I Have Been Converted

Hey friends Open-mouthed smile How’s everyone’s week going so far!? I kind of feel lost as to what day of the week it is… I think I was so busy with the guys (and missing a few classes here and there) that I lost track of my days!

The guys left me today, so that means I am alone once again. But it also means that I’m not going to dwell on the fact that they are gone, but dwell on all of the positive things and fun we had throughout their stay Open-mouthed smile That is definitely the best way to handle the situation Winking smile

So, I have to be honest with all of you…

When I shared my purchases with you guys yesterday, I didn’t share everything

Will you ever forgive me?

I hope so Winking smile

Recently, I have made some purchases that have made me laugh a little inside…

I have always been a foodie, but since creating my blog…
things have really got turned up a notch Winking smile And I am loving it Smile
I have always been adventurous with trying new foods and learning about them as well, but of course, in the blog world, you are able to “experience” and learn about so many other things while following along with your favourite bloggers which brings me back to my comment about purchasing some things that have made me laugh at myself a little…

converted2 004

I would have had to be living in a hole not to have known about pure pumpkin, but before blogging I had no idea of all of the fun you could have with it! My experience with canned pumpkin previous to blogging ended at my Grandma’s homemade pumpkin pie!

Through my blogging journey I have been more adventurous with pumpkin and now realize all of the wonderful things you can do with this stuff Open-mouthed smile

I definitely jumped on the pumpkin bandwagon this fall and created some sensational recipes Winking smile
If you missed out on my posts here are some of my favourite recipes that I came up with this fall:

Pumpkin Pie Mousse
Pumpkin Chia Pudding
Microwavable Pumpkin Oat Bake
Turkey and Pumpkin Chili

The even funnier thing is that I thought that I was done with pumpkin for the season and would only buy the smaller cans from now on, but I definitely bought this big guy shown above yesterday Winking smile
I have some recipes up my sleeve yet to come!

I hadn’t heard of psyllium seed husks until getting a hold of April’s blog this summer. I haven’t bought psyllium seed husks until yesterday. I am looking forward to having some fun with these Winking smile

converted2 003

Even more of a “blogger move” was when I purchased this…

converted2 001

Nutritional yeast is constantly seen throughout the blog world, but I hadn’t been drawn in to the obsession until yesterday.

I’m not much of a follower… I rather lead Winking smile But I have been quite intrigued of these little flakes lately and think they will make a lovely addition to some of my favourite meals!

Be prepared to see “nooch” on my blog now Winking smile Oh, I am such a food blogger. Seriously, does anyone else use the term nooch but us?

It’s been a long time of avoiding this, but I new it was only a matter of time until I cracked and made the purchase…

converted2 002

Your eyes are not deceiving you…

It’s coconut oil.

I went against my hatred and fear of the saturated fat in coconut oil (or coconut anything) and bought the goods last night. I am quite excited to test it out Smile

Since I am in a Foods & Nutrition programs I am definitely educated well enough on the different types of fats and how they are metabolized in our body, but I still feared the saturated fat in coconut oil despite knowing they are a type of saturated fat derived from a plant source rather than an animal source which makes them so much “healthier” or a better option. The saturated fat found in coconut oil is predominately medium chain fatty acids which are used in our bodies differently within our bodies than long chain fatty acids which are more commonly found in animal source saturated fat. Medium chain fatty acids are more easily digested and absorbed than long chain fatty acids.

However, the consumption of coconut oil is still a very controversial issue; and in my opinion, needs to be studied much further. Coconut oil is not termed “bad” for you and it is also not stated that you should completely avoid it, but I will definitely use it in moderation Smile

The last thing I must share with you all is a new recipe…
This recipe also has to do with being a food blogger…

converted 001

As adventurous and spoiled as my taste buds are… I have only had spaghetti squash once in my life prior to this week!

Last Thursday I purchased a spaghetti squash at the weekly farmer’s market that comes to my university Smile I was very excited to roast the beauty up and make some wonderful creations. And I did just that Winking smile

Today for lunch I had spaghetti squash with homemade tomato sauce and ground turkey Smile It was absolutely amazing and you should jump on the spaghetti squash bandwagon if you haven’t yet Winking smile

Spaghetti Squash with Ground Turkey & Tomato Sauce

1 cup spaghetti squash, roasted

1 tsp olive oil

1 garlic clove, minced

1 handful fresh mushrooms, sliced

1 TBSP tomato paste

1 cup canned diced tomatoes (try to use a brand with low or no sodium added)

1 serving ground turkey, cooked (I had previously cooked ground turkey. I just cook mine in a pan and drain once cooked)

oregano

thyme

parsley

basil

red chili flakes

garlic powder

Since I already had my spaghetti squash and turkey ready to go, all I had to do was make the sauce!

Begin my sautéing the garlic and mushrooms in a pan on low. Add tomato paste and diced tomatoes. Simmer. Add all spices (season to your liking).

Stir the turkey into the sauce and continue to heat.

