete advantage of not having to study and enjoyed some late night blog lurking Winking smile

I was snooping around the twin’s blog, Pure2Raw, when I saw their oodles of breakfasts using buckwheat groats. Seeing these reminded my of my dehydrated “buckwheaties” which I made this summer when I wanted to try out a raw food recipe Smile

I love my buckwheaties and have made several batches throughout the summer Smile I had them this morning and am coming close to the bottom of my stash, so I will be making some again very soon! This means, I will be posting a raw food recipe for all of you to try out! Smile

This was my breakfast this morning using my buckwheaties

buckwheatblueberries 038

I enjoyed them over top of greek yogurt mixed with some almond milk. I also made my blueberry syrup and added it to the mix as well Smile

buckwheatblueberries 042

I completed my breakfast with a side of egg whites, green onion, and some garlic powder (a usual of mine!)
It was a delicious breakfast and fuelled me through this workout!
I changed the routine slightly, though…

There is something about leg curls that I just do not like! Whether they are lying leg curls or seated, I just do not feel good doing them. When I do the lying leg curls, my knee tends to hurt me, so I definitely discontinued doing those and the seated ones have me feeling as though I’m really not doing anything at all, but if I am to increase the weight I can’t even move my legs! Weird, huh? So, instead, I did some cable kickbacks and ended the workout with 4 rounds of 12 jump squats.

I got pretty stinky.

I actually increased my weights for two exercises, too! I increased my wide stance barbell squat and my lunges! I was a happy camper Smile

After my workout I guzzled down one of my favourite shakes

buckwheatblueberries 050

and chomped on some oatmeal with a baked Gala and cinnamon!

buckwheatblueberries 047

buckwheatblueberries 046

For the rest of the morning I watched Live with Kelly and The Marilyn Dennis Show while doing some “last minute” packing. You know, the make up and all of the other stuff I needed to use today in order to look decent enough to appear in public Winking smile

I’m going to grab a quick lunch before Mr. Cab Driver comes to get me! My Mom already left our house and will be in Winnipeg by the time my flight lands Open-mouthed smile I am so excited! I checked out the restaurants that the mall has and there are a few good options, one of which being Earls – my Mom’s favourite restaurant.

I wonder where we will be going? Winking smile I’ll let her pick Winking smile

Have a wonderful Tuesday friends! Talk to you later!

P.s. if you really want to know what I’m up to (and random thoughts I have throughout the day) I’ll be tweeting the entire time. I’m kind of a Twitter addict.

Love,

Meg
xoxoxoxoxo

Is there one exercise you just hate and refuse to do?
What have you been up to today so far? Have you gotten a workout in yet?
Do you like flying?
I LOVE FLYING Open-mouthed smile Especially alone! I feel so independent Open-mouthed smile

About Meg (A Dash of Meg)

Hello, my name is Meg. I am a 20-year-old passionate Foods & Nutrition student on my way to becoming a Registered Dietitian who loves food, cooking, fitness, seafood, and a nice cup of tea.

Posted on December 20, 2011, in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink. 28 Comments.

  1. The leg curls feel really weird for me too but I still do them. Cable kickbacks are a great substitution!! I despise lunges with all my heart and soul. I don’t know what it is, I just hate them.

    Todays workout will be after work…I am supply teaching today but I got a job in a computer lab 😉 bonus!

    Have a safe flight girl!!!

  2. Have safe travels! So far today has been pretty uneventful at work but looking forward to a good sweat session after school and writing some Christmas cards tonight 😀

  3. Leg curls hurt my knees too! I also really hate the leg press – I’ve heard that it’s not good for your ankles! I prefer to do most of my leg workouts using barbells and dumbbells instead of the machines now.

    Have a good flight hun! I can’t say I’m a fan of flying. It freaks me out! 😛

  4. I’ve never tried buckwheaties, but I have used buckwheat flour before and that is nice. I’ve seen the hot buckwheat cereal in stores (you cook it just like oatmeal or quinoa….I might try that for a hot cereal some time…the raw stuff I’ve found is way too pricey).

    You should try adding oatmeal to the smoothie sometime.

    And smoothies taste great with bananas and nut butter (nut butter rocks!).

  5. I love your eats! If ever we meet, I may make you cook for me all day haha 😉 I got in a killer leg workout today, I think doms are definitely in my future!

  6. That is so weird about the leg raises! 😦 I am the same way with rear delt raises. It is always kind of painful in a bad way so I’m not really sure what to do about that. Squats also freak me out for some reason. Sometimes I feel scared to go down too far and not be able to come back up and then have my legs be messed up. lol. Holy rambles. Anyways, I did a chest + cardio workout today! My most recent flying experience was not pleasant at all. Taking off freaks me out and I got sick during landing but it was also a really tiny plane so maybe that was the problem! 😛

  7. Days that start with a sweaty workout are so great 🙂

    Have safe travels today, my friend!!

