Tea Talk Tuesday

Hello friends! Smile I hope you all like tea because today is all about my drink of choice – tea! Winking smile

Tea is definitely an obsession of mine Smile I don’t even know if the word obsession describes my relationship with tea accurately enough. I am definitely passionate about it, too Smile Not only do I drink tea, but I read about it as well Smile I think it is so interesting to learn about all of the different varieties of teas available and what makes each type of tea different from the other Smile

Way back when my taste buds were clearly not fully developed yet, I despised tea! I thought it was disgusting and never thought I would love it one day!
Now, I couldn’t imagine going a day without tea Smile I usually have a tea along with my breakfast Smile

021114_1771_0060_lslp

Source

However, it’s probably not English Breakfast tea (hehe! I couldn’t help myself Winking smile)

My “tea of choice” is definitely of the loose leaf variety Smile Since I have become the tea enthusiast I am, I can actually differentiate bagged tea from loose tea.

And, in my opinion, loose is the way to go Winking smile

loosetea4

Source

Which allows me to introduce you all to the wonderful David Open-mouthed smile

Davids_Tea_best

Source

DAVIDsTEA is my all time favourite tea shop Smile (This information is not new for all of you who have been following along with me over the past few months! Winking smile)

I love DAVIDsTEA Smile It offers the best selection (IMO) of loose leaf teas Smile And they are continually inventing new flavours which makes things much more exciting Open-mouthed smile 

Currently, David has a selection of`winter teas that are being featured throughout the merry month of December Open-mouthed smile 

It should be no surprise to all of you that I have tried them all Open-mouthed smile More than once Winking smile

My favourite tea out of the holiday collection is the Organic Hot Toboggan Smile It is a green tea that is made with apples, cinnamon, and almonds. It is so mellow, but has the perfect touch of sweetness from the apples Smile I love it Smile However, today I found my absolute favourite tea from David! It is not from the winter tea collection, but it is a new and very festive tea Winking smile 

After the gym today I went to the mall to treat myself to some David love. I was in the mood for a green tea, so I went with their flavour called Elf Help.

It was love at first sip Smile I immediately sent a tweet out to DAVIDsTEA to let them know that they have invented the best tea of all time Winking smile 

The Elf Help tea is a lovely green tea, but seriously has the flavours of a Christmas fruit cake! Smile Elf Help is made with green tea, orange peel, apple, papaya, raisins, barberries, cranberries, and coconut.

base_image_elf_help

I loved the look of the tea, too! Smile The cranberries are so bright and festive! Smile 

I only bought a cup of Elf Help to go, but I am sure I will be making my way back to the mall sometime this week (sooner than later) to buy a bag of the loose stuff so I can enjoy it in the comfort of my own home Winking smile 

Perhaps next to my beautiful Christmas tree!? Open-mouthed smile

christmastree 018

You can’t get much more festive than that Winking smile

So now that you know all about my favourite tea (as of right now – I go through phases) I thought I would pull out share one of my favourite “tea tips” for you Smile 
Maybe some of you already do this, but I just discovered this helpful little trick this summer!

When enjoying loose leaf tea in a bag such as this

tea-pocket-spoon-tealeaves

Source

I used to hang the top of the bag on the rim and outside of my mug; however, the tea bag would absorb a lot of the water and begin to leak down the side of my mug and if my mug was sitting on a counter, my counter would get wet! Not good for a clean freak like myself. Water stains!? Not pretty, just horrifying.

403209-5312-23

Source

Now, I got smart and twist the top of the tea bag

teatalk 001

Tie it in a not

teatalk 002

Place in mug with hot water and enjoy without any spillage Open-mouthed smile

teatalk 004

Now, I am off to enjoy a cup of tea

teatalk 006

And continue to study for my clinical nutrition final!

risotto 012

Do you like tea? Have you always liked tea? What is your favourite kind?
If you don’t like tea, are you a coffee drinker? What do you not like about tea?
For my fellow university friends, how is your studying going? Is the Christmas season a distraction or motivation to power through?

Have a great Tuesday! Maybe have some tea! Winking smile

Meg
xoxoxoxoxo

About Meg (A Dash of Meg)

Hello, my name is Meg. I am a 20-year-old passionate Foods & Nutrition student on my way to becoming a Registered Dietitian who loves food, cooking, fitness, seafood, and a nice cup of tea.

Posted on December 6, 2011, in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink. 29 Comments.

  1. The only kind of tea I’m a fan of is chai. It smells and tastes SO good! 😀

  2. Great post! I love tea! Especially with the freezing cold weather. Currently sipping on lemon and ginger with a tsp of manuka honey!

  3. I love tea! Especially Earl Grey with a bit of steamed milk in it. 🙂 I don’t know why but when I drink green tea on an empty stomach it gives me a terrible stomach ache!

  4. “Do you like tea? Have you always liked tea? What is your favourite kind?
    If you don’t like tea, are you a coffee drinker? What do you not like about tea?”

    I don’t like tea at all unless I am sick like today, then I drink tea because it’s good on my tummy and when I am sick I don’t like to eat so tea helps, and when I am sick, my favorite kind is usually any tea that has some type of herb in it, or peppermint teas, I don’t like the taste of it, its something that the “eating disordered voice” says don’t drink unless you are sick.But I must say that this post has made me want to venture out and try some other festive teas and see if, I can change my view toward tea.Maybe, this is something that I should do and then, write a post of my owwn about and see how or if I have different views on tea! 🙂

  5. I am obsessed with David’s tea! Just tried the Hot Toboggan and loved it! I also went to Teaopia the other day and had a really tasty one from there. I never ever like tea until now! It definitely curbs my sweet tooth 🙂

  6. I’m a tea lover as well and that green tea sounds incredible! Green is by far my favorite and I’m always on the lookout for new varieties!

