Hunger Strikes a Change

Hello wonderful friends of mine Smile How are all of you? Did you have a good Wednesday? There have been some pretty amazing WIAW posts floating around the blog world today! I love seeing what you guys are creating in your kitchens on a weekly basis Winking smile There are so many talented foodie’s out there it’s amazing! Wouldn’t it be fantastic if we could all get together and just eat? Smile 

Maybe some day Winking smile

So, lately I have been experiencing some serious hunger cues that need to be addressed!

I know it’s WIAW and I have been starring at pictures of food all day, but I don’t think that’s why I am experiencing increased hunger these days Winking smile haha

I do not weigh myself ritually, but I keep an eye on my weight so I know I am not losing seeing as how my goal is to gain. So, the reason I weigh myself occasionally is so that I know I am in line with my goals Smile Currently, I have only been maintaining. I haven’t seen any gains for quite some time now, so clearly my body needs more fuel.

I have also came to realize that since I have been increasing my weights, my body is working harder than it has been and will be needing more food to fuel the fire if you catch my drift Winking smile 

Increasing calories can be a hard thing to implement, but I know it needs to be done Smile I mean, I want my muscles to grow; don’t I? The answer is yes; therefore, my calories have been increased as of today Smile 

I’m treating it like an experiment and seeing how much my body needs because really, it’s a tricky thing to figure out. But, if I am hungry before I usually eat my next meal I am thinking that that’s a clear cut sign that this girl needs more fuel Winking smile 

The reason I say that knowing how much your body needs is a tricky thing is because there are so many formulas (which I learn tons about in all of my courses) and even more calculators offered on the internet which allow you to calculate pretty much anything you want to know…

There’s something about these calculators I do not like. Of course they’re great for getting a general idea of where our caloric needs should be at, but definitely treat it as an estimate! Each calculator that I have used on the internet result in a number of calories much less than what I am eating right now. Luckily, I know this estimation is wrong and I eat more Smile 

One of the most recent online calculators that put me into complete shock was the one offered by Jamie Eason for her 12 Week Trainer! I am not following her 12 Week Trainer, but often check out the workouts from time to time for inspiration. One day when browsing her workouts, I saw the calorie calculator that is being used for the end of Phase 2 and all of Phase 3 of her program, so I figured that I would try it out just for fun!

Since the calorie calculator is meant for those following her program which includes an intense schedule which consists of a 6 day per week workout regimen of strength training and HIIT cardio I thought the calculator would produce quite accurate results! But was I ever wrong…

The calorie calculator produces “high and low” calories for carb cycling. Not even the calories for my “high day”, according to the calculator, measured up to the amount of calories that are simply just maintaining my current weight. Also, according to Jamie, I am consuming more than her on a daily basis which I find astounding because she clearly has more muscle mass than I do and we all know that the more muscle someone has, the more calories they need to fuel those working muscles!

So after all that, I am happy and confident to say that I am increasing my intake and hoping I will see some gains Smile I know building muscle takes a crazy amount of time, but I have already noticed changes in my lower body, so I think I should fuel those new muscles with some more food Smile 

A breakfast that I have been loving lately is a mix of quinoa, flax, fruit, and chocolate almond milk. I sure am the milled flax queen now Winking smile Why didn’t I try it sooner!? Craziness.

I have made two of these quinoa breakfast bowls this week, but used different types of fruit each time Smile I highly suggest testing out this new concoction for yourself Winking smile

foodlab 004

The first was made with those Farmer’s Market raspberries Winking smile And today I enjoyed it with a fresh peach! Smile

hungerstrikes 001

I have been enjoying this mixture with chocolate almond milk, but you can definitely use whatever type of milk you love most Open-mouthed smile

foodlab 006

hungerstrikes 004

Quinoa Flax Breakfast Bowl

1/2 cup quinoa, cooked

2 Tbsp milled flaxseed

fruit of choice

1/2 cup milk (I used chocolate almond)

Have you ever tried online calculators?
Are you following Jamie Eason’s 12 Week Trainer?
Quinoa for breakfast? Yay or nay?
I LOVE it Open-mouthed smile

Good night sweet friends of mine,

Meg
xoxoxoxoxo

P.s. thank you for all of the lovely comments after last nights post Open-mouthed smile You all are so very special to me! Thank you for making my days so wonderful Open-mouthed smile

About Meg (A Dash of Meg)

Hello, my name is Meg. I am a 20-year-old passionate Foods & Nutrition student on my way to becoming a Registered Dietitian who loves food, cooking, fitness, seafood, and a nice cup of tea.

Posted on October 19, 2011, in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink. 18 Comments.

  1. Dude it would be SO awesome if all the food bloggers had a giant dinner together, I’m sure it’d be one heck of a delicious event 😉
    Wooo for increasing cals! I’m working on that too, it’s sometimes hard to eat so much, but I know it’s so worth it for reaching goals 🙂 and I love love love quinoa! Never had it at breakfast, but now I’m kinda tempted to try it haha
    Have a great night!

