Preppin’ For A Girls Night

Happy Friday Friends Open-mouthed smile Who else needed it to be Friday? Even though I am anticipating the arrival of my Mom tomorrow, I was still so happy that Friday was here when I woke up today! It just felt so good knowing that another week of classes is complete and I have the weekend for some much needed down time Smile 

Today was a pretty awesome day Smile I am liking my new workout routines and I managed to fit today’s workout in before class which gave me so much energy for the rest of my day Smile 

I woke up before my alarm went off – it was set for 6:00 am, but I have the most amazing internal clock and somehow I always wake up approximately 5 minutes before my alarm sounds.

So, I was up and in the kitchen within minutes Smile I love waking up and starting my day with a cool glass of water and my breakfast right away Smile Today’s breakfast consisted of oats cooked in almond milk and topped with blackberries and a side of scrambled eggs spiced up with chili flakes Smile 
No picture today of my breakfast, which is really odd, but I wanted to make sure I got to the gym on time! Smile Which I did and I cranked out this chest and triceps workout:

Wide Push Ups (on toes) 3 x 15

Flat Bench Flyes 1 x 30, 1 x 20, 1 x 15

Flat Dumbbell Press 1 x 20, 2 x 15, 1 x 12

Incline Dumbbell Press 1 x 20, 2 x 15, 1 x 12

Cable Triceps Pushdowns 4 x 12

Bench Dips 4 x 12

Skull Crushers 4 x 12

Overhead Dumbbell Extensions 4 x 12

Hanging Leg Raises 3 x 15

I actually broke a sweat during this workout and I felt like I had noodle arms while walking out of the gym Smile It was pretty comical trying to twist the top off of my Magic Bullet cup when I had my post workout shake… Let’s just say it wasn’t an easy task Winking smile 

I had a morning lecture which started at 8:30 and I was able to get to the gym just slightly before 7:00 am and be at school by 8:15 Smile It worked out perfectly Smile 

A few other things have been working out perfect for me other than my workouts…

I have been coming up with some pretty fab recipes/concoctions lately, so I have a soup to share with all of you using those terrific Shirataki noodles Open-mouthed smile However, this soup can work with any type of noodle you choose Open-mouthed smile

I have used Shirataki noodles a few times now, but always in a stir fry, so making a soup was a fun experiment Smile 

yumfood 007

I had edamame beans, bean sprouts, broccoli, and shrimp, so I went with a Chinese-type of soup Smile

yumfood 008

Make Dad Jealous Soup

2 cups organic vegetable broth

1 package Shirataki noodles

1 cup broccoli florets, steamed

1 cup edamame beans, shelled

1/2 cup bean sprouts, heaping

6 oz. shrimp, cooked and peeled

1 tsp sesame oil

Sriracha sauce

I combined all of the ingredients together and heated to let the flavours mingle Smile I spiced mine up with my favourite hot sauce, Sriracha (I show it off in my vlog!), but you can use which ever hot sauce you want to! Smile More vegetables could definitely be added to this soup, but I just went with what I had Winking smile 

I gave this recipe a really appropriate name because I know once my Dad reads my blog he’ll be licking his lips and wishing that he was coming here tomorrow, too! Don’t worry Dad! I wish you were coming for a second visit, too!

I made sure to take pretty pictures of this soup before putting it in the Tupperware I packed it in for school Winking smile

yumfood 013

Other than perfect days and perfect recipes…
I am currently planning a perfect evening for tomorrow Open-mouthed smile 

I have slaved over homework nearly all day today, so when my Mom comes tomorrow I plan on taking a teeny break from my studies for some fun girl stuff Winking smile 

Hitting up the sales at the mall!
The mall that I shop at the most here in London will still be having sales on tomorrow and who better to shop with than your best friend who is also my Mom? Smile

Tea Tasting
I am pretty impressed with David’s new holiday tea’s Smile So far I have tried the Hot Toboggan flavour and loved it Open-mouthed smile It is a green tea with almond slices, apple chunks, and cinnamon. This tea is also perfect Smile

Movie Watching
As much as I wanted to be first in line for Breaking Dawn, I wanted to enjoy this with my best friend, too Smile So, tomorrow night my Mom and I will be going to see Breaking Dawn, finally Open-mouthed smile 

Cooking
I am planning on having a nice dinner at my place before my Mom and I go to the movie tomorrow night, so be ready for some pictures of our meal together Open-mouthed smile There may be a new recipe that comes along Winking smile

There is obviously a ton of more things for my Mom and I to do, but this is what I have planned for tomorrow evening Smile I think it is a good plan so far! Anytime spent with my Mom is perfect Smile She arrives in London around noon tomorrow, so I will go to the gym in the morning like usual, get my place all ready for her arrival, and then go pick her up Open-mouthed smile I am so excited! (If you didn’t already know that!)

