When Things Get A Little Crazy…

It’s time to whip out a survey! Open-mouthed smile

Just like all other university students who aren’t already home enjoying their Christmas break (I am so jealous of those of you who are by the way!), I am swamped with studying. Literally spending hours upon hours reading about what causes serum albumin levels to fluctuate, the half life of serum transferrin, when mother’s should discontinue breastfeeding, etc.
So, I thought this would be the perfect time to fill out a survey that I have seen quite frequently around the blog world lately. The survey looks like fun, so I thought I would join in and answer the Christmas-themed questions! I hope you all enjoy! Open-mouthed smile 

Egg nog or hot chocolate?

This is not a tough question whatsoever. Egg nog. For sure. If I have hot chocolate, it needs to be perfect. Just the right hot chocolate mix to water ratio. If often find it quite watery, so egg nog all the way!

It seems as though egg nog appears in grocery stores earlier and earlier each year! I remember seeing it in September a few years ago! I wasn’t complaining Winking smile 

Does Santa wrap presents or sit them under the tree?

All of my Santa presents are displayed out on the couch for me unwrapped and in a stocking Smile I walk into our living room with a couch literally covered in Santa gifts. It’s quite overwhelming actually. I do have wrapped presents too, though. My parents wrap the presents from them and put them under the tree! Smile

christmas 258

My excessively large stocking Winking smile 

Coloured lights on tree/house or white?

We have coloured lights on our tree and white lights on our house Smile I love the way my Mom decorates our tree! I am so excited to see it on Tuesday Open-mouthed smile

christmas 393

Do you hang a mistletoe?

Not a mistletoe, but we do hang a mistleTOAD Winking smile 

Mistletoad_tns

It hangs right by our door Smile Who doesn’t want Christmas kisses?

When do you hang your Christmas decorations up?

We have a “rule” that nothing can be hung until after Remembrance day.
So, sometime after that Smile The earlier the better I say! Open-mouthed smile 

What is your favourite holiday dish (excluding dessert)?

CRAB!

christmas 165

Favourite holiday memory as a child?

Waking up Christmas morning and seeing reindeer tracks, sleigh tracks, and Santa boot tracks in the snow all over our front yard  Smile Oh, it was magical.

What is on your Christmas wish list?

I didn’t have much of a list this year. I have everything I need Smile But I did ask for DAVIDsTEA’s and Lululemon clothes (tank, shorts, headband)

Do you open gifts on Christmas eve?

NO!

NEVER!

Unless my parents bought me pajama’s. Then they have me open them, so I can wear them Christmas morning for gift opening Smile

Other than that, we stick with opening presents on Christmas morning Open-mouthed smile

How do you decorate your Christmas tree?

Well you all know what my Christmas tree here in London looks like Winking smile 

christmastree 026

But, at home it is filled with decorations and ornaments that we have collected over the years Smile Some bought, some made… by me when I was in kindergarten… haha! I believe we still have a string of popcorn that I made. My Mom insists on hanging it year after year Smile It’s pretty cute.

Snow? Love it or dread it?

I hate driving in the snow, but, overall I like it. Not love.

Last year London had a huge snow fall. It was unreal.

155210_495821483632_509753632_5745774_2726932_n

London literally shut down for five days. I got pretty stir crazy in my room at residence!

Real tree or fake tree?

REAL! You need the Christmas smell Open-mouthed smile Mine here in London is fake, so I am looking forward to going home and smellin’ that lovely tree smell that I look forward to each and every year Open-mouthed smile

Do you remember your favourite gift?

Oh, gee. I don’t even know if I could pick a favourite. There are so many have been so special. Either my drum set or piano? Round trip to Kelowna? My camera?

What’s the most important thing about Christmas for you?

Spending time with family of course Open-mouthed smile I always look forward to having company over, too!

Boxing Day 135

(Christmas 2010)

What is your favourite holiday dessert?

I really am not a dessert girl. But, my Grandma’s baking is amazing. My favourites are gingerbread and scuffles Smile

What is your favourite tradition?

The Christmas day crab feast at my Auntie’s Smile

christmas 407

We have a friendly competition for the biggest “wad” of crab Winking smile

What tops your tree?

A star Smile

Which do you prefer giving or receiving?

GIVING Open-mouthed smile (but who doesn’t like receiving?)

What is your favourite Christmas song?

ANY Christmas song gets me pumped up, but anything Josh Groban is amazing.

