Freedom Begins Now

December 20th,

I have been waiting for you and I couldn’t be more happy that you have finally arrived Smile

As of today, I have completed my first term of my third year of university and have officially started my Christmas holidays Smile It feels quite amazing if I do say so myself.

How did I begin to celebrate?

Well, after I completed my final (which was around 11:00 am) I met my friend for lunch Smile It was nice to finally spend time with her as our schedules have been completely opposite this entire term.

For lunch I enjoyed almost the same combo as yesterday

dec20 007

(shrimp instead of tilapia today, though)

After lunch and some visiting, I headed to the mall Smile

Where else would a shopaholic go to celebrate their new found freedom? Winking smile

Obviously, my first stop was DAVIDsTEA. It was scary busy. I waited in line for nearly half an hour, but it was all worth it Smile I tried a new tea called Cinnamon Heart. I have been waiting for them to get this tea back in stock because they sold out the within the first week it hit stores, so I jumped at the chance when I saw it on the shelf today!

831
Source

It’s a pu’erh tea that also contains black tea, cloves, cinnamon, and orange peel. I really enjoyed this tea, but when comparing it to a similar tea (also from DAVIDsTEA), Cinnamon Rooibos Chai, which is basically the same tea only a “rooibos chai” instead of a “pu’erh”, the Cinnamon Rooibos Chai wins IMO Smile I find the rooibos chai a bit more “orangey” and “cinnamony” than the pu’erh which apparently I prefer better? Smile

I roamed the mall with my tea for a bit until I got impatient with the crowds of slow-walking people and decided to head home Smile (Slow-walkers are definitely a pet peeve of mine; however, it would be a good “new years resolution” for me to become more patient. Definitely something I need to work on)

When I got home, I felt so relaxed and spent the rest of my day doing exactly what I wanted to do Smile

I packed

freedom 031

Ok, so packing isn’t something I “wanted” to do, but it was one of those things that had to be done if I want to fly home tomorrow. I really hate packing. It actually stresses me out, but I managed Winking smile 
I’d be lying if I said I didn’t complain along the way though…

I did laundry (including my bed sheets!)

freedom 008

Is there really any better way to celebrate than with fresh bedding? Smile I am so looking forward to crawling into my bed tonight Open-mouthed smile I love fresh bedding.

I drank more tea

freedom 030

I have accumulated quite the collection of DAVIDsTEA. This is probably my favourite part of my kitchen Winking smile I want to start having friends over for tea dates (another new years resolution).

freedom 022

(Do you like my wine rack turned into a tea rack? Winking smile I am so creative aren’t I?)

I painted my nails, again

freedom 019

I tend to pick my nail polish off when under stress and even though I feel good about the exam I wrote this morning, it appeared that I had no polish left on my nails once the exam was over! Oops!

Today was a great day Smile 
I also chatted with my parents on the phone tonight and went over everything I need to bring and have for my flight tomorrow, I relaxed on the couch while watching Christmas movies (The Flintstone’s Christmas! I forgot how much I loved this movie!), did some necessary catching up on my favourite blogs, and worked on a secret project for my parents that they will receive on Christmas morning Winking smile

How did/are you celebrate/celebrating your first day of Christmas holidays?
Packing – yay or nay?
Do you have a nail biting or nail polish-picking habit when under stress?

Have a lovely night friends!
Tomorrow I will be leaving London and meeting my Mom in Winnipeg Smile I am so exciting to see my girl again Smile We have a bit of shopping (the big mall in Winnipeg has a DAVIDsTEA) and a dinner date planned before we leave the city for my hometown in Saskatchewan! Once I am home I plan on giving my Dad the biggest hug ever and cuddling my beloved baby until I have to go back to London Smile
Gosh, I miss my puppy! If you haven’t check the Cuddles page in a while I have updated it! New pictures from our Skype dates!

Love always,

Meg
xoxoxoxoxo

P.s. thank you for all of the supportive comments after last night’s post.
You are all wonderful people ❤

About Meg (A Dash of Meg)

Hello, my name is Meg. I am a 20-year-old passionate Foods & Nutrition student on my way to becoming a Registered Dietitian who loves food, cooking, fitness, seafood, and a nice cup of tea.

Posted on December 19, 2011, in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink. 26 Comments.

