New Additions to the Suite & Diet

Hey lovelies Open-mouthed smile Do you seriously know how much I appreciate each and everyone of you?

Well, the blogging life is more wonderful than anything I have ever imagined and I owe it all to you guys Smile Thanks for reading my blog. It is really sweet of you to leave all of those precious comments wishing me a great weekend with my Dad and Uncle Smile Thank you!

Last night was lots of fun. Like I said, I was spoiled. I have had pictures lying on my floor since I moved in July and they are finally on my walls Open-mouthed smile It’s even “homier” in here than before Open-mouthed smile 

The picture hung above my comfy couch reminds me of home (in Saskatchewan) Smile This is what part of my backyard looks like which is why I bought the picture.

daddaytwo 019

There is a little forest of trees in my backyard and my Mom and I will often walk through the trees to let our minds wander. We feel at peace when taking a walk through our own little forest Smile

Another piece of art was hung behind my table. It adds a nice punch of colour and class to my dining area Winking smile 

daddaytwo 018

A new shower head was also installed for me Winking smile The guys didn’t like how the other one sprayed so they bought me this big thing. I am pretty sure I will appreciate this new addition as well Winking smile

daddaytwo 013

I can’t wait for my shower after a sweaty gym session tomorrow Winking smile It’ll be a good one. I bet it will feel as though I am outside in the rain rather than under a little old faucet Open-mouthed smile 

I also received a present brought all the way from home Open-mouthed smile 

daddaytwo 015

Mom and Dad found me a little herb garden Open-mouthed smile Now I can grow my own little herbies in my kitchen Open-mouthed smile 

It comes with three pots and three different packages containing different types of seeds.

daddaytwo 016

The seeds that came with my pots are basil, oregano, and cilantro which is fantastic because those are three types of herbs that I often use Open-mouthed smile Basil and oregano are definitely essentials and I love to throw cilantro in black bean salads or salsa’s Winking smile I am sure I will make some new creations as well Smile I always like experimenting with herbs! I can’t wait to get my garden started!

Besides for being exceptionally spoiled, the rest of my day included celebrating and remembering those who fought for us by attending the Remembrance Day ceremony which takes place downtown at the cenotaph

daddaytwo 005 

London puts on a beautiful ceremony. This is my second time attending here in London as I have lived here for two years. It is so important to me to attend Remembrance Day ceremonies

daddaytwo 010

It’s even more special that I got to go to the ceremony with my Dad as his Dad fought in the war Smile I said many prayers for my grandpa today, along with all of the others who fought for us.

In other news, I have been doing a pretty awesome job with crossing off goals and challenges from my several lists of November goals Winking smile

The most recent one crossed off the list is trying a new to me ingredient Open-mouthed smile I know, how exciting!

What’s the new ingredient you ask?

Millet! Open-mouthed smile 

I have been wanting to try millet for a while (and have had it in my cupboard since the beginning of summer!), so this week I tested it out for breakfast Open-mouthed smile 
I thought I’d give those trusty oats a break Winking smile

daddycomes 010

I instantly fell in love.

Funnily, millet is typically the main ingredient in bird food! But it’s amazing and definitely not just for the birdies Winking smile
Some facts on millet:
– Protein content is similar to that of wheat
– A good source of manganese, phosphorus, and magnesium
– Gluten free
– Rich in B vitamins (especially niacin)
– A commonly used flour for flatbreads
– Traditionally used for porridge in Russia, Germany, and China
– 1 cup raw millet yields 3 cups cooked

I gained some of my knowledge on millet from here, here, and here.

The first time I had millet I cooked it for 15 minutes with a 3:1 ratio of water to millet. When the millet was cooked (or almost cooked) I added 1/2 cup almond milk (because I am obsessed and wanted a creamier porridge) and cooked for another 5 minutes uncovered (the first 15 minutes I cooked it covered).