Candy canes yuck or yum?

Yuck. Too sweet.

Favourite Christmas movie?

How the Grinch Stole Christmas, A Christmas Story, I’ll Be Home For Christmas, Christmas Vacation, and The Family Stone are ALL movies I MUST watch over the Christmas season Smile

What do you leave for Santa?

Milk and cookies.

Celery and carrots for the reindeer Smile

Do you have a Christmas morning tradition?

Making cinnamon buns! Smile

christmas 245

Big cinnamon buns, I might add Winking smile

Do you prefer to shop online or at the mall?

The mall Open-mouthed smile I love the craziness and business of it all! AND they play Christmas music Open-mouthed smile

Christmas letter or card?

I haven’t sent any Christmas letters or cards out yet this year, but it’s usually in card form?

Can you relate to any of my answers? Were their any similarities to your Christmas experience and traditions?

Meg
xoxoxoxo

About Meg (A Dash of Meg)

Hello, my name is Meg. I am a 20-year-old passionate Foods & Nutrition student on my way to becoming a Registered Dietitian who loves food, cooking, fitness, seafood, and a nice cup of tea.

Posted on December 16, 2011, in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink. 14 Comments.

  1. I have to agree with you on the candy canes, I never really enjoyed the taste. At school the teachers used to give them out and everyone would get all excited but I always gave mine away to friends!

  2. I love your answers, Meg! I totally like giving gifts too! I love seeing the smile on other people’s faces! I CANNOT believe you buried yourself under all of that snow. I would DIE. I hate being cold. You are definitely a brave soul! One of my favourite Christmas movies is ELF with Will Ferrell! I actually just watched it tonight. Got it for $7 at Wal-Mart! I hope all of your studying goes by super fast so Tuesday can hurry up and come!!! Going back home will be so exciting for you 😀

  3. Adorable post like always girlfriend! ❤ can't wait for christmas!!

  4. Your christmas morning sounds just like mine! My sister and I come out to our coffee table literally covered in “Santa Presents”. It’s so much fun! I got a piano a few years ago too, it was sooo exciting. And those cinnamon buns are HUGE. I want one!
    Your family is gorgeous, by the way. 🙂

  5. Aww I love this. Although I should NOT fill this survey in…haha I’m a grinch 😉

  6. My parents get me Christmas PJs too! Actually, all four of us (mom, dad, my sister and me) get matching pairs. Yes, we’re a family of dorks! 😛

    I love the Family Stone too! No one else I know really likes it, but I adore movies like that about quirky families. Love Actually and the Santa Clause are also musts for me around the holiday season!

    Mmmm those cinnamon buns look amazing! We always make an eggy dish, like a frittata or quiche, but I think I want to change things up this year and contribute a sugary dish to indulge my sweet tooth! I’m thinking either cinnamon buns or a big batch of baked oatmeal. 😀

    Good luck studying today! I’ll text you later about our tea date! xoxo

  7. We have many Christmas similarities! I’ve never heard of crab for Christmas dinner but that sounds awesome!!! Haha, a mistletoe-toad?!

  8. this is such a cute survey that’s going around! I love it. CRAB for christmas dinner? yummy! We usually have turkey because ham is way too salty.

  9. hahahha that’s the most epic stocking I’ve ever seen!!! And yes, you’re right about most hot cocoa mixes – they’re usually too watery. I love getting specialty cocoa at some coffee shops though, they usually know what they’re doing! 😀 And I love that you eat crab on Christmas!!! Crab is one of my fave seafoods and its soo much fun to eat – that’s a fantastic tradition 😀

  10. Love this and soon doing it!!

    Josh’s Christmas music is my fav too!

  11. Cute survey! Those cinnamon buns looks so delicious!

  12. What a fun idea! Love surveys because it really allows us to learn more about you! I couldn’t agree more with like ALL your answers especially having a real tree up for Christmas…the smell is what puts me in the christmas mood!

    By the way, LOVE that stocking..it’s HUGE!! hha

  13. As a child growing up every Christmas my mom would have us watch A Christmas story. We loved it and sometimes even watched it when it was not Christmas. I think it is funny that every year it is popular and stores are still selling its merchandise. The movie has become a Christmas classic. I have so many favorites it is hard to tell which one part I like best. I have conviced my husband to watch it with me this year.
    Happy Holidays and thanks for your post!

A penny for your thoughts...

