Sweaty and Savoury

Mmmmm sounds like a good combo doesn’t it? Winking smile 

Not really? Well, these two words pretty much sum up the lovely day I had Open-mouthed smile 

It all began with a hearty breakfast of oats, eggs, and a Pink Lady apple followed by an incredible weight lifting session at the gym!
I definitely unleashed the beast today and it felt gooooooood Winking smile

6184
Source

Some day. Someday day…

Today I began week 3 of the LIVEFIT trainer and loved it because I lifted heavier today Open-mouthed smile Week 3 goes from doing 12 reps to 10. I did some of my exercises at 8 reps, just so I could up my weights from the first two weeks Winking smile I really enjoyed this chest and triceps workout. I challenged myself and it felt good Smile

After the last rep of one-arm cable pulldowns I was off to the change room to refuel on a wonderful PWO shake that tasted like Christmas Winking smile

savoury 031

Blueberries, cranberries, cinnamon swirl About Time protein powder, and a ton of ice went into the mix!)

savoury 032

Cranberries always remind me of Christmas Smile So, the cinnamon flavoured protein powder and cranberries made this shake even more excited for Christmas Winking smile 

Once I got home from the gym, a shower was next on the list.

I STUNK.

But a good stinky. You know you work hard when… Winking smile

Once I was smelling back to normal (not stinky!) I cozied up on my couch to some eggs, sweet potato with cinnamon, and my text book for a few hours!

savoury 033

(Not the prettiest picture, but boy did it taste good after that workout!)

I have a hard time doing “savoury” for breakfast. I often think up of some really great combo’s for a breakfast sandwiches or frittatas using sweet potato, but if I don’t have oats with some fruit or something else that is nice and sweet I don’t know what I’d do Winking smile I don’t have much of a sweet tooth, but apparently it decides to come out when it’s breakfast time Winking smile

So, I decided to go savoury for lunch seeing as how my breakfasts are never of the savoury type Winking smile

Lunch was something completely new to me!

Savoury oats! Open-mouthed smile I was a “savoury oats” newbie until today, but I am glad I ended that streak!

New found love?

Savoury oats. Definitely.

I began with 1/2 cup almond milk, 1/2 cup water, and 1 serving steel cut oats. This is how I make my steel cut oats in the morning Smile I love the addition of almond milk to the water. It makes a much creamier bowl of oats Smile 
For savoury oats; however, I added 1 TBSP nutritional yeast once my oats were almost fully cooked!

savoury 034

Stir, stir, stir until the nooch is all melty and wonderful Smile

Remove from heat and pour into bowl

savoury 035

A nice cheesy bowl of oats ready to be enjoyed Smile

But wait!

What about the toppings?!? Winking smile 

I topped my oats off with the perfect amount of chopped cherry tomatoes and a big hunk of avocado.

savoury 043

My savoury oats were accompanied with a chicken breast Smile 

savoury 042

Can you say perfection?

I will definitely be making these again Winking smile Very soon I might add.

Have you had savoury oats before? How did you top them?
Do you like having savoury breakfasts?
Does anyone have an amazing frittata recipe for me to try?

Adios amigos! More studying must take place!

Meg
xoxoxoxoxoxo

About Meg (A Dash of Meg)

Hello, my name is Meg. I am a 20-year-old passionate Foods & Nutrition student on my way to becoming a Registered Dietitian who loves food, cooking, fitness, seafood, and a nice cup of tea.

Posted on December 15, 2011, in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink. 27 Comments.

  1. StoriesAndSweetPotatoes

    This is your first time having savory oats? Welcome to heaven! Throw a little curry powder in there next time.
    The title of this post is too hilarious.

  2. Oh my gosh girly. I wish I could have eaten all the above! 🙂 seriously try marinara on your eggs sometime! It is so good!

  3. Well, that’s a good idea. I never thought about oats for lunch but it makes perfect sense as a starch component. \
    I’ve seen people do ‘savory” oats with egg + avocado + hummus + yogurt…I’ve even seen oats with bacon 🙂

    Yum. Would LOVE to see how the rest of your day went (with meals, snacks, and studying of course 😉

    I love eggs . Do you use use whole eggs ? (I go with whole eggs , but have added those egg beater things at times if I want “extra”).