  1. I had mahi mahi with veggies, lentils , olive oil, and a half avocado recently. (I add avocado to every meal…its silly for me to do really).

    i buy canned lentils though (is that okay?).

    CONGRATS.

    Meg, any suggestions for midday snacks? What are your typical choices? And routine and dependable faves?

  2. stopped picking when I went ACRYLIC. 🙂 otherwise, OF COURSE I PICK!
    I’d PACK…if I had someplace to go!
    and I spent my first day ov “vaca”…wait for it…wait for it…

    picking up a sick kid from school early.

    On a happy note, I am following along with Jamie E. Doing lower reps and higher weights though. Deadlifted 205 🙂 Benching 100 🙂 making some good progress. And have you tried her turkey muffins? pretty darn good!

  3. Sounds like you had a nice day (even though you had to pack)! But WOO HOO! You’re finished for the semester! It’s a good feeling 🙂

    I actually chew my nails when stressed, so I paint them which leads me to pick off the polish under stress. But IMO, this is way better than biting the nails!

  4. YAY YAY YAY!!! SO happy you can now celebrate with the rest of us on break!! 😀 I bet you can’t wait to see your parents and home 🙂

  5. Congratulations! You must be so happy to be done and going home 😀

    I am soooo impatient when it comes to slow-walking people. I work in the Sydney CBD, and they say there a million people in the CBD during each day so a LOT of people. There are also a lot of tourists who don’t know to walk on the left side in Australia!

  6. mmm I adore Davids Tea!!
    Cinnamon Heart is fantastic!! but I like the Cinnamon Roobios Chai better 😉

    Have you tried the Mulberry Magic… holy balls!! ITS SO GOOD!!
    and Movie Night.
    And Oh Christmas Treat
    and Forever Nuts ❤ yummm

    xox

  7. Yay for being done!!! Enjoy your Christmas break! 🙂

  8. CONGRATS on being done!!!! lunch dates + shopping is definitely the BEST way to celebrate after an exam. And I love your tea rack, SO cute! And your nails too, that must take serious skill and patience. All you do is win!

  9. So glad you’re done! 🙂 Teas with cinnamon notes are always my favorite! If I don’t have to pack again for quite a while I will be perfectly okay with it! lol. Its a big nay for me right now! As for the nail picking, I’m really bad about it. If my polish even gets one little chip I will chip it all off! I don’t get to wear nail polish too much in nursing though.

  10. Congrats on being done, it really is the best feeling!

  11. YAY!!!!! Have a fabulous holiday! That’s so nice! 🙂 I love how you turned the wine rack into a tea rack. I should totally do that. My roomies and I have a bunch of wine racks… and not that much wine! haha

  12. Safe trip!

    Guess what my friend gave me?! David’s!!! With four different teas! She got me one of my favs (coffee puerh or whatever it is called) and 3 new ones for me to try…whooh!

  13. Yay! Going home is the best. Enjoy that freedom…and hopefully your break will be stress free so you can keep your nail polish on!!

  14. your wine tea rack is adorable! mine would never see the faintest dreams of tea because i’m a wine lover! 😉
    fresh bedding = LOVE.
    and congrats on finishing a successful semester! x

  15. Woooo congrats on being done! That feeling of finishing exams was SO liberating! Hope you have a great time with your mom and seriously, ENJOY the freedom- u’ve earned it!

  16. yay for being done with exams! Now you can relax and enjoy the Christmas break!
    Loving the tea rack, genius idea in using the wine rack. That cinnamon heart tea sounds amazing 🙂

  17. Sounds like a great day. Congrats on finishing!! 😀 Such a great feeeling, isn’t it? Have a safe trip and enjoy yourself!!! 😀

  18. Ugh, I need to get a mani/ pedi ASAP haha 😛 I picked off all the polish over the weekend and they are looking rather awful… P.S. I made a fab quinoa bowl last night with shrimp- mucho delicioso!

  19. that ta sounds absolutely delicious! I seriously drink sooo much tea! and i love your nails! with finals over now, i am definitely getting a mani pedi as a reward for doing so well!!!

  20. Your nails look beautiful! SO so pretty,. In fact, I think I will pain mine now, so mine can be pretty too, lol! 😉 Hmmm…I keep my nails really short for yoga teaching and climbing so I don’t really fiddle with them so much. But it bugs me when the chip – grrrr. 😛 Yay for freedom! Feels SO good! ❤ xyx

A penny for your thoughts...