Tomorrow is my shoulder training day, along with abs and sprints Smile I am not a cardio fan, actually I hate it, but I enjoy doing HIIT on the treadmill about twice per week Smile However, if I don’t do HIIT on the treadmill, I will do some form of tabata intervals; usually jump rope with high knees.

Well, I am going to continue watching Shrek the Third now and make myself another cup of tea Smile

Goodnight friends! See you all tomorrow!

Do you plan a list of things to do when you have guests?
Do you have a good relationship with your Mom?
Have you seen Breaking Dawn yet?
What are your plans for the weekend?

Appreciate!

I am so thankful for how strong my mind has been lately. It’s incredible how far I have came over the past years. ED thoughts are so distant and I am strong and in control of my life. Smile

About Meg (A Dash of Meg)

Hello, my name is Meg. I am a 20-year-old passionate Foods & Nutrition student on my way to becoming a Registered Dietitian who loves food, cooking, fitness, seafood, and a nice cup of tea.

Posted on November 25, 2011, in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink. 26 Comments.

  1. Sounds like yall are gonna have a blast 🙂 Love the soup too mmm
    Enjoy your weekend girl!

  2. I saw Breaking Dawn last night…it was good but some parts a little cheesy! You’ll enjoy it I’m sure.

  3. Aweeee I love mommy-daughter days! But gah I wish I could eat shrimp! My mom and I are allergic, it runs in the family. I hate it because shrimp is so healthy and looks so freakin’ good 😦

  4. Have fun shopping with your mom!

  5. Do you do abs every day?! Your workout looks like fun – great choices in exercises!

    Have fun with your mom tomorrow 🙂

  6. Sounds like you’re going to have a great weekend! Enjoy the time you spend with you mom… it must be hard for both of you to be separated!!
    My plans for the weekend are 100x less fun than yours… homework 😦
    I am going shopping, but it’s only to purchase books for my assignment… SO NOT FUN!
    take care girlie!

  7. Great job on the gym workout! I prefer morning workouts ’cause they set me up for the rest of the day – but I like to do mine like 10 minutes after waking up, even before breakfast. 😀

    Shirataki noodles are so versatile – your recipe looks heavenly. 🙂

  8. Soup looks amazing! Another yummy recipe to add to my list for when I move home for lunches at the office 🙂

    I still haven’t got to go to David’s Tea in Regina yet!! So jealous you have tried some of the Winter collection.

    Hope you have an amazing weekend with your mom ❤

  9. I am always ready to eat breakfast right away when I wake up too! I hope you have so much fun with your mom.

    I have a great relationship with my whole family, we always love doing stuff together–for example yesterday we all trekked out to a thrift store (which actually ended up being kind of horrifying/in the ghetto) but we all had a good laugh about it afterwards 🙂

    Haven’t seen Breaking Dawn, but NEED TO.

  10. I love when my mam visits me when I’m at Uni. I always try to make a list of things to do when she visits too. 🙂
    No plans to go see Breaking Dawn because I don’t like the Twilight movies… But I probably will end up going to see it anyways,
    It’s great to hear that you are doing great ED-wise. 🙂

  11. Oh!! My girl you do make me jealous 😉 it looks great!!! You can make it for me when youie get home.
    Love and miss you sooooo! Much!
    Love your daddy. ;-))

  12. that soup looks awesome! I’ve been craving shrimp lately, might actually be having it tonight! 😀 and YAY for mommy-daughter dates, those are my absolute favorite! I also love to shop, cook, and see movies with my mom 🙂 Hope you two have fun! Oh, and LOVE your “appreciate” for the day – you go girl 😀

  1. Pingback: Friday Favourites: Christmas Presents « A Dash of Meg

A penny for your thoughts...