  7. Love this post because I love tea and just today had the idea to write about it — then I see this post!! Love it when that happens!

    One tea I never thought I’d LOVE is green tea. I’m so thankful I do love it now since it is soooo beneficial for our body. My all-time favorite tea, which I have been without for who knows how many years now (three…four?) is genmaicha! Have you heard of it? Better yet, have you tried it? It’s so good! I used to prepare it with a splash of almond milk and sometimes Peruvian java w/honey, but now I’m sure I’d appreciate all it has to offer by itself.

    Also, I used to be a hard-core coffee drinker (ask absolutely ANYONE!), but quit cold-turkey over a month ago and have been caffeine-free aside from a few Starbucks green teas here and there (the green tea I have at home is decaf).

    PS: Sorry for the short novel!! Obviously this post struck a cord with me 🙂

  8. I only have English Breakfast….I’m sad. There really isn’t a lot of flavoured teas in Australia so I would definitely expand my tea selection if I could!

    This time in exactly a week I’ll be sitting my first theory exam for PT. Eek! It will be the first exam I’ve done in two years since I finished uni…. yikes!

  9. Ohh I LOVE those colors! My parents are obsessed with tea (I def think it’s a European thing 🙂 ) so we always have SO many varieties of loose teas! In general, I prefer coffee but sometimes a cup of tea is JUST what I need..especially when I am sick.

  10. I’ve never been to David’s Tea, but I’ve heard that have tea diffusers to go. As in, I think there’s a special component inside a travel mug for the loose leaves that doesn’t allow it to mix with the tea! Such a good idea!! I need one asap, because like you, I love me some loose tea. I have soooo much of it! But I’m def not complaining!

  11. I like tea. But i DEFINITELY can’t afforrd those pricey teas I see everywhere. The cheapest whatever I can get, but sometimes I’ll try to splurge. One thing that I do look for though is to make sure it is decaffeinated…I read so much bad stuff about caffeine I’m kind of afraid to touch it. i drink a few cups of tea a day. Do you drink it with your breakfast or after?

  12. The only tea I drink is Kombucha. I stick with coffee!

  13. I have one thing to say: davids tea…forever nuts as a tea latte. That is all.

  14. I love tea. I definitely haven’t always loved tea, but I can pinpoint exactly when I started to enjoy it: fall 2006 in a hotel room in England that I was staying in on a weekend visit to see a boy that I had a huge crush on. I never told him how I felt, but I’ve liked tea ever since 🙂 Earl Grey is my tea of choice, but I like most black teas.

  15. TEA LOVERS UNITE!! I loveeee tea, but my absolute favourite is green tea. The sencha kind! And I love Chinese teas too – chrysanthemums, oolong, red tea… anything. 😀

  16. Oh man I love how organized your study area is….I always used to have my notes just EVERYWHERE lol what a mess.

    But YES to tea!! I’m a huge tea fan but my family always buys bagged, and I can’t yet differentiate. Consequently, my personal favorite teas are Celestial Seasonings “Sugar Cookie Sleighride” (tastes like a vanilla cookie!) and Gingerbread Spice. But David’s kind of sounds like a place we have here (maybe its in Canada too?) called Teavana, where they brew up loads of out-there teas for you – I definitely always treat myself when I’m in the mall, I loved their Honeybush Vanilla!

  17. Tea lovers, untite! I’m not sure I’m as sophisticated in my tea drinking ways as you, but I do appreciate a good cup. 😉 I’m trying to cut back on my coffee intake, and I say tea is the way to go!

  18. i drink too much tea, coffee, and gin! but i enjoy every bit of it! 😉
    favourite tea? peppermint tea by twinings for the keurig! x

  19. Have you tried Celestial’s sugar cookie tea?! It’s to die for!

  20. I absolutely love, love, love tea. I have always loved it. I am working on my PhD and a cup of tea is a constant in my day. When my cup is empty, I simply brew another pot.

    But its more than a warm comfort (and source of caffeine!)– It’s been a huge part of my life growing up— a real staple among the women in my family :). We’re all self-admitted tea snobs, picky about our favorites … although, when given the option, some tea is always better than no tea!!!

    What kind is your favorite? Have you had Golden Monkey tea?

    • WOW! PhD!? I admire you so much!

      I have never tried Golden Monkey. What is it like?

      My favourite tea is always changing. Currently, it is Elf Help – the green tea from DAVIDsTEA

      • Ahhh its a smooth, rich black tea! I find you can never go wrong with it. Its major down side is its price ($18.50 for 2 oz). If you’re ever at a Teavana, or similar store, and can get a cup, I would definitely suggest that you do!! 🙂

        I will definitely have to look into Elf Help! I love finding other people who love tea!! And I am super intrigued by your new workout plan. I am a cardio junkie who, like you wants to gain muscle, but have sort of been tentative about committing to all that entails. Thanks for your updates– I’m considering trying it out!!!

      • I really hope you do 🙂 I am NOT a cardio junkie, so am kind of fearing the phase when cardio starts… haha

  1. Pingback: Can I change my perspective on tea? | kaliesthoughts

A penny for your thoughts...

