Goals, Changes, and Challenges: Nutrition Focused

Friends! Open-mouthed smile It’s Friday! Open-mouthed smile I seriously don’t know why I am so happy seeing as how I have spent my entire day (literally, since 12 noon) studying for my biochem exam which takes place tomorrow, but knowing that tomorrow is my last midterm out of the six that I had to write within the past two weeks is incredibly relieving and gives me something to look forward to! Open-mouthed smile I am sure I will be incredibly exhausted after my exam tomorrow night which ends at 9:45 pm, but, oh, Sunday will feel so good. I can’t wait for Sunday Winking smile That’s what I am really looking forward to…

Before I start blabbing about my nutrition goals for the month of November I have to share this new recipe with all of you, so you can all enjoy a dessert-like breakfast tomorrow morning Open-mouthed smile I definitely will be Winking smile I got me some bananas calling my name and this recipe is too good to be true!

bananacreampa 013

Banana Cream Pie Oatmeal

1/3 cup oat bran

1/2 cup water

1/2 cup almond milk

Toppings:

Greek yogurt or vanilla yogurt

vanilla protein powder or sugar free syrup (I used white chocolate sugar free syrup) – omit if using vanilla yogurt!

banana

bananacreampa 006

Cook oat bran in water and milk combo. Mix greek yogurt with protein powder or sugar free syrup (whichever you have or you don’t have to sweeten the yogurt at all!) Top with greek yogurt and banana slices. This definitely tastes like a little piece of heaven Smile I thought it was very much like a banana cream pie Smile Yum! Tell me how you like it!

So, I hope you guys are not getting bored with goal focused posts already because there are more to come, but after each post I am leaving you with a tip or some piece of advice that I find beneficial and use throughout my own life Smile

Coming up with nutrition goals were a little difficult in a sense… I have adopted healthy eating habits throughout my recovery, so I don’t need to focus on making goals such as eating more whole grains instead of refined grains, eating less fast food, drinking more water, etc. because, personally, I think I already do follow many of your typical healthy eating habits; however, there is always some area to improve in!
Since I already incorporate many healthy eating habits within my life, most of my goals are to continue doing what I am already doing; however, some are new goals that I hope to accomplish throughout the month Smile

Goals

Meet minimum daily water requirements
I love drinking water! From what I have learned in my courses, the minimum daily amount of water for women is 2.7 litres/day. I definitely meet and exceed this minimum requirement, so I have nothing to worry about, but I want to continue doing this through the month (and my life! hehe!)

Limit caffeine intake
Caffeine has never had that “pick me up” affect on me. It does the total opposite to me. I get anxious, stressed, and “blah” feeling. This month I will focus on limiting my caffeine intake. I already do this, but with a Starbucks on nearly every corner (and the new Christmas Blend being out) temptations arise! I love the taste of coffee, but if I need a cup, I will try to opt for decaf. This goal will help me keep in a good mood and not feel so icky. I hate that “blah” feeling.

Listen to my body
It’s so important to listen to your body. In the past, I had no idea what my body was trying to tell me. I was so confused. Sometimes I am still confused because of all of my past confusion! However, I am currently trying really hard to listen to my body. If I am hungry I will eat. This goal will also benefit me with other goals such as muscle gain! If I am hungry and already consumed my “usual”, I will not let that stop me. These muscles need fuel. No deprivation here.

Be creative
Throughout the month of November I will continue to have fun with food and experiment with new ingredients, combinations, and recipes.

Changes
As we all know, I have made some changes in my intake. I have decided to increase my calories due to my hunger cues. Such changes are listed here, but I have been wanting to make a few more, so here they are!

– Maintain increased intake each day including rest days

– On days that I exercise heavier and more intensely (leg days) I want to increase my calorie intake even more by increasing my carbohydrate intake

– Continue having my bedtime snack and not worry about the time I have it. (Exciting news! I have started having a TBSP of almond butter each night for almost two weeks already along with a source of protein – 1 scoop of casein powder usually).

– I stopped having 1/2 – 1 pack of gum a day! I know, insane right. I was an addict. It’s been a month. I thought I should share this with all of you Smile I haven’t had gum in one month. Not one piece. Of course, I am not fearful of having gum now, but if I don’t have it in my purse, on my counter, or in my car, I won’t chew as much as I once did! This is a change I would love to keep.

