Workout Wednesday: The 12-Week LIVEFIT Trainer

Hey sweeties! Smile How is everyone’s Wednesday going? Mine has been pretty tasty and very productive Winking smile I don’t know where all of this motivation to study came from, but I am lovin’ it! Smile I was able to get a ton of studying done today which makes me feel so much better about my up coming exams Smile 

Seeing as how it is “workout Wednesday” today, I thought it was only appropriate to talk about Jamie Eason’s LIVEFIT Trainer that I recently started Smile I have mentioned it a few times so far, but haven’t gone into much detail since I assumed many of you know enough about it already (it seems as though many healthy living bloggers are following the program); however, the phrase “never assume” would have been useful for me as it seems many of you, my readers, are quite interested in knowing more about the program Smile 

I won’t go into great detail about the program seeing as how everything you need to know about it can be found here. So instead, I thought it would be more fun to talk about my thoughts and experience with the program thus far Winking smile 

I mean, who doesn’t like talking about themselves? Haha… Winking smile

Well, to start things off I would like to say that I have been putting this program off ever since it launched this summer. I did the first workout on the program and stopped there. I didn’t like how short it was and I didn’t want to follow a meal plan.

Stubborn? A bit. But, I also just didn’t know what I wanted out of my training at the time.

Now I do Winking smile

I am committed Smile

Since spending time with my Mom for the past week, my attitude changed for the better. Her and I talked a lot and I realized that my goals were not consistent with what I was currently doing; therefore, I was never going to achieve my goals.

So, I started the 12 – Week LIVEFIT Trainer and I have never been happier and more committed.

How did my commitment change?

Well, I have always said my goal is to gain muscle, but I could never really get myself to say my goal is to gain weight. Even though I know well enough muscle gain = weight gain I couldn’t bring myself to tone down my workouts to actually let the gains happen. I had been told a few times that by removing cardio for a few weeks isn’t a bad thing, it would just help me reach my goals/gains quicker. For some reason I just couldn’t take the advice, so I continued to do HIIT on the treadmill 2 – 3 times per week.

Did I see any progress?

Nope. Maybe I hit a few more PR’s, but did my muscles increase in size? No. Did the weight on the scale go up? Not at all.

Mom’s must be magical because ever since I spent that week with my Mom I have never been more comfortable with the term “gaining” as I am now Smile

So what – I am in a gaining phase. I am going to get awesome results in the end Smile I am actually really excited to gain weight, so I am taking this program very seriously. I hate cardio, but I did enjoy doing my intervals on the treadmill, but I won’t be doing them for a month because I am following the program to a “t” and want to see the most gains possible Open-mouthed smile And now, I say gaining phase loud and proud Smile It feels so good.

Today completes Week 1 of the 12 – Week Trainer and I have complete confidence in the program. No, not one program works for everyone, but really – the program is just about eating “clean” and working out. Two things of which I love and already had been doing Smile

The one thing I absolutely love about the program are the workouts Smile Before the program, my routines would consist of many more exercises than I am doing now. I thought by doing more exercises I was working harder and would see better results. Not true. I have noticed throughout my first week on the trainer that I am actually lifting heavier now because I am not so burnt out. I am super happy with my progress already and can’t wait for the next 11 weeks! Winking smile 

My confidence has also been boosted from being on the program because it made me realize how healthy or “clean” I already ate. The meal plan suggested for the program is almost a clone of what my typical day already looked like!

I am still eating the same amount of calories (despite the fact that I am no longer doing cardio)

And I am still eating 6 meals per day that are well balanced and consist of protein, complex carbs, and healthy fats.

I tend to be quite hard on myself, so it was really rewarding to see that I already eat the way Jamie has suggested Smile

There is a Facebook group that over 5,000 people belong to! The group is a type of “support system” for those on the trainer. It’s great to use as a resource, but it’s important to remember to do what is right for you Smile

Every body is different and I always have to remind myself of that.

Personally, I had to alter the trainer’s meal plan a tiny bit seeing as how I already knew from experience that I would lose weight if I decreased my calories. I have always had a high metabolism, so I am just making sure to have a bit more than suggested! Smile 

To wrap up this longer than usual post, I will give you a sneak peak of some of my eats throughout the day Smile 

dailyeats 013

dailyeats 018

dailyeats 021

dailyeats 046

dailyeats 048

dailyeats 052

fluffy quinoa 012

awards 180

awards 183

Did you workout this workout Wednesday? It was my rest day, but I am going hard tomorrow! Open-mouthed smile

What was the best thing you ate today?

Have you considered doing Jamie Eason’s LIVEFIT Trainer?

Have a wonderful night darlings!

Meg
xoxoxoxoxoxo

About Meg (A Dash of Meg)

Hello, my name is Meg. I am a 20-year-old passionate Foods & Nutrition student on my way to becoming a Registered Dietitian who loves food, cooking, fitness, seafood, and a nice cup of tea.

Posted on December 7, 2011, in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink. 36 Comments.

  1. I’ve heard great things about LIVEFIT throughout the blog world and I really want to try it! Lately, since my knees have been hurting me and I can no longer do my long cardio workouts, I’ve been lifting weights and doing workout videos using just my body and I tell you, I have never been so sore! Plus, I workout in life 1/2 the time and I can tell I’ve put on some muscle and I just started this week! Good luck with your workout plan and I hope you get awesome results and reach your goals. Btw, all your eats look delish! 🙂

  2. Hi Meg,

    what is the last picture of? A muffin?
    And do you use steel cut oats? I usually just buy the instant kind. Also, those eggs (I think their eggs) by the oats : how do you make them? i have the egg beaters or whole yolks
    and not sure of the equivalent.