  4. I always have that same problem too. I can’t do a whole savory breakfast without something sweet. Those savory oats look good too, I can’t believe I’ve never thought to try that!

  5. you make being healthy look SO delicious!

  6. meg- savory oats are my favorite!! love loveee- especially topped with a runny egg and avocado. deliciousss 🙂

  7. See, here’s the thing. I am afraid to try savory oats because I already eat at LEAST 2 bowls a day as it is. If oats become a viable option for savory meals, I will not eat anything else!

    I really want to try the 12 week Livefit trainer!

  8. Wow, I never even thought to try savoury oats. I don’t know if I could do it though – I love my sweet oats!! I love that pic of Erin 😀

  9. Yum! Those savory oats look so good. I’m terrified to try savory oats even though I really want to! But for some reason I can’t eat things both sweet and savory. For example: I have to eat cottage cheese savory and Greek yogurt sweet because that’s just how my mind works haha. Oh and I love frittatas. I either put roasted broccoli & cheddar cheese in it or spinach, tomatoes, sesame oil, and soy sauce!

  10. I can’t do savoury breakfasts either… I can’t even remember the last time I had one! I think it might have been last Christmas haha.

    Aren’t savoury oats amazing!? I make mine pretty similar to yours with nooch and avocado. I also like to stir in some spinach and top it off with an egg!

  11. I’ve never had savory oats before but I love your recipe! Maybe I’ll give them a try!

    PS I just transferred my blog host and unfortunately I lost all my subscribers..so you’ll have to re-subscribe to continue to receive updates! Sorry for the inconvenience!

  12. Mmm I bet those cranberries ROCKED in that smoothie! I haven’t tried putting them in one yet…this must change asap haha 😉

  13. I never thought to add cranberry’s to my smoothies, looks yummy!

  14. I like savoury breakfasts as SECOND breakfasts, but I always want sweeter type things first off. I don’t mind having a snack, working out, and then devouring an omelette or something.

    I’ve not tried savoury oats OR nutritional yeast, but it’s being added onto the list with quinoa and kale. Thanks for the inspiration.

  15. That looks like a 4th of July smoothie :D!! I used to be the same about savory breakfasts but this week has actually seen 2 savory breakfasts…loving the eggs! I made an awesome fried egg, avocado and cream cheese sandwich yesterday morning and that definitely was perfection!

  16. Congrats on having such a kickass workout! That’s the best. I had an awesome workout today (and yesterday) as well. I’m so sore. I love it!
    And I’ve never tried savory oats. I’ve always been a little intimidated by them, for some reason. But I’ll have to try them soon!

  17. sweating out the toxins is glorious! i love your dedication to fitness! x

  18. Whoa that’s awesome!! I never in a million years would think to make my oats savory. I’m like you, I have to have something sweet for breakfast! Or at least, that’s always what I have a taste for in the mornings. I always make my oats with almond milk (you’re right, xtra creaminess!!) but adding nutritional yeast and veggies…I think I will have to give that a go next time we have a “breakfast for dinner” night! 😀

  19. Ohhh I’ve never had savoury oats! then again, I don’t ACTUALLY eat oats that often. Crazy, I know, but still.

    Happy Friday!!!!!!

  20. congrats on upping your weights! isnt that an amazing feeling? 🙂
    I have tried savory oats before, but it just didnt work for me. Maybe because it is so stuck in my mind that oats should be topped with nut butter? lol

  21. PINK LADY APPLES ARE MY FAVORITE!! i eat them like everyday. just thought i’d let you know. lol

  22. I’ve been meaning to make a batch of savory oats! Thinking of making them with some spinach, bell peppers, sliced mushrooms, Canadian bacon, and topped with a sunny side up egg 😀

  23. Yummm those are some great combos! I love how you paired the oats with chicken breast..yay for protein! haha That smoothie look so delicious! I didn’t know they made cinnamon flavored protein powder! How very christmasy! haha

  24. I love savory oats with nooch and egg!

A penny for your thoughts...