– I have recently (two Monday’s ago?) I have joined in on Meatless Mondays!

Challenges
Time for specific goals! It’s important to be specific so you have something measureable to work towards Open-mouthed smile

– I will increase my intake by at least 50 calories on leg training days because I usually find myself much hungrier on these days.

– I will increase my calories even more than I already have if my body tells me to do so.

– I will try one new to me ingredient this month and create a meal.

– I will make one recipe out of a cook book this month.

– My Dad and I will make at least on new recipe together when he comes to visit.

– I will recreate my zucchini soup that I created last year (but, of course, I didn’t write down the recipe) and then share the recipe with all of you Open-mouthed smile (and write it down this time!)

It really was an amazing soup…

zucchini soup 018

That Magic Bullet of mine really saved me last year… (I made the soup in my Magic Bullet if you didn’t catch that. My Magic Bullet was and still is my best friend).

zucchini soup 002

So there you have it friends! My nutrition goals for the month of November! I am excited to see what recipes I can come up with and how my new carbohydrate intake changes the ways I have been feeling! Smile

The piece of advice I am going to leave with you all today is:

Don’t fear the fat Open-mouthed smile

Fat, it used to be such a scary word…

Once upon a time I avoided it like the plague, but now I think it may be my favourite macronutrient Winking smile haha. Alright, everything in moderation. I know, I know. But, fat is essential. We all need it in our diet to function to the best of our ability Open-mouthed smile Fat seriously has so many health benefits it’s unreal. From reducing the risk of depression to lower cholesterol levels, fat is definitely classified a super food in my eyes Open-mouthed smile Personally, I am a happier person when I consume a higher amount of fat than the lower amount that I was consuming last year. Of course, I aim towards consuming the “healthy” fats coming from salmon, nuts, seeds, oils, avocados, etc.

Maybe they should just change the dreaded name of this wonderful macronutrient? I think that is why so many people fear it. Who wouldn’t associate the intake of fat with gaining excess fat?
Think of it as energy instead of fat. Because truthfully (I wouldn’t lie to you guys!) fat doesn’t make you fat!
Consume your healthy fats (monounsaturated and polyunsaturated) and keep saturated fats to a minimum while trying to avoid trans fats completely and you will see numerous benefits in your daily functioning Winking smile

Well, I am off to buy these bad boys now!

IMG-20111102-00474

IMG-20111102-00475

Believe it or not I usually eat one avocado per day! Smile Yum Open-mouthed smile

(p.s. I just realized I missed the sale, hahaha! But that won’t stop this girl from testing out a jumbo avo! Winking smile)

Have you ever feared fat throughout your life?
Did you make any nutrition goals for the month of November?
Have you ever seen jumbo avocado’s before?

Appreciate!
Today I am appreciative for my dishwasher being fixed. For some reason last night, the thing quit working. This afternoon a mister fix it man came over and got it working again! I really don’t mind washing my dishes by hand, but when I am studying so intensely for biochem I really don’t have the time!

Talk to you all tomorrow!

Have a great night and don’t forget your bed time snackage Open-mouthed smile

Love always,
Meg
xoxoxoxoxoxo

About Meg (A Dash of Meg)

Hello, my name is Meg. I am a 20-year-old passionate Foods & Nutrition student on my way to becoming a Registered Dietitian who loves food, cooking, fitness, seafood, and a nice cup of tea.

Posted on November 4, 2011, in Breakfast, Eat, Nutrition Articles, Recipes and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 31 Comments.

  1. Huge avocado<3! Your soup & oatmeal look really good. Good luck on you November goals 🙂

  2. I need to follow these goals too. this is totally what I struggle with! I definately fear fats 😦

  3. ahhh i love avocados! i used to be so scared of fats. now, i eat pb all day, everyday. my goal for november would have to be to drink more water! some days i drink a lot and then others i don’t drink enough

  4. Awesome goals my friend!! Best of luck to ya, I know you’ll accomplish them all fo sho 😉
    Enjoy your weekend!

  5. I have never seen an avocado that big in my life ahaha

  6. I’ve done a similar thing with my oatmeal but with apples! It seriously tasted like dessert! I also feared fat – I would never use oil when I cooked. EVER. I would spray PAM on everything so my food wouldn’t stick! I also bought 0% fat everything… The only thing I did let myself eat was peanut butter, but in limited quantities.

