The Perfect Pair

Oh, Saturday Smile How I love thee.

It’s been a great day so far Smile Full of studying, but still great Open-mouthed smile I love what I am learning, so it is so easy to grab my textbook and just indulge Open-mouthed smile
Other than studying, my day has also included many “perfect pairs” as I like to call them Winking smile

Saturday and Sleeping In

4444565
Source

What!? This is unheard of. I never sleep in!
Well, never say never because today I slept until 8:00 am! Yikes! My body must have needed it though because normally my internal clock wakes me up at 6:00 am each and every morning! I usually never need to set an alarm.

Pancakes and Blueberries

pancake perfection 005

Whenever I have blueberries I have to make pancakes Open-mouthed smile Definitely one of the best combos around! These fuelled my morning workout and definitely satisfied my pancake craving! Smile

December and Snow

snowfinally 001

I was greeted with this fluffy stuff when I woke up this morning Smile I definitely did not mind not having snow, but a white Christmas is always nice Smile I know Yorkton has snow, so my Christmas will be white Smile (unless it all melts away before I get there!)

A Workout and a Protein Shake

sleepinsat 008

I’m not much of a shake or smoothie person as I like eating my food as opposed to drinking it, but for my past two workouts I have made some pretty fantastic shakes Smile Today’s had vanilla protein powder, strawberries, blueberries, almond milk, cottage cheese, and oats! Smile It was so thick that I had to eat it with a spoon Smile So I guess I did eat my meal after all Winking smile

Sweet Potato and Almond Butter

ab sweet tater 009

I don’t think there is a better match than these two. I have been chilling my sweet potato and dunking it in almond butter lately.

To die for.

Try it.

Now.

Brussel Sprouts and an Oven

sleepinsat 013

Roasted brussel sprouts are amazing. I love when the little leaves get crispy Smile I have had these two days in a row already. So good. I bet Emma, the queen of roasted veggies, would agree? Winking smile

Tea and a Book

teaandbook 003

I have had my cup of tea at my side all day while studying Dietary and Nutritional Assessment material. It may not be your ideal “book”, but today I really had no choice. I am currently sipping at my “Mom’s Apple Pie” tea Smile It’s a favourite!

A Burger and Fries

dec11 028

There’s no denying this perfect pair! My all time favourite turkey burger was accompanied by sweet potato fries and tasted divine.

Asian Turkey Burgers

1 cup extra lean ground turkey

1 TBSP fresh ginger, grated

2 TBSP soy sauce

1/4 cup green onion, chopped

Combine all ingredients together. Mix well. Form mixture into two burgers (this recipe will make two burgers). Bake at 375 degrees Fahrenheit for 25 minutes or until internal thermometer reads 165 degrees Fahrenheit.

dec11 023

I baked my fries along with the burgers. I tossed the raw sweet potato is olive oil, garlic powder, and curry. I baked them until crisp Smile

dec11 024

What is another perfect pair that you can think of?
What was the best thing you ate today?
Any exciting plans for the weekend?

See you tomorrow!

Love always,

Meg
xoxoxoxo

About Meg (A Dash of Meg)

Hello, my name is Meg. I am a 20-year-old passionate Foods & Nutrition student on my way to becoming a Registered Dietitian who loves food, cooking, fitness, seafood, and a nice cup of tea.

Posted on December 17, 2011, in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink. 29 Comments.

  1. Love this! These sure are some perfect pairs 🙂 Especially sweet potato and almond butter! Eeeeeven though maranatha sunflower seed butter on chilled sweet potato is my ALL TIME fave 😀
    Enjoy your weekend lovely!

  2. Yum! I love sweet potato fries! I really want to try a chilled sweet potato dunked in almond butter! A few perfect pairs I can think of are Greek yogurt & granola, peanut butter & cinnamon, and chocolate oats with strawberries! 🙂

  3. StoriesAndSweetPotatoes

    Agreed. Sweet potato and almond butter is some sort of divine combo. My favorite pair lately has been eggs and cereal. Sometimes it just can’t be beat.

  4. Oh, you KNOW I approve of that lunch! No joke, on Thursday I ended up eating an entire bag of frozen brussels–roasted, of course! So good with salt and dipped in ketchup 🙂

    And sweet potatoes with nut butter is something I recently tried, and I am so glad I did. What an amazing combination.

    Glad you are enjoying your weekend, lady!

  5. Those fries look amazing!!!!!!! So does everything else, those just got me attention 🙂 Another perfect pair must be……..mexican fiesta night and DEAN haha! We had quite the delicious clean meal tonight! Best thing I ate all day was my clean burrito or wrap..whatever you wanna call it!

