Product Review: Can You Say Yam Noodle?

Hello beauties Open-mouthed smile How was everyone’s Sunday? My Sunday was just what the doctor ordered…

Last night I seriously felt like crap. I was contemplating whether I should go to the gym in the morning or not. My nose was stuffy and my head was throbbing, so I went to bed early (luckily, I felt like this after going out with the girls! We had a lovely time)

gozenwithfoodies 003

I was even more in luck when I woke up this morning feeling much better! So, I began my day with a delicious breakfast Smile

gozenwithfoodies 006

I thought I’d treat myself to one of my favourites Smile Then, off to the gym I went! It was leg day today, so I left with noodle legs Winking smile It felt great!
After the gym, I went home, washed up and de-stunk myself for church Smile It was a beautiful service, once again. I am so proud of myself for sticking with my November goals Smile Church makes my typically lonely Sundays so much better! Smile I think church makes everything better, though Smile

The rest of my day wasn’t all that exciting. I could talk about it, but I rather talk more about Remark and a new-to-me product instead Winking smile 

What do you think about that!? Winking smile 
Foodie talk or homework? Hmmm. Tough one…

My new find is Shirataki noodles, but made from YAM instead of tofu!

yamshirataki 002

yamshirataki 001

I have tried the tofu version before, but I thought it would be fun to give these a try since I really enjoyed the tofu versionSmile

I had them for dinner as part of a spicy noodle bowl Smile

I warmed them up in a frying pan with broccoli

nooch 008 

Then I added cubed chicken that I marinated and cooked before hand

nooch 009

I let the flavours mingle, removed from heat, and then added sesame oil

nooch 010

The noodle bowl was fantastic and I thoroughly enjoyed the Shirataki yam noodles Smile

Compared to the tofu version, they are obviously darker, but they were also more dense. When I tried the Shirataki noodles made with tofu I tried the angel hair pasta, so that may be why I thought these were more dense because they are more of a spaghetti-sized noodle, but, personally, I think there was a difference in texture. They didn’t seem as “light” as the Shirataki tofu noodles. I will definitely be buying these again Smile I am super happy because I have one more package left, so I won’t have to go back right away to buy more Winking smile 

The chicken I made also went perfectly with this meal Smile It was definitely the wonderful marinade that I came up with Winking smile It’s all about the marinade people Winking smile

Spicy Orange Chicken Marinade

1 cup orange juice

juice of 1 lemon

1 – 2 Tbsp chili garlic paste (I use this, it’s a favourite!)

1/4 cup soy sauce

2 tsp powdered ginger (fresh ginger would have been amazing, but I didn’t have any)

Mix all ingredients together and marinade that chicken! I let mine marinade over night Smile

Well, I best be on my way Sad smile Homework is calling me…

I am really excited for Meatless Monday tomorrow! I hope all of you are, too! Smile I have a fun recipe to share Smile

When was the last time you went out for a meal with friends?
Have you tried Shirataki noodles before? Were they made with yam or tofu?
Do you usually marinade your chicken or do you prefer it plain?

Appreciate!

I appreciate the beautiful voice that the main singer in church has. Today, it was a different girl singing than usual, but she was amazing. I was amazed when she opened her voice and heard such a strong powerful voice! It was breathtaking! I was in awe Smile

Goodnight lovelies!

Meg
xoxoxoxoxo

About Meg (A Dash of Meg)

Hello, my name is Meg. I am a 20-year-old passionate Foods & Nutrition student on my way to becoming a Registered Dietitian who loves food, cooking, fitness, seafood, and a nice cup of tea.

Posted on November 20, 2011, in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink. 31 Comments.

  1. I think you’re spot on with your comparison of tofu vs yam shirataki — I get horrible gas (TMI???) when I eat the tofu noodles so I stick to the yam version and I agree, it has a “heavier” more pasta-esque texture. Plus the yam noodles don’t have the somewhat questionable aftertaste I experience with the tofu ones! haha!

  2. That’s a tasty sounding marinade! I’ve never tried tofu/yam noodles because I heard they stink and you have to clean the slim off of them. Just sounds gross haha. But it looks good. 🙂

  3. Yam Shirataki noodles?? I’ve never heard of them! I’ll have to look for them in the store!
    Maybe you’ve done it in the past (and I’ve never seen), but could you describe your weekly workout routine? I’m really interested!

    PS LOVE ginger… seriously so much 🙂

  4. Those noodles sound really interesting! If I don’t marinade my chicken I usually season it with salt, pepper, and TJ’s 21 Seasoning Salute! 🙂

  5. WHOA I had no idea yam noodles existed, I’ll have to keep my eyes peeled 🙂 Glad you had fun with friends and glad you’re feelin better girl!

  6. I just heard about these noodles from my cousin but haven’t seen them anywhere yet! I think she said her friend gets them from Metro. Is that where you found them?? I guess they have all of your magical ingredients there (like the smoked tofu!). I should probably be going there instead of Loblaws! Definitely going to hunt for them since they’ve got your stamp of approval 😉

  7. I am totally obsessed with the soy version of these noodles, but I would love to try the yam version! I love using them to make a healthier version of chow mein 🙂

  8. I NEED to try these! The tofu ones upset my stomach the last few times I tried them, but these sound amazing.
    I’m glad you’re feeling better and that you had such a great time last night. 🙂 Girls nights are the best! My sister has been in town visiting all weekend so I’ve been doing lots of fun stuff with her. It’s so nice since I’m used to being alone most of the time!

  9. I’ve never tried those noodles, but yours look awesome 😀 I hope you feel better soon!! I love church on Sunday’s too.

  10. I keep seeing these noodles everywhere, but have yet to try them! Where do you find yours?

  11. My husband used to have Shirataki noodles all the time, but they were made from a plant and didn’t have any calories in? A bodybuilder we know used to eat a packet of them with every meal to fill up! I’m glad you’re feeling better 🙂

  12. yummy where do you get these?

  13. I’ve never heard of these noodles before…I’m not much of a noodle person! I’m going to look for these at the supermarket, I like things that are yam flavored!
    Church does make everything better 🙂 I often leave church feeling like a weight has been lifted off me.

  14. Oooh, were did you find the yam noodles! I like shirataki a lot and would totally try those! Mmm

  15. ohh I’ve had the tofu noodles before (and I think they’re pretty good!) so I’ll have to try these! I like cooking mine with broccoli and teryiaki sauce. YUM!

  16. Mmmm sounds so good!! I typically never marinate my chicken. I season it right before or it goes in the crockpot. I guess that kinda counts as marinating right? It sits in flavors for a few hours while cooking, kinda the same thing 😉

  17. I’ve heard of Shirataki noodles but never had them before! my family’s italian and we eat pasta like its our job so noodles of other nationalities don’t normally find their way to our pantry…but noodles made of YAM? that’s nothing short of epic. I shall be looking for them at Wegman’s on my next trip!!

    I totally agree, church makes everything better. 🙂

  1. Pingback: Preppin’ For A Girls Night « A Dash of Meg

A penny for your thoughts...