    This month it’s all about the protein! Just had my night time/ PWO snack of Greek yogurt mixed with protein powder 🙂

  7. I can relate to almost all of your goals! It sounds like you’re already doing an awesome job of following through with them. Keep it up, girl!
    I’m working to increase my daily calories right now as well, particularly on strength training days. Some days I’m sooo hungry and some days I just have to remind myself that I need the extra calories. And increasing water/decreasing caffeine intake is always on my goals list!

  8. I still fear fat sometimes. But lately I’ve been making a point of eating things like nuts and avocado…foods I used to avoid like the plague. During November I will continue pushing through food fears!

    You’ve put together a great list of nutrition goals for the month. I hope you achieve all of them. Trying a new ingredient & attempting a new recipe are fantastic ways of varying your diet 🙂

  9. It makes me sad when I hear women afraid to eat fat. Instead they buy low-fat products, which are just pumped full of sugar! You’re much better off having the full fat version because it is the product in it’s true state. Although I did see a tweet from Women’s Health the other day that said it’s important to have good fats, including nuts, oil, avocados and haloumi cheese! I laughed at that one 🙂 A little bit of cheese won’t kill you, but it certainly isn’t something you should be having with every meal!

    You shouldn’t feel a lot of hunger if you’re trying to gain muscle. I read something from a bodybuilder lately that said gaining muscle is more mental than anything – when you think you’re full, you have to keep eating!! I usually only feel hunger before my last meal when I’m gaining, once I’ve stopped having carbs for the day.

  10. I can relate to sooo much in this post! I used to be crazy scared of fat too and ate super low amounts. That was definitely an eye opener to how important fat is to our bodies because my body went haywire after a year with no fat. 2 years later and I’m STILL recovering from the damage I did. 😛 Now I eat fish, seed butters, seeds, and avocados everyday!

    Good luck with all your nutrition goals this month. I think I need to set a few of my own too. Drinking more water will definitely be one of them!

  11. Your breakfast looks SO good! Thanks for sharing the recipe, this is the perfect breakfast for the cold seasons! 🙂
    Great goals!

  12. Great goals! I don’t have any nutrition goals per se, but I have a lot of cooking goals for November: make a pumpkin pie, learn to roast a turkey, and contribute one dish to Thanksgiving!

  13. i’m a gum addict too. not quite as bad as you, but i chew half pieces so my packs last longer 🙂

  14. Banana Cream Pie Oatmeal! Best creation ever? I think so. I’m totally going to make it today. That is if I manage to drag myself out of bed 🙂

    I think it’s really great that you want to be more creative this month! My creativity tends to take form in music. I’m definitely not talented, but it feels so nice when I can play piano or sing (though I feel bad for those people who have to listen to me)! Props to you girl!

  15. I have to up my calories because of the whole stress fracture thing, so this post is so handy! I’ll have to adopt some of these goals myself. It’s not easy to do, but it sure helps to know that other people are in the same boat as me 🙂 I’ll have to buy one of those jumbo avocados, I’m sure that will help!

  16. Fantastic goals! I am with you on the increasing carbohydrates – honestly the more carbs I eat the better I feel! and same goes for fat! you bet I used to avoid it like the plague….now 30% of my diet is fat and I’m happier, have more energy, my stomach doesn’t get messed up as much…and no, I have indeed not gotten fat hahaha. Looove the banana cream pie recipe! I actually do that a lot with oats except I cook the naner slices with the oats too – SO GOOD. 🙂

  17. How do you use the topping with the yogurt + protein powder? Do you use 1 or 2 tablespoons of powder + how much yogurt? Thanks for any help!!!

    • I don’t measure it out, but it is less than half a cup of yogurt and I would use about 1 TBSP of protein powder – depends on how sweet you like it!? 😀 Then just mix it up on the side and top your oats 😀

  1. Pingback: Goals, Changes, and Challenges: Everything Else « A Dash of Meg

  2. Pingback: Product Review: Can You Say Yam Noodle? « A Dash of Meg

  3. Pingback: What’s That Brown Thing? « A Dash of Meg

A penny for your thoughts...