  8. Hope the trip goes great Meg ❤

    I went to Earl's a few weeks ago with my parents when they were visiting Regina and I fell in love with their salmon ❤ Making me drool just thinking about it. Safe travels and hope to see you soon 😀

  9. gala!? what is this. it looks scrumptious.
    i looooove flying.

  10. Oh girl I HATE leg curls as well..I do like 5 and then say to myself “I am dunzo!” haha. All your food looks good..I absolutely LOVE buckwheat..even on it’s own..mixed with millet. It’s so filling and it just tastes great! Total fiber overload!

    And yay for making blueberry syrup..I am going to have to try this!

  11. If lying leg curls hurt your knees, then definitely don’t do them. But when it comes to seated leg curls, instead of trying to increase the weight, focus more on squeezing at the bottom of the curl. Hold for one second and then return to the top. Make sure your back is pushed right against the seat and make sure your hamstrings are isolated. I don’t get how you wouldn’t feel that!

  12. your oats look amazing girlfriend :] my lunch date with my mom was wonderful! thank you for the TWEET!! :]

    ❤ ❤ ❤ have a great night!

  13. I actually love leg curls! I don’t mind doing any leg exercise, but despise arm ones. I force myself to do them because my arms are so weak!

  14. You’re going home!!!! LOVE IT!!!

    I got my workout in this morning as usual…Zumba was cancelled tonight so I went home and made potluck cheese balls for Thursday and lunches for tomorrow…

    From here on out it’s going to be an insane busy week for me!

    I have only flown once and it was to Calgary…Regina to Calgary is an hour and a half so it wasn’t long at all but I loved it! Jeff and I are going to Disney World next November and I am SO excited to fly with him…He’s never flown and I know he will just love it!!!

  15. I’ve got those things in my fridge for MONTHS. Another way in which I aspire to be (eat) more like you ;).

    Miss you already. haha!

  16. I had a good 7 mile run this morning and then a leg/core workout in the gym later now that I have so much free time! I actually absolutely hate leg curls too! It always feels like something is just not right no matter how I do them. They definitely were not included in my leg workout today.

    Flying is awesome, especially alone. I don’t know why but I just love flying alone and feeling grown up walking through the airport. The only good thing about traveling with someone else is not having to take your bags everywhere you go like the bathroom.

  17. Sweaty workouts are the best! I’m always more perky after a good workout.
    Your brekkie is a swirl of deliciousness 🙂 Have a safe flight…I wish I was jetting off somewhere.

  18. YAYYY for being on break and going home!! Hope you had a safe flight and a fun time in Winnipeg with your mom! 🙂

    I hate doing leg curls too – I do the seated ones on the machine, and like…if the weight is heavy enough to be a challenge, then my butt won’t stay on the chair! Ummm not cool. hamstring curls leave my legs super tight as well…quad-curls are ok though. Usually I just do my squats and hatchback kicks and leg presses and leave it be though lol!

    Those buckwheaties look like fun! I never knew you could eat them raw, I can’t wait to see what you make with them! 🙂

  19. I hate those curls too!! My knees pop everytime (from years of abuse on the soccer field) so I stick to squats and lunges!!
    And planes and I do NOT get along! They have always terrified me. The only way I make it through is with my bible, ipod and a box of chocolates!!

  20. Yay Christmas break!!! Isn’t it so great to finally be home???
    Where do you buy those buckwheaties?? they sound delicious!
    I love planes, except for when they get delayed! It’s always so annoying when you get there an hour early for your plane and then you have to wait like 3 hours before you actually get to leave!
    And as for a workout, I wanted to go for a run this morning, but it was raining, so i waited til the afternoon. but literally as soon as i got out it started raining again. I was already out though, so i just said o well and continued running. I was soaked at the end, but it was really fun!

  21. YAY! I’m so excited that you’re finally done with all of your exams. You worked hard, girl. You deserve a break!
    I did lower body today too! It kicked my butt. The one exercise I can’t stand are burpees- they kill me! But, I know that means I should be doing them. haha.
    Enjoy all the time with your family! 🙂

  22. Ugh, I hate all leg exercise. I’m terrible at designing leg workouts, and I usually just decide that running does enough on its own to tone my legs!

  23. Hahaha! You’re so brave, lol!:-P I hate flying, I get so nervous! Much prefer flying with my bf, he makes me more relaxed. However, I totally know what you mean – i feel like an independent woman when I fly alone and I kinda love that! 😀 ❤
    Mmmm…alll your eats today look yum 🙂 One exercise I love to hate are lunges. And hamstring curls like you. I tend to do dead-lifts instead. And I LOVE love love leg (quad) extensions – they rock 🙂 Happy holidays! ❤ xyx

  1. Pingback: Reunited with Family, Friends, and Old Favourites « A Dash of Meg

  2. Pingback: Leg Training: Thoughts & Changes « A Dash of Meg

A penny for your thoughts...