    I cannot do the program because it requires a gym and I have no access. This really gets me down. But the diet is interesting. But I’m still not sure how it amounts to say 2000++ calories. I know you dont’ document your own eats, but if you can mention a sample day of exactly 2000+ cals with that kind of diet, I’d be curious how the heck to assemble it. It would be SO helpful to see that kind of sample!!

    Also, don’t be hard on yourself with diet. PLEASE indulge in a box of pot of gold chocolate and some reeses pieces cups!
    This girl recently showed her abs : http://mealsandmovesblog.com/2011/12/05/making-a-comeback/
    She followed the plan (live fit trainer ) for a full 50 days before jumping a bit more onto the diet type of plan..she indulged all the way and still looked fab….so don’t take yourself too seriously.

    Happy Wednsday!!

    • It’s a picture of my protein “fudge” with almond butter on top.

      I’m not sure how to tell you how you can reach 2,000 cals other than increasing portion size. Adding in healthy fats throughout the days, larger protein portions, and more complex carbs is how I do it?

      And, I don’t need to indulge in a box of chocolate. As I have stated many times before on my blog I am not a fan of sweets as I grew up without eating them AND I was allergic to chocolate throughout my childhood as well, so I have never developed a love for it.

  3. I didn’t workout today but I did work a 12 hour shift! Umm…what is that very last thing you ate? lol. It looks so good!

  4. StoriesAndSweetPotatoes

    Okay you have to tell us what that chocolate thing is!

  5. OMG what is the last pic of it looks amazing. I mean they all do but that one caught my eye.

    love you megs

  6. omg that “fudge” look amazing!!

    Thanks for going a bit more in detail about this program bc i haven’t actually heard about it before! It looks intense but so promising 🙂

  7. Your meals look so delicious! I plan on trying the livefit trainer when I’m not training for running for school. I’ve heard great things about it.

  8. Kudos to you for trying to gain weight! You’re gonna come out of the program waaaay stronger and fitter. 🙂 And as usual, the eats look great!

  9. All of your meals look delicious, as usual!
    I’m so proud of you for starting the LiveFit program. I know you’re going to see some AMAZING results and I can’t wait to see how you respond (mentally and physically).
    I actually managed to squeeze in a killer strength training workout today! I was so happy because I’ve been ridiculously busy the past few days and have hardly been able to work out. But, it gave my body a nice rest so I’m not complaining!
    Oh, and your fudge looks AMAZING.

  10. I was planning on working out this morning before my last final (since I will be traveling tomorrow and won’t be able to go to the gym). I had my gym bag all packed last night, but when I woke up this morning, my warm, cozy bed held me captive. Oh well! I went to my final thoroughly rested 🙂

  11. OK, you definitely need to post how you made that fudge!!! It looks amazing!

    I read this post with a big smile on my face 🙂 I’m so proud of you and I’m loving your new attitude!

  12. apple pie tea?!!?!? ahhh i’ll trade you my passionfruit apple chai =) Happy WIAW girly! Welcome to the party! xoxoxo

  13. So awesome that you started the LiveFit program – can’t wait to see what results you’re seeing. And your eats look so yummy. love the post.

  14. bowchickawowowwwww!! I love how excited you are about this – you kicked that ‘fear’ of gaining right in the butt. And hey when you think about it, GAINING is such a positive word…like why would anyone want to lose? you have SO much to gain – muscle, strength, confidence, etc etc – from ‘gaining’. And its awesome that you don’t have to revamp your eats too much – I think that would, for me at least, be more stressful than changing the workouts haha. And as usual all your muscle-building fuel looks delicious – you defs don’t have to sacrifice quality 😀 “Mom’s Apple Pie” tea…is that Davids?? I feel like I need that, I wonder if I can order it or something haha.

  15. Yay Meg it sounds like you’re going into this with a great attitude and approach. I’m sure you’ll start seeing some awesome gains soon! 🙂

    Are those buckwheat groats in your breakfast – are they raw or roasted? I have raw ones, but I never thought I could just eat them plain like that!

    I did a 30 minute run yesterday and then a really crappy weights workout. I should have known better than to go into a workout without a plan. 😛

  16. survivingcandyland

    I definitely didn’t work out because I’ve been super lazy. I have been working out my brain though since I’ve been studying so much. Girrrl gimme what you been eating. I want all of that. What is that mom’s apple pie? I like anything pie related.

  17. I’ve heard about a bunch of people doing this! Will you be posting about your progress or results? I’m pretty intrigued to see if it actually works. I wish you the best of luck with it, you will do awesome 😀

  18. So is this like the 6 meals you ate for that entire day for example?

    I try; but I fail.
    For one of my meals I had 6 oz mahi mahi, 1.5 cups vegetables, 1/2 avocado, 2 slices bread + 1/2 tbsp of olive oil

    too many starches and fats maybe…not “simple” like your lovely eats and the clean way it should be

    or often before bed I will have a big bowl of fruit + yogurt + nut butter + cereal + 30 g of dark chocolate

    I want to follow this plan so much; why can’t i “pull” it together.
    I know its silly to follow the plan if I’m not even exercising…but I worry I’m gaining all wrong you know..this just sucks…

    for the starches…do you make sure to get starches for sure at at least 3 meals? Is it okay if they are the more bready choices vs. things like beans and potato?

    And how do you make your eggs? Interesting!!

  19. ahh I love Jaime Eason!! She is such an inspiration to me! I, for a while, had to stop cardio in order to gain muscle & it was SO HARD. I was such a cardio junkie before I turned into a weight lifter! now I just do tiny bursts of HIIT, nothing crazy. Just to get a good sweat. But I do plan on relaxing on it a big to hopefully gain some muscle for my next competition!

    love that we’re all clean eating girls :] ❤ ❤

A penny for your thoughts...