Spoon over heated spaghetti squash and enjoy Smile You can even sprinkle some nooch on this if you really wanted to Winking smile I wanted to, but didn’t think of it until after I ate my entire meal Sad smile

I’m happy I got to share at least one recipe with you all tonight, but I have some really awful news Sad smile Despite all of the excitement I received about my waffle maker purchase, I am unable to share a waffle recipe with all of you today Sad smile

Breakfast was a huge fail this morning.

Let’s just say cooking spray is totally necessary for getting those guys out of the machine Winking smile The batter was great, but I definitely needed cooking spray! Oops! Next time guys Winking smile I promise Open-mouthed smile

More kitchen adventures to come!

Have a great night!

Love always,

Meg
xoxoxoxoxo

When did you become a blogger?
What was the best thing you discovered once you started blogging?
What is your favourite way to use nooch?
Have you tried coconut oil yet? Were you concerned about the saturated fat in contained?

Appreciate!

I had food science lab this afternoon and I am super thankful for my awesome lab partner Open-mouthed smile I love how she always does the dishes Winking smile She is such a sweetheart. Don’t worry. I dry for her Winking smile I’m not a slacker!

About Meg (A Dash of Meg)

Hello, my name is Meg. I am a 20-year-old passionate Foods & Nutrition student on my way to becoming a Registered Dietitian who loves food, cooking, fitness, seafood, and a nice cup of tea.

Posted on November 15, 2011, in Dinner, Eat, Lunch, Recipes, Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink. 19 Comments.

  1. I am not a blogger but I have wanted to start one for the longest time!
    I love that i discovered pumpkin through blogs! lol… and all the wonderful oatmeal concoctions you can make.
    I just bought some nutritional yeast this weekend… I have bought it before and made some ‘cheese’ sauces with it… just put it on kale chips the other day and over some roasted veggies tonight.
    I wrote an article in the summer about coconut oil and discovered that it is a different type of saturated fat so its not as bad for us, so im not afraid of it, I just havent gotten around to buying it yet lol.. I want to though, cant wait to see what you make with it 🙂

  2. Nooch is the bomb, you’re gonna LOVE it!! I like sprinkling it on steamed broccoli–it kinda melts on it like a cheese.
    I’ve always wanted to try psyllium husks, can’t wait to see what you whip up 😉 and yay for pumpkin!!
    Have a great night!

  3. I’ve never tried Coconut Oil before! I really want to 🙂

  4. I started blogging in June! I have discovered so many incredible things I don’t even know where to start. Sunwarrior, peanut butter in oatmeal, killer workouts, I don’t even know what else! lol I just love everything about it!! I love adding nooch into dishes that I want to have kind of a cheesy flavor without adding cheese!

  5. good luck with the nutritional yeast. i’m still too scared to buy it. i do love spaghetti squash and pumpkin though 🙂 cooking up some pumpkin bars right now!

  6. I became a blogger in June of this year! There are so many great things that I’ve discovered through it but one thing for sure is that it’s helped to get me away from eating frozen dinners! I haven’t tried coconut oil yet but I want to!

  7. I started blogging in June, I love it! My blog isn’t exactly a foodie blog haha but I do appreciate the recipes on other people’s blogs!

    I loooove coconut oil. I have it three times a day. I’m the opposite to you – when I have a different kind of oil I feel bad because I don’t think it’s as good as coconut. I’m so jealous of your spaghetti squash – we don’t get it in Australia and I’m convinced it would cure all my pasta cravings 😦

  8. i love coconut oil!! i am convinced it does wonders for your hair and skin

  9. I just wrote about something similar! It is so crazy/awesome how much new stuff I have tried because of reading blogs!

  10. I still need to try nooch! It’s pretty expensive though so I’d like to try a little first before I invest in a lot!

    Honestly, I’m not the hugest fan of coconut in general, but the saturated fat does scare me a lot. Same with dark chocolate–I love the flavor but the fat is scary. I know they’re both plant-based fats but I’m still unsure. I’m working on my fear of chocolate though!

  11. I can TOTALLY relate! Ever since I’ve started my blog, I’ve started buying the craziest food and I love it! I think blogging has definitely made me way more open minded!

    I LOVE nutritional yeast. At first when I just tried it out of the jar I was like “ew” but when I put it in salads, it’s DELICIOUS! I am hooked!! lol

  12. I became a food blogger 3 months ago with the intention of just being a healthy living blogger but discovered my passion was even deeper for cooking than I thought. I HAVE to try that turkey spaghetti squash, it looks divine! 🙂

  13. spaghetti squash pasta!! that’s what I had for dinner tonight!! I’m not normally a fan of spaghetti sqash, but this dish is awesome. And “nooch”…hahah, I’ve had nutritional yeast for years but never started calling it that until I started a blog! And you bet I never bought things like stevia, cacao nibs, peanut flour etc until I joined the blog community – its the BEST!

  14. I started blogging this fall – I love it! Does nooch ever make your stomach feel weird? I’m not sure if it’s the nooch, but…

  1. Pingback: WIRW « A Dash of Meg

A penny for your thoughts...