  6. I definitely need to sleep in once my crazy final exam week is over! I’m the same way with my internal clock waking me up by 5:30 or 6, but I could definitely sleep longer with how much I need it!

    Those pancakes look SO good. Blueberry pancakes are totally on my Winter Break to-make list! Did you make them from scratch or from a box?

    Good luck with the studying! 🙂

  7. I think the world needs to have some sort of cosmic balance. Because while you slept in until 8, I was up at 5 am today! Let’s trade sleeping schedules for tomorrow? 😛

    Mmm those pancakes look so good! Blueberry pancakes are the best!

  8. I’m totally making a burger for dinner tonight 🙂

  9. Yum, that burger + fries looks amazing! I agree that almond butter and sweet potato is an unexpectedly great pair.

  10. such a cute post!! These are all definitely perfect pairs. Except I’ve never tried sweet potato and almond butter. i’ll have to test that one out! Along with those turkey burgers!

    Another perfect pair would be dark chocolate and nut butter. DELICIOUS!

  11. I think that anything with peanut butter is the perfect pair! lol.

  12. Everything about this post is just..great! I love tea while studying, pancakes and sleeping in, and peanut butter with just about anything! 🙂

  13. I eat turkey burgers and sweet potato fries for almost every meal!! Haha definitely my perfect pair 😉

  14. Oh my goodness, everything in this post looks DELICIOUS.
    I looove burgers and sweet potato fries. My family and I actually had veggie burgers, sweet potato fries, and roasted veggies for dinner last night! Sooo yummy.
    Your body definitely must have needed the extra sleep. After all the studying you’ve been doing, I don’t blame you! I slept in until 8 earlier this week too- so weird! But it felt amazing.

    Oooh and raw veggies+hummus is a perfect pair in my book. It’s my go-to snack!

  15. Cottage cheese or Greek yogurt + apple butter or jelly 😀 Another… popcorn + cereal [salty and semi-sweet]!

  16. I forgot to buy turkey but discovered lean ground beef in my freezer the other day. I am debating trying your chick pea turkey ball recipe and making a chick pea cow ball recipe??? LOL

    If you’re feeling really adventurous, I got two fantastic recipe ideas from Erika (http://sweatanddirt.wordpress.com) that are now part of my staples. Instead of just roasting the brussels sprouts, shred them in a food processor first. You can fry ’em or roast em! She also suggested making rutabaga fries. I did, with old bay seasoning, and when I make them I can’t stop eating them!!!

  17. yes yes yes to all the above!! Well, I never usually sleep in either – my body wakes me up between 6am and 7am every day haha! usually why I try to go to bed before 11 😛 and that smoothie looks amazing – I also like to “eat” my food, but I always try to make my smoothies thick enough to eat with a spoon – cottage cheese def does that for you! And of course reading must ALWAYS be accompanied by tea!! I always feel a little strange if I don’t have something to sip while I’m studying or reading haha 🙂 and I just had roasted b-sprouts last night with dinner – they are SO GOOD! quickly becoming my fave veggie!

  18. What a great post… seriously Meg, love this 🙂 And yeah, sweet potatoes and almond butter is a magical combination! I tried it last year and will NEVER EVER get sick of it!
    yes to a book and tea too! it’s just sooo right!
    Oreos and milk… you cannot go wrong 🙂

  19. Great post! Salmon & sweet potatoes are the perfect pair for me! Monday mornings & runs have also become a norm for me…they set a healthy tone for my week and now automatically just “go” together in my head!

  20. runningperspective

    oh my goodness i need to make that entire meal RIGHT NOW! looks DELICIOUS! good luck with the studying girl YOU GOT THIS<3

  21. Definitely almond butter and banana – my absolute favourite pair! 😀 I love it! Your day sounds wonderful! And that dinner, divine 🙂 xyx

  22. blueberry buckwheat pancakes and gwendolyn’s birthday = a fabulous pair! we always celebrate her birthday with blueberry buckwheat pancakes and organic maple syrup from trader joe’s! AND as of this year, we are adding ‘new york’ to the spectrum of fun! yes, we celebrated in new york for her birthday! here is the blog entry, describing that fabulous party! 😉 http://nicoleandgwendolyn.com/2011/10/11/fabulous/.

  23. Those are def some PERFECT pairs! First, I LOVE your nails..did you get them done or did you do it yourself? Second, I love how you (and I too) think 8 am is sleeping in..sheesh haha. And three, baked sweet potato fries are amazing..I actually prefer them over normal fries.

  24. Your meals look delish! I totally forgot how good brussal sprouts are, I going to pick some up at the store!!

  25. I can’t WAIT to try the sweet potato/nut butter combo. Consider yourself copied.

    Random question: do you know if they make walnut butter?! And by they I mean ANYONE.

A penny for your thoughts...

