What’s That Brown Thing?

Well, hello there friends Smile 
I am so happy that all of you liked my very first WIAW Smile I didn’t really intend on writing a WIAW post, but I thought it would be interesting and helpful for those of you who are considering following the LIVEFIT Trainer in the future Smile 
Last night I forgot to mention that there are three different phases within the program, so the meal plan changes with each phase. I can continue to update you as I progress through the program, though.
Basically, the meal plan for Phase 1 looks like this:

Meal 1: Starch + Protein + Vegetables (unlimited)

Meal 2: Protein + Vegetables (unlimited)

Meal 3: Starch + Protein + Vegetables (unlimited)

Meal 4: Protein + Vegetables (unlimited)

Meal 5: Starch + Protein + Vegetables (unlimited)

Meal 6: Protein + Vegetables (unlimited)

However, the meal plan is flexible. Throughout my time “following” along with the program (since summer, but actually starting last week) I have noticed that many people get very caught up with the meal plan and stress a lot. It is really all about clean eating and proper portion size, though. If your body needs more food then increase the portion sizes, but just keep eating “clean”! Smile It’s pretty simple, right!?

One other thing I must mention is the fat. Where does it fit in?
For the program Jamie suggests using MRM Smart blend capsules (2 capsules twice a day) and 1 serving (1 TBSP) of a “healthy” fat per day. I do not have the capsules yet, so I have just been adding my fats in throughout my day as needed Smile
Fats are essential and it is important to consume at least 20% of your total caloric intake from fat. At least. Remember, do not fear fat. We need it Open-mouthed smile And we function better with more of it! Open-mouthed smile (Ironically, the television show The Doctors even touched on this topic today! Look at me, all up in my nutrition knowledge and what not Winking smile You’d have no idea I am a nutrition student would ya!?)
_____________________________________________

After last night’s post I was surprised with the abundance of comments I received asking about “what that brown thing was” Winking smile (Ok, maybe no one said brown thing, maybe chocolate thing, but carrying on…)

Nonetheless, the comment reminded me of one of my favourite childhood books…
“Those Green Things” Smile

61Z0D9S6AML__SS500_

Have any of you read this book before? It’s so adorable. It’s about a little girl who let’s her imagination run wild as to “what the green things” around her house could be. I remember her thinking that the green socks in the laundry basket were lizards and that the spinach in her omelette were bugs and worms!

Oh, childhood memories Smile Gotta love ‘em!

So, getting back on track…

That “brown thing” at the end of my post last night was my casein protein “fudge” Winking smile It’s my usual night time snack and it is so delicious – just as it looks!

bananacreampa 019

Chocolate Protein “Fudge”

1 scoop casein protein powder

water

In a bowl, mix casein powder with water. I slowly add the water, so the fudge doesn’t become too watery. I have never measured the exact amount of water I mix into the protein powder, but I add a TBSP or two at a time until I get it to the consistency I want. Then I form the thick mixture into a ballish looking thing (?) and let it sit in the fridge for a bit Smile

walnutlove 013

Once I am almost ready for bed, I take it out of the fridge and top it with almond butter and
devour! Winking smile

awards 184

chocolatecake 021

Let me know if you try this! It’s amazing.

What was your favourite book as a child?
Have you ever read Those Green Things?
What is your favourite source of “healthy” fats?
I just tried macadamia nut oil today for the first time Smile It was wonderful, but nothing compares to my walnut oil Winking smile 

I’m off to Starbucks for a tea date with Chelsea! We both are in dire need of a study break!

Have a wonderful night friends!

Lots of love!

Meg
xoxoxoxoxoxo

About Meg (A Dash of Meg)

Hello, my name is Meg. I am a 20-year-old passionate Foods & Nutrition student on my way to becoming a Registered Dietitian who loves food, cooking, fitness, seafood, and a nice cup of tea.

Posted on December 8, 2011, in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink. 25 Comments.

  1. Casein sludge is a staple in this kitchen haha Nothing beats the yummy gooey-ness! 😀
    Once I plopped some in a popsicle holder thing, stuck some pb in there too and froze it–it was like an ice cream fudge bar!! You gotta try it one day girl 😉

  2. OMG this is genius! I’m going to make a chocolate mint one tonight!!!! I was trying to figure out how to sneak in an extra 20ish grams of protein in without having to eat another meal so this works perfectly!

    • YAY 🙂 I haven’t tried it with About Time (this is casein), so not sure if it will fluff up the same 🙂 Last time I added water to my About Time it was just liquid, but let me know how it goes 😀

  3. Ahhh this is the first time I’ve actually seen the diet program. I was expecting to see way more starchy carbs – if there are only three carb meals a day, you have absolutely no reason to worry about eating carbs at night! 🙂

    OK, my protein does NOT look that good. I use the exact same casein as you so I don’t know what I’m doing wrong! Haha how long do you put it in the fridge for?

  4. I just read an article today about getting in the healthy fats! I definitely slack in that area. I like sesame oil best, but I really want to try macadamia but oil!

    Love the idea of protein fudge. Sounds easy and delicious, which is just the way I like it!

  5. Meg, I do admire you and wish I had your physical capability (I’m only a walker) and discipline.

    I bet that “fudge” would be good in a big bowl of yogurt (that would be a good snack I think with fruit and nuts and stuff do you think?).

    I don’t know why I lose so much control with my eats. I guess I like my bread and chocolate. Yipes. Is the post wiaw yesterday what you ate for that day (your 6 meals?).

    Fats..this is another concern of mine…I consume a lot of fats…in ONE day, for example:
    – fatty fish
    – 2 tablespooons of oil (olive or coconut usually)
    – 1/2 cup nuts + endless amounts of nut butter
    – 1/2 large avocado
    – chocolate (i know 😦
    – whole eggs
    etc etc etc (you get the idea).

    Maybe someday I’ll be disciplined …maybe right now this is just the way it is…I am gaining though and every moment of the day is filled with sadness that I’m gaining all wrong (since i’m eating these things and not even exercising!).

  6. I need to find a way to make the fudge 🙂 yum! 😛

  7. Keep up the good work with the program! 😀 Sounds like you’re making great progress. I think this meal plan is super sensible, especially with how it doesn’t totally omit starch even though the training doesn’t have a focus on cardio. Yessss healthy fats are so important. Give me my nuts any day!

  8. My favorite source of healthy fats is definitely peanut butter. My favorite books as a child were all of the Beverly Cleary books. I could go back and read all of the Ramona and Beezus books again!

  9. Wow I can’t believe that thing is only protein powder. It looks like a real brownie!

  10. I would have never guessed that your fudge was only made from protein powder. That is awesome! Yuuum.
    Keep up the good work with the program, girl. It sounds like you’re on the right track and the changes your making in your diet and exercise regime are all amazing.
    As a kid, my favorite book was definitely “The Giving Tree”. I loved it!

  11. there’s nothing but protein powder in that?!? that’s like a kitchen miracle lol!! I never would’ve guessed, and I’m definitely gonna have to try that. And +1 to the healthy fats! I feel best when I eat like 30% of my diet from fats nom nom nom.

  12. do you think this would work with whey protein? this looks awesome but whey is all i have..wa waa hah

  1. Pingback: WIAW: On the Road « A Dash of Meg

  2. Pingback: Barbequing and Blogging | A Dash Of Meg

  3. Pingback: A Casein VLOG! | A Dash Of Meg

A penny for your thoughts...