  2. Hi Meg, I just found your blog a few days ago and so far I love it! I had an ED a few years ago and it is so refreshing to hear how your thoughts are so similar to mine.
    I’ve been seriously lifting weights for a year now and I am sooo ASTONISHED about the amount of food I can eat. Like you, I found that all the calculations and formulas produced an estimate that was too low for me. I would recommend ignoring them completely and trying to listen to what your body tells you instead.
    I still struggle sometimes with guilt about the amount of food I eat. Somedays I eat three breakfasts! But my weight has held steady and my strength has increased, so I would say I’m on the right track 😀

  3. Can we make a huge blogger eating party happen, please?! It would be amazing!
    I’ve been in the process of increasing my calories to gain weight recently, as well. It’s not always easy but I know it’s what my body needs! I can’t believe what some calculators recommend for daily calories. They’re usually waaay too low. (For me, anyways!)
    I definitely need to try quinoa for breakfast! For some reason I always forget about eating it for anything other than a savory dinner. Thanks for sharing the recipe!

  4. I’ve never tried quinoa in a sweet form so I’d definitely say yay! It sounds delish! 🙂

  5. I’ve never tried quinoa for breakfast, but yours looks good! I should do it…I’ve got a ton in my pantry!

  6. Quinoa was for breakfast a few days ago 🙂 I may just have to try your little creation for breakfast one day even though I’m crazy for the chia seed/oatmeal creation right now 😉

  7. Meg, I really like this post!

    I think it’s great that your increasing your calorie intake and doing it with such a healthy motivation..muscle mass! It’s crazy that Jamie Eason’s calorie calculator was so off. But I think it’s just a good reminder that you know yourself better than anyone else. We’re not robots and our bodies all function and work at different levels and require different things.

    Way to go on having such a positive outlook, keep up the good work!

  8. I just had a look at Jamie’s page with the calorie counter. The carb cycling she recommends basically replicates a competition diet i.e. what I’m doing right now! So it’s for dropping fat (and you will lose some muscle too, as she says, so that’s why you only do it for a short period of time) quickly, not for building muscle or maintaining. Jamie’s also quite short I believe which is why her calories are so low.

    On the days I work out, I’m currently eating around 1400 calories, but on non workout days it’s only around 1100. It’s significantly different when I’m gaining – I usually eat 2200-2500 calories a day. I don’t like counting calories but I hope this helps 🙂

  9. hey! just started to read your blog and i can relate so much! i know doctors, ect say we aren’t suppose to weigh ourselves but i do as well just to make sure im eating enough and not losing or maintaining my weight. i feel that if you have accepted recovery this is totally fine! im glad to see that there is someone else like me out there 🙂

  10. i also have a look at her program from time to time.. but not following. i’m not a big fan of doing other people’s workouts. Also I try avoid bodybuilding style workouts so i was pretty excited to see the phase 3 ones.. thats more up my street! love your quinoa breakfasts! i love quinoa porridge!!

  11. I love WIAW too.. it definitely makes me hungry!! I love quinoa for breakfast – it’s so good mixed with yogurt!

    I never trust the online calculators. They’re all different. I’ve never seen Jamie Eason’s program before, but based on what I’m hearing I don’t think I’d want to listen to her nutrition advice!

  12. “Wouldn’t it be fantastic if we could all get together and just eat?” <– Yes! You, me, Molly and Andrea should definitely get together and cook dinner sometime!

    I've never tried any online calculators, but what drives me really crazy is all those magazines that promote 1400 calorie/day diets. I mean, really?! That's ridiculous, especially when that same magazine is telling us to run 5k per day and do 1 hour long strength training sessions. 😛

    I've never tried quinoa for breakfast! I'm total oats devotee. But your brekkie looks really good so maybe I'll give it a try!

  13. I think it’s important to eat more calories if you start to burn more. looks like you are eating healthy so if I were you I’d just add more protein rich foods to your diet. They will fill you up. IF you start losing weight (but you said you haven’t noticed any changes which is GREAT) I would just eat more healthy fats like avocados and butter and I guess you don’t drink milk but uping a % of fat in milk can add good calories too!

  14. MMMM raspberries and chocolate!! One of the best combos EVER in my opinion 🙂 I ❤ both flax and quinoa but haven't put them together…yet!

    I've calculated things with pretty much every online calculator imaginable haha – there's so much varation in the numbers. I honestly haven't found the perfect number for me yet….I never have any idea what's too much and what's not enough! I'd kind of like to wear a heart rate monitor or body bugg or something to get a more accurate measurement, because, really, what does the internet know about your personal metabolism? I see a sports nutritionist and she says based on where my running is I should be eating 2500-3000 per day, but that FEELS like sooo much to me….so who knows haha. maybe it takes getting used to 🙂

  15. I used to be obsessive with online calculators. Goodbye Ed, Hello Life 🙂 Glad those days are passing!
    I love how positive you are. Really, you are one of the strongest girls I (sort of) know! Keep up the hard work girl.. it’s paying off!

  16. LOVE that you’re listening to your body and increasing calories to help you further on your way to your goals. Too many people ignore their body’s signals, way to listen! ROCK it chica 🙂

A penny for your thoughts...

