Reader’s Request: Tzatziki Sauce

Hello loves! Smile Happy Friday! The weekend is here! However, no matter the day – weekend or not – I will be studying for the majority of my days…

Finals.

Gotta love ‘em right?

Alright, studying for my nutrition class is not bad at all, but I could definitely do without this…

chickpeaburg1 042

I cringe just looking at that book…

In between my studying, I thought I would create a new recipe that one of my readers, and friends from school, requested me to make – A healthy tzatziki sauce! Smile I love tzatziki sauce; especially with calamari Smile 

Clean Tzatziki Sauce

1/2 cup Greek yogurt

1 tsp olive oil

1 tsp Garden Gourmet Dill*

lemon zest

freshly ground black pepper

*This dill is amazing. I frequently combine it with my Greek yogurt and use as a dip for vegetables! It tastes just like a dill dip my Mom used to make with a package of mixed spices, sour cream, and mayo. I am sure you will not be disappointed with this product! So, if you can find it in your grocery store – try it out! Smile

Combine ingredients in bowl and mix well.

chickpeaburg1 030

Serve with fresh vegetables such as cucumber

chickpeaburg1 035

or…

chickpeaburg1 037

Falafel – Inspired Chickpea Turkey Bites

1/2 cup ground turkey

1/2 cup chickpeas, cooked

1 TBSP egg white

1 TBSP fresh cilantro or parsley, chopped

cumin

garlic powder

freshly ground black pepper

Preheat oven to 375 degrees Fahrenheit.
Begin by puréeing chickpeas. Once the chickpeas are of a smooth consistency, combine in a bowl with remaining ingredients. Mix well. Form into balls or patties and place on baking sheet lined with foil. Bake in your preheated oven for 25 – 30 minutes or until internal thermometer reads 165 degrees Fahrenheit.

These were very moist and a lovely accompaniment to the tzatziki sauce, but could be enjoyed so many other ways as well Smile

Do you like to create healthy versions of “not so healthy” recipes?
Have you ever tried falafel?
I have not! I really should give it a try though… I have heard so many great things Smile
How are you spending your weekend? I will be studying, but other than that I will be going to the gym Saturday (shoulders & abs) and Sunday (legs). I will probably hit up the grocery store at some point in time, too. I am running out of some essentials for my fridge (a.k.a. Greek yogurt!)

Have a lovely day my friends!

Meg
xoxoxoxoxo

About Meg (A Dash of Meg)

Hello, my name is Meg. I am a 20-year-old passionate Foods & Nutrition student on my way to becoming a Registered Dietitian who loves food, cooking, fitness, seafood, and a nice cup of tea.

Posted on December 9, 2011, in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink. 41 Comments.

  1. Good luck with the rest of your finals, pretty lady! You’re sooo close to being done. 🙂
    I love making healthier versions “unhealthy” recipes. It just goes to show that you don’t have to sacrifice good food and flavor for health! Plus, getting creative in the kitchen is so much fun!
    Both of these creations sound delicious. I’ve been meaning to recreate a vegan version of tzatziki using So Delicious’ new Coconut Greek Yogurt. Maybe I’ll do that this weekend!

  2. Oh my goodness all of this looks completely amazing!! Those bites with that dip has me literally salivating. Now my boring lunch is so not going to satisfy me!!

  3. 3 more hours of work, then gym (legs) and hopefully watching 30 minutes or less. it looks pretty funny! also reading the latest Stephen King novel. (not usually a fan but this one has time travel!!)

  4. hope you rocked your finals

  5. survivingcandyland

    Ooooo tzatziki sauce. Seriously my favorite thing ever. I found this one brand once at whole foods and now I can never find it anymore. I’m quite depressed about that, but I’m so going to try out this recipe. I need it back in my life.

  6. I love falafels! I am definitely going to try this recipe!!

    It’s already the weekend here…. I’m having my pre-workout meal, then emailing you and then off to do bis and tris! And then studying all weekend 😦 Grr.

  7. how have you not tried falafel???i love it.. good thing its our national food pretty much.. !!

  8. Good luck with finals! Just think, only a few more tests and then you get to RELAX!! 🙂 Ohh and Micro..yeah, I could def do without that one as well lol

    LOVE Falafel..it’s SO good!! I wish I knew how to make it! You should def try it, i think you’ll really like it!

  9. ilovefetacheese

    This looks amazing!! I love anything with savory yogurt!

  10. Both the sauce and the turkey balls are so simple, yet look so delicious! And healthy! Must try 🙂 🙂

  11. Well wouldn’t you know it – Garden Gourmet Dill is me and my Mom’s FAVOURITE! We are going to make this over the weekend 😀 Thanks girl, you’re the best! xo

  12. OMG this looks so good! I love Greek food! And I also love creating healthier recipes for not so healthy recipes. Have a great weekend girl !<3

  13. love your blog and thanks for the recipe! looks amazingggg.

  14. I’ve never had tzatziki before! It looks really interesting though, and I love greek yogurt, so I’ll probably have to give it a try. 🙂 I’ve only had falafels ONCE – the traditional, deep-fried kind, in a wrap, at a market in London. It was alright but I found it kinda cloying. 😄

  15. Good luck with finals…it will over before you know it!
    I haven’t had Falafels in a while, I like them in Lebanese bread with tabouli. Both recipes are awesome and very healthy 🙂

  16. Ahh that’s too funny – I JUST made a yogurt sauce almost exactly like this last night! I used it as a dip for my salmon cakes though.

    Those falafel turkey bites look awesome. Now that you’ve converted me into a ground turkey lover, I’ll have to try them. 😀 I tried real falafel for the first time last year at Barakat (on Richmond). They were really good!

  17. That falafel recipe is a great idea!

  18. I love making healthier versions of non-healthy foods too. Or just making copy-cat recipes from restaurants. I made my version of Chipotle burrito bowl a while back. Your tzatziki sauce looks delicious! I haven’t had falafel in far too long.
    Good luck with your finals!

  19. Yum yum yum tzatziki sauce is so good! It’s a lot easier to make than I thought!

  20. did shoulders this morning! great recipes 🙂

  21. not gonna lie, greek food is my FAAAVORITE!! well second to Italian. But I’m kind of addicted to tzatziki sauce, so I’m sooo glad that now I have this healthy version to make! And falafel…yes, you need to try it. Another one of my favorite things! It’s really easy to make too! 😀 Wish I could do your Biochem studying for you – I’m weird and actually love that stuff!

  22. Great recipes girly! I have tried falafel once at a restaurant in Colorado and I loved it! I tried to recreate a healthier version once at home and it was no bueno. lol. I always love trying to make things healthier at home and also introduce them to other people so they believe that healthy food can be good food!

  23. I really like this post, and not JUST because it made me drool!

  1. Pingback: One of Those Meals « A Dash of Meg

  2. Pingback: Falafel Meat Balls | Hey Joob!

A penny for your thoughts...

