Meatless Monday: Product Reviews!

Happy Monday everyone! Smile Another new beginning! Let’s all strive to make this week wonderful!

Last night I was able to do quite a bit of meal prepping for this week and complete a few things that needed to be done for some classes and student council Smile I feel ready for this new week and plan on getting into my studying routine!

Today’s Meatless Monday post is different than the one’s in the past, but I am really excited to share new protein packed meatless products with all of you! Smile 

So what better day than Meatless Monday!? Open-mouthed smile

One of the products is a totally new-to-me product which is surprising seeing as how I am a quinoa fanatic and have been for a few years now…

GOGO Quinoa has a great product that I tried out this morning called Organic Quinoa Flakes Smile

sproutedrisotto 007

I have never tried quinoa flakes before, despite their prevalence within the blog world, but this morning I was very eager to try my new purchase! Smile

Since quinoa flakes are new to me, I was unsure as to how to cook them, so I read the cooking instructions on the box which were not too helpful to say the least!

sproutedrisotto 006

How much liquid?

It would have been nice if they provided me with this important tid bit of information, but I made a guesstimate and my quinoa flakes turned out quite lovely Open-mouthed smile 

quinoaflakes 004

Quinoa Flake Porridge

40 g quinoa flakes, dry

1 cup almond milk, boiled

I poured the 1 c of milk into my bowl of quinoa flakes once it had came to a boil. Then I stirred the quinoa flakes a few times and…

Voila!

Perfection Smile

I added in fresh raspberries and walnuts, too Smile

quinoaflakes 007

I really enjoyed these quinoa flakes Smile I loved the texture – very light and fluffy and I was really happy that they tasted like quinoa! It sounds funny, but I didn’t know if the quinoa flakes would have the same nutty quinoa taste that the quinoa seed has! It definitely did and I loved it Smile I enjoyed quinoa flakes in the form of a porridge, but I am already thinking of other ways to use them! Smile Next time, I plan on making a quinoa bake Smile I also want to make some type of dessert, too! The box provides a date square recipe that looks quite intriguing and I have a container of dates, so… Winking smile

The other product that I want to share with you is one of my favourites! Smile

sproutedrisotto 008

I found this sprouted brown rice, lentil, and flax mix at a local health food store

sproutedrisotto 009

I love the combination. The sprouted brown rice is so sweet, the lentils become soft, and the flax adds a lovely nutty flavour that I can’t get enough of

sproutedrisotto 010

My kitchen smells absolutely wonderful when I have this cooking Smile 

I enjoyed this for my dinner along with chicken and broccoli Smile

sproutedrisotto 012

A perfect combo of lean protein, complex carbs, and healthy fats Smile 

You can easily make this combo on your own by mixing the ingredients on your own Smile I will definitely be doing that after I finish the package of the pre-mixed stuff! Smile

sproutedrisotto 014

Did you celebrate meatless Monday?
What did you have for dinner tonight?
What are your plans for the rest of the day?
I will be doing more studying! Finals are approaching! My first exam is exactly one week away!

Have a good night friends!

Meg
xoxoxoxo

About Meg (A Dash of Meg)

Hello, my name is Meg. I am a 20-year-old passionate Foods & Nutrition student on my way to becoming a Registered Dietitian who loves food, cooking, fitness, seafood, and a nice cup of tea.

Posted on December 5, 2011, in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink. 35 Comments.

  1. That rice blend looks AMAZING! HOLY COW I want some right now! Look at your perfectly proportioned meal!! Amazing 🙂 My Monday has been Meatless thus far but I’m thinking of having fish for dinner…does that count?! I don’t even know anymore! Happy studying!

  2. those look so good…..must try tese and see if these are something I can have

  3. Those quinoa flakes would be great for a big nighttime snack too with nuts, fruit and yogurt.

    I noticed that risotto mix before but can’t afford it. Looks good though.

    Meg, how much is 40 grams? Like 1/2 cup? Less than 1/2 cup?

    Do you like your porridge morning bowls creamy and liquidy or thick.

    I really really admire the way you eat SO much.
    I’m such a failure though. At night I start with fruit and yogurt and nuts, then I go to chocolate and some cookies too, etc…
    My snacks aren’t the greatest.
    And lunches are usually a mish-mash of snacky stuff, which doesn’t feel “complete”.

