All You Need Is Spice

Hey cheese lovers Open-mouthed smile I have to say it was a ton of fun reading over everyone’s comments after last night’s post and learning what type of cheese is your favourite Open-mouthed smile There was a huge variety of cheeses named! It was awesome Smile I would say you all have amazing taste buds Winking smile Next time I make the Caprese Spaghetti Squash, I will definitely be using bocconcini and update you all on it’s deliciousness! Smile However, if any of you happen to make it before I do please let me know! Smile

Well, I hope everyone had a wonderful Tuesday Smile Mine seemed to fly by; however, thinking back to this morning it feels like days ago… How does that work?

I had a wonderful sleep last night Smile My body was aching last night. I had the sniffles and was chilled, so I took that as a sign to go to bed early Smile So, I went to bed even earlier than usual! Talk about being a major Granny! I am totally not your typical university student… Aren’t we suppose to stay up until the wee hours of the morning working on homework?

Well, that’s not how I roll.

I listen to my body Smile When I need rest, I give my body rest Smile I was in bed by 9:45! But, fell asleep shortly after 10:00. I am so happy I went to bed early because I feel much better today Smile All I needed was a good night’s sleep I guess!

But, I think my spicy supper helped clear up my sinuses as well Winking smile

Last year in one of my Foods and Nutrition courses we learnt that drinking orange juice or taking vitamin C tablets while enduring a cold really doesn’t do too much. The vitamin C found in orange juice and the tablets do not “cure” your cold nor does it make you return back to good health any sooner. Instead, all vitamin C really does is temporarily relieve symptoms; such as a sore throat.

However, when it comes to spicy foods, I am all over them Winking smile They also do not “cure” a cold, but boy do they clear out your sinuses!

So, for dinner last night I made a side dish that I have been craving for quite some time now Smile It’s a wonderful blend of vegetables and the flavours accompany each other so well Smile Not to mention the colours are beautiful together, too!

alluneedinspice 005

Roasted Curried Cauliflower, Green Beans, and Red Onion

Makes 4 – 6 servings

1 head cauliflower, separated into florets

1/2 lb. green beans, cleaned and trimmed

1 red onion, thickly sliced

2 TBSP olive oil

curry

Preheat oven to 425 degrees Fahrenheit. Meanwhile, Toss vegetables in oil and arrange on baking sheet.

alluneedinspice 001

Sprinkle with curry. Toss again to distribute curry evenly on vegetables.

alluneedinspice 003

Roast in oven for 15 minutes or until vegetables reach desired tenderness.

I like my spice, so I added a lot of curry Winking smile But, it’s totally up to you as to how much to add, so I didn’t put in a measurement for the curry Smile This dish is also really tasty with a little dollop of plain (use Greek!) yogurt on the side or on top Smile

I actually had this two nights in a row Open-mouthed smile It’s one of my favourite ways to enjoy cauliflower Open-mouthed smile And I think red onions are delicious when roasted Smile

Throughout the week you will be getting even more recipes, but I also want to start sharing some workouts, too Smile I have been doing the same routine for approximately 6 weeks now which means that it’s time to mix things up a little! Winking smile So, be expecting some new workouts, too Open-mouthed smile

Food and fitness. Could it get any better? Winking smile

Do you like spicy foods?
Do you chew on vitamin C capsules when you have a sore throat?
Broccoli or cauliflower?
How often do you change up your workouts?

Appreciate!

In my program there is an abundance of groups projects. Let’s just say it gets quite stressful; however, when I met up with two of my three groups today the meetings turned out to be very productive and successful Smile I have some really good friends and we are working together well as a group which is lucky because sometimes it is hard to work on projects with friends!

I’ll be seeing you tomorrow with a new recipe to get you all in the Christmas spirit (if you aren’t already there!) Open-mouthed smile

Good night!

Meg
xoxoxoxoxo

About Meg (A Dash of Meg)

Hello, my name is Meg. I am a 20-year-old passionate Foods & Nutrition student on my way to becoming a Registered Dietitian who loves food, cooking, fitness, seafood, and a nice cup of tea.

Posted on November 22, 2011, in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink. 32 Comments.

  1. Can you suggest a plan for someone without a gym? Maybe a workout plan to follow week to week (3-4 times per week). I want to develop strength but spending money is not an option. Help!

    That side dish would be good with chicken and quinoa and nut butter (big eater here).

  2. I actually love roasted cauliflower! Must make this!

  3. Mmmm. I love roasted cauliflower! And I really don’t think I could choose a favorite cheese: brie, cheddar, muenster, feta, all so good!!

  4. curry roasted vegetables are my absolute fav! i love curry powder on roasted sweet potatoes. SO GOOD

  5. I love roasted veggies 😛 I need to make this

  6. When I have a sore throat all I want is tea and honey! Oh and ice cream 😉

    I looove spicy food. I grew up eating a lot of spicy curries and stir fries. When I was about 16 two of my friends came over for dinner and almost died because the soup was so spicy. It shows how used to it I am because I didn’t even know my mum put spices in it!

  7. Roasted cauliflower and red onions are da bomb!!! Sounds delicious 🙂

  8. I love indian spice and I LOVE baked Cauliflower, so this is my dinner of choice, hello gorgeous veg!! LOVE IT!!!

    I hope you’re feeling better??

    xxoo

  9. Spicy food is the best! I used to be quite the wimp about it but I am all about it now! I love roasted cauliflower! 🙂 I don’t ever really use Vitamin C drops when I am sick but I do remember eating these nasty little chalky orange things when we were kids. I seriously hate everything that is artificially orange flavored. lol.

  10. I’m all about the spicy foods too! Indian food is the best. I haven’t had it in ages, but I could use some of that fire to clear up my sinuses. I have a head of cauliflower in my fridge right now and I definitely will have to try it with curry!

  11. mmmm that looks AWESOME! I’m not usually a fan of spicy foods – like of the chilli pepper variety – but I definitely love me some curry. and you’re right, it totally clears the sinuses! 🙂 Glad you got a good night’s sleep and are feeling better! I’m super excited for the Christmas recipe, after the Macy’s Parade tomorrow I can officially get into the spirit! 😀

  12. I’m a broccoli girl all the way 😀 I listen to my body when it needs sleep too. I’m more of a morning person. I can’t think too late at night! I am the biggest wimp when it comes to spicy foods. I need everything as mild as possible 🙂 Happy Wed girl!

  13. I’m such a huge wimp when it comes to spicy food!! My daddy used to grow his own peppers and he made a homemade mix he called “she’s hot to go” seriously he would CRY everytime he used the stuff and I’m like daddy don’t eat it if it makes you cry! Lol but hed always say it was too good to skip 🙂

  14. I am ALL about spicy food – the spicier the better!! I just love eating something so spicy (like wasabi) and it automatically clears your sinuses..who needs cold medicine! haha

    I love that you are listening to your body when it says you need sleep..I did not do this when I was college so I used to get sick a lot. Your immune system def depends on sleep so I am glad you are getting enough rest 🙂

  15. Looks good girl! I love curry flavours, but last time I made curry I broke out in a rash and I have no idea what caused it! So I’m scared to use curry spice at the moment. 😛

  1. Pingback: ‘Tis The Season « A Dash of Meg

A penny for your thoughts...

