Meatless Monday No. 5 & Blog Updates!

Happy Meatless Monday my precious foodie friends Open-mouthed smile Is anyone celebrating along with me!? I can’t believe it’s already my fifth Meatless Monday! Smile I really am loving my new tradition. It’s something I look forward to weekly Smile

I think today’s recipe is pretty cool Smile

It was definitely tasty, too! Winking smile I guarantee that one!

gozenwithfoodies 007

Caprese Spaghetti Squash

1 cup spaghetti squash, cooked

1 handful grape tomatoes, halved

1/4 cup fresh basil leaves

2 oz. bocconcini cheese* (approximately)

olive oil

Toss heated spaghetti squash with olive oil. Roast/warm tomatoes in oven or stove top until they begin to wilt. Toss all ingredients together and enjoy!

*Ok, so a story comes along with this recipe…

Unfortunately I did not have bocconcini cheese Sad smile How sad, I know. It really was quite tragic. Caprese salad requires bocconcini or mozzarella.
The reason I was unable to get a hold of bocconcini cheese for this amazing Meatless Monday meal is because:

– I thought of this creative meal last minute (literally, as I was driving home)

– I had a spur of the moment decision to stop at the nearest grocery store  to get the following ingredients to make this creation possible:
1. Bocconcini cheese
2. Fresh basil

– The closest grocery store was not Remark (I know they would have had because they are the best), so I had to stop at another grocery store (the one I was driving past at the time of my spur of the moment decision)

– The bocconcini cheese was labelled:

“Best Before: NOV 15”

Yuck! My beloved Remark would never sell a product past due Winking smile haha! (I am a little obsessed with my new favourite grocery store!)

So there you have it friends, my wonderful Caprese Spaghetti Squash had to go without this wonderful cheese. On the bright side, I was able to get a hold of living basil.

christmas oats 006

You can’t get much more fresh than this!

 

I guess this makes up for the mouldy cheese?

I plated this meal really pretty for all of you Winking smile but don’t worry about doing so because, trust me, after the picture was taken, I tossed in more tomatoes, cheese, and basil, made it looks like a mess, and it tasted amazing Winking smile Sometimes you just gotta make a mess Open-mouthed smile

I will be making this dish again, but with bocconcini for sure Open-mouthed smile The way it is suppose to be Winking smile To get that Caprese salad effect Winking smile

Another piece of exciting news for you all is that I have been working on my November goals (and procrastinating from doing homework) and updated the Cuddles page Open-mouthed smile So, if you adore cute little pups head on over there and check out my baby Winking smile Gosh I miss her so much…

Another cute thing that involves adorable animals is this video!

The news show that I watch every morning before class, Canada AM, played this today Open-mouthed smile I thought it was way too cute not to share with all of you! Smile

Do you watch TV in the morning as you get ready for the day? If so, what?
What is your favourite type of cheese?
Do you follow best before dates exactly or use them as a guideline?

Appreciate!

Today I appreciate the amount of homework I was able to accomplish! I have so much to do and it’s not fun being in that “funky” mood that we all find ourselves in from time to time when we just cannot focus on anything whatsoever. Luckily, today was not one of those days Open-mouthed smile My Mom comes this weekend, so I am really wanting to accomplish a lot and scratch things off of that freakishly long homework list of mine Winking smile

I’ll be sharing more recipes with you all throughout the week! I am excited Smile I have been creative in the kitchen lately Winking smile

Have a great evening!

Love,

Meg
xoxoxoxoxoxo

About Meg (A Dash of Meg)

Hello, my name is Meg. I am a 20-year-old passionate Foods & Nutrition student on my way to becoming a Registered Dietitian who loves food, cooking, fitness, seafood, and a nice cup of tea.

Posted on November 21, 2011, in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink. 31 Comments.

  1. hahaha loved that video. so cute! i need to teach my animals to do that

  2. Thanks for this delicious recipe! I really need to make some spaghetti squash..it always looks so appetizing on people’s blogs (including yours!) lol

  3. Once again, Meatless Monday looks delicious! Definitely adding thist to my must try list!

  4. Aww that video is cute and so is your puppy! I had to leave my cat at home so I know how hard it is to be away from your pets 😦 The only thing I really eat that has a best before date is meat, and I definitely don’t risk going past that date! Don’t want to get sick from chicken! Vegies I usually just judge by looking at them.

  5. Mmmm..I love anything caprese! And nothing beats fresh basil!

  6. We watch Sports Center on Mondays (to catch up on all of the weekend sports) and Fridays (because the guys are absolutely outrageous on Fridays).

    Favorite type of cheese? That is a toughy! I love love LOVE goat cheese anything…I also LOVE feta cheese! Ok who am I kidding? I love all kinds of cheese! I didn’t get to be 300 pounds by NOT loving cheese 😉 And now that I’m no longer 300 pounds, my love affair with cheese is still strong…And when it comes to cheese, the stronger the flavor, the better!

    I do not follow best before dates…If it smells OK and it’s not growing legs, I’m gonna keep on with it!

    PS thanks for the scuffles recipe…I’ve been meaning to respond to your email but I was a lazy bones…

  7. I usually watch Saved by the Bell in the morning. Haha 😉

    Favorite cheese?

    Gruyere hands down.

  8. tee hee that video is so cute!

  9. I watch the Today Show every morning when I’m getting ready. I love the random little news tidbits they have.

    I only really pay attention to the best by date on Greek yogurt. It’s the only dairy product I eat and I know it can go bad pretty quickly.

    Can’t wait for the rest of the recipes!

  10. Mmmm…Yet another delicious sounding meatless recipe! I’m vegan so I don’t have a favorite “real” cheese, but I love Diaya! So delicious. Especially the mozzarella and pepper-jack flavors!
    And that video is adorable, haha. Aww!

  11. No tv for me in the morning- I listen to music while I get ready and read blogs/Facebook/Twitter during breakfast :)!

  12. Jarlsberg cheese, Feta & Goats cheese are my fave 🙂
    I eat things past the use by date providing it doesn’t look or smell nasty!

  13. Anything with roasted tomatoes is good in my books! : ) YUM!

  14. I love spaghetti squash, this recipe looks great! My favourite type of cheese is old cheddar! I generally use the expiry dates as guidelines 🙂

  15. I never, ever watch tv in the morning. I never got in the habit as a kid, so I just never do, lol.

    Goat cheese, for the winnnnnn.

  16. oooh its like spaghetti squash pasta!! I agree with the cheese rules on anything caprese, though. I do love me some fresh mozz, so a lack of bocconcini isn’t a huuuuge downer. I think my favorite cheese of all time is either brie or gouda – they’re both so good in paninis!

  1. Pingback: All You Need Is Spice « A Dash of Meg

A penny for your thoughts...