I served my millet with flax meal and some raspberries Smile 

daddycomes 008

Most of the raspberries were consumed as a side Winking smile The millet really didn’t need any additional toppings to make it delicious Smile 

Since it was love at first spoonful…

I had it again the very next morning Winking smile But, don’t worry, I changed up the preparation Winking smile (kind of…)

I cooked it the exact same way, but stirred in walnut butter after it was cooked Open-mouthed smile

daddycomes 014

Oh so creamy and comforting Smile

So there you have it! Millet is a new breakfast staple of mine and I will be enjoying it much more regularly Open-mouthed smile I think you all should give it a shot Winking smile 

My next challenge? Making millet for another type of meal besides breakfast Open-mouthed smile I have my eye on some recipes and some ideas popping into my head already Winking smile I will be sharing them once I test them out Open-mouthed smile

Well, I’m off for the night, but we will chat tomorrow (obviously) Smile

Tonight for dinner I am barbequing this lovely number Winking smile 

marlin 001

A fresh marlin steak! I am quite looking forward to that! Open-mouthed smile Fish = love in my life Winking smile

After dinner Dad, Uncle, and I will be going to the London Knights hockey game Open-mouthed smile It’s a sold out game, so it should be really exciting Open-mouthed smile They are having a really good season, so the game should be intense Smile

See you all tomorrow!

Once again,

I love youuuuuuuuuuu Open-mouthed smile

xoxoxoxo

Meg

Have you tried a new ingredient this week?
Have you ever tried millet?
Have you ever tried marlin?
Do you like hockey?
Did you go to a Remembrance Day ceremony today?

Appreciate!

The soldiers who fought for us and gave us freedom Smile

About Meg (A Dash of Meg)

Hello, my name is Meg. I am a 20-year-old passionate Foods & Nutrition student on my way to becoming a Registered Dietitian who loves food, cooking, fitness, seafood, and a nice cup of tea.

Posted on November 11, 2011, in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink. 22 Comments.

  1. I love millet 🙂 very similar to couscous!
    I am hockey fan for sure!! Although I like most sports anyway, but I just think hockey is seriously SO tough. I mean half of them dont even have teeth! lol

  2. What a gorgeous hunk of fish! Yum!

    Oh, by the way, I gave you the Liebster blog award 🙂 Check out my most recent blog post!

  3. Mmm the Millet with walnut butter sounds SO good! I need both in my life now haha 🙂
    The new additions to your place are awesome! Love that painting!
    Girl you know I adore fish, I’m so jealous of that marlin mmm I haven’t had it in so long!
    Have a great weekend!

  4. Oh my gosh- I want that herb garden! So cute. And I just recently tried millet for the first time too. It’s amazing! I don’t know why I waited so long.
    My ex-boyfriend actually played hockey, so I got to know the sport VERY well. It’s definitely one of the most exciting sports to watch, in my opinion. Hockey players are ruthless!

  5. I love the herb garden!!! I have never tried millet, but if you say it’s good then it’s definitely on my list!! Hope you had fun tonight!! xoxox

  6. Omg I want to come over and take a shower- that new head looks delightful….resembles the showers in hotels! I really enjoy millet but don’t eat it enough! Try it in risotto recipes- tastes yum! Millet flour is actually a staple in Mumbai and is used as an alternative to wheat flour.

  7. I’m dying to get a herb garden! We waste so much money on buying fresh herbs – it would be nice to have my own at home 🙂

  8. Love me some millet. It actually makes a lovely substitute in any risotto recipe, and I made some yummy lentil millet burgers once. Millet is my friend. 🙂

  9. That herb garden kit is adorable and a great idea!

  10. omg millet looks SO GOOD! I’ve never tried it, but this year I did start breaking out of my toast-and-oatmeal rut to try new grains – I’ve tried quinoa, wheatberries, and kamut, and loved all of them except wheatberries – but that millet just looks amazingly creamy. comfort food at its finest, you best believe I’ll be buying some! I have an herb garden in my backyard haha but it’d be so nice to have a cute lil indoor one for fresh herbs year-round!

    Have fun at the hockey game!! I love love love to see sports games live, the energy is so intense!! 😀

  11. Yay I’m so glad you liked the millet! I’ve never had it for breakfast though – I’ve got to try that!

    Also I’m so jealous of your herb garden. I’m obsessed with using fresh herbs, but I always end up throwing some out when I buy them, because I can never use them all before they go bad. 😛

    Hope you had fun last night! xo

  12. i LOVE millet. its one of my favourite grains. that and buckwheat and of course oatmeal. amazing!

  13. The herb garden kit is ADORABLE!! I want it sooooo badly!! Can’t seem to find it anywhere in my city. When you have the time do drop by my relatively new space. I’d love to hear from you!

  1. Pingback: S to the 5 « A Dash of Meg

  2. Pingback: A Tour of London « A Dash of Meg

  3. Pingback: Reviewing November « A Dash of Meg

A penny for your thoughts...