    I really admire all you people doing the Live Fit Trainer. I would LOVE to , but I have no gym membership, way too costly for me with this economy and my current situation.

    But I still admire you guys that do it. I’d still like to find a way to somehow follow Jamie Eason’s type of diet plan but not be so low-cal…that’s my only concern. I’d like to at least hit 2000 – 2500 (which I think all you young active girls should defnitely be doing)…but I cant figure out how to hit those numbers.

    Really wish I could follow that fitness plan though (or some kind of fitness plan). It would make me feel so accomplished. I’m really not sure how to assemble any kind of plan with no gym.

  4. By the way, I usually end up eating some kind of meat on monday…but I do try to go ONE day of the week with vegetarian options only (so that’s the same as Meatless Monday, but just on a different day.

  5. I love that your meatless Monday post has chicken 🙂

  6. StoriesAndSweetPotatoes

    Good to know about the quinoa flakes. I must have picked them up like ten times.

  7. Dude those quinoa flakes look awesome, I’ve never seen them in stores here! My dinner tonight was grilled chicken, broccoli, carrots, nutritional yeast and a sweet tater, it was the bomb 😀
    Have a great evening girl!

  8. I did my first ever meatless Monday today. So good! I made black bean burgers!!

  9. Wow Quinoa flakes?? Yummy!! Quinoa is my second favorite grain and I always find ways to incorporate it in my weekly meal plans!

    I love the idea of having a “meatless monday.” You always have such great vegetarian options! 🙂

  10. Hmmm quinoa flakes sounds intriguing. I’m not sure I’ve had quinoa enough to know what the flavor of it is…but I do know I liked it!

  11. Ha – you had chicken on meatless Monday? Your quinoa looks awesome!

  12. I’ve YET to try quinoa. Do you prefer it sweet or savoury? Best recipe? It’s been on my list of foods to try for a while now…along with kasha/toasted buckwheat etc.

  13. I want to try quinoa flakes! And that risotto look delicious! 🙂

  14. That risotto mix stuff sounds so good! 🙂 I had black bean chili for dinner tonight! It was just the Amy’s brand from a can. Super quick after a long day at work!

  15. That sounds great Meg. I wouldn’t be surprised if you need well over 2000 (but its none of my business!). I just wish I knew how…if you ever do “wiaw” posts it would be helpful maybe.

    Anyway, is 40 g a 1/2 cup? (I think your quinoa method would work with my instant oatmeal too probably). I really need to mix up my breakfasts but I have zero appetite in the mornings. Boo! I wonder of options for protein with that breakfast (not sure how people manage to cook their whey isolate protein with oats without it clumping!).

    P.s…your close relationship with your parents blows me away…I’ve had a rocky relationship with my parents. You inspire me to try every day to try a bit harder maybe.It can be hard though when I have “bad” memories.

  16. I’ve been wanting to try quinoa flakes! They look so good and I absolutely love quinoa. Definitely will be trying them soon now.

  17. Both of these things look awesome!! I had salmon, so I guess it wasn’t meatless, but no chicken or beef. I loveeee quinoa!!

  18. Every time I see those quinoa flakes, I consider buying them, but I never do! Next time I’ll definitely have to pick them up. 😀 Also where did you find that risotto mix? I swear I’ve been to every health food store in London, but I’ve never seen that anywhere!

  19. survivingcandyland

    Product reviews are so fun. I want some of that quinoa and that dish you made with it pretty please. I am going to have to do some sweet product reviews just to be on your amazing level.

  20. perfectly balanced meals! last night i had spaghetti squash, brussels sprouts, and eggs 🙂

  21. I can’t believe that I’ve never tried quinoa flakes! Ahhh. That needs to change. I never felt like they would have the “quinoa-flavor” either but, now that I know they do, they sound even more amazing!
    All of your meals are so perfectly portioned and plated. I love it. 🙂

  22. The sprouted risotto mix looks scrumptious! I have a HUGE bag of quinoa that I have yet to use up- I bought it last fall, hardly used it throughout college, brought it back when I moved home, and moved again with me to my new apartment with my Dear… Thankfully it’s not perishable ;P

A penny for your thoughts...

