A Foodie’s Paradise

Good evening friends! Smile How was everyone’s first full day of the weekend? Smile It sounded like a lot of you liked the looks of those pancakes Winking smile Hopefully at least one of you made them for yourself today? If not, Sunday morning is a great time for pancakes too Smile Heck, anytime is a good time for pancakes Winking smile 

So, as you all know I visited the Farmer’s Market here in London today Open-mouthed smile I was super excited because it is truthfully my favourite place in all of London Open-mouthed smile I wish I could pitch a tent and live there… I really really do…

The girls and I met up at the market this morning at 9:00 after I hit up the gym Winking smile (I did this workout along with cable crunches and hanging leg lifts circuit style)

Unfortunately, it was one of the coldest mornings we’ve experienced so far this morning and it was raining, but that definitely didn’t prevent us foodies from heading to the outside portion of the Farmer’s Market Open-mouthed smile I mean, it only comes twice a week Winking smile You’ve gotta take what you can get!

It usually happens that I buy the first thing I see; that definitely happened today.

That big bag of kale right there. All over it. Like white on rice.

locallove 004

It was so beautiful I couldn’t turn it down.

 locallove 005

There were all sorts of squash I didn’t know what to do with myself!

locallove 006

locallove 008

I didn’t even recognize some of them

locallove 007

We saw the biggest heads of lettuce the Earth has ever produced.

locallove 009

Has anyone ever tried a paw paw before?

locallove 013

Or a quince?

locallove 014

locallove 015

locallove 027

There’s something about local food that makes me feel all warm and fuzzy inside Smile

After making our purchases at the outdoor farmer’s market, we headed inside to do the rest of our shopping!
The inside of the market is huge and offers anything you could ever ask for Smile It’s a foodie paradise.

locallove 029

We spent most of our time in my favourite store, Homeopathy London Smile I came across some pretty cool finds that I had never seen before!

One of them being, Quinola, a quinoa granola!
Amazing. Pure genius.

locallove 033

I heard the Hallelujah chorus when I saw these

locallove 034

Finally a can of pure pumpkin smaller than the usual ice cream sized tubs I’ve been buying

Our shopping date ended off with a coffee from London’s Little Red Roaster Smile

locallove 035

I got their Columbian decaf. Caffeine and I do not get along at the best of times…

It was so nice to spend my morning with the girls Smile We are planning on going together again. It is most enjoyable shopping for and browsing food with other food lovers! I am sure fortunate I have these girls as my friends Smile

locallove 036

(Can you tell I just came from the gym? Lovely)

I know this is getting to be quite the lengthy post, but I bet you are all dying to know what I brought home from the market!? Open-mouthed smile
Alright, alright… If I must… Winking smile

Here is what I bought!

Flat leaf parsley and kale

locallove 047

(I have already used some of this parsley today! A new recipe soon to be posted!)

Baby bok choy and raspberries

locallove 048

The raspberries were expensive, but look at them. Seriously, would you be able to turn these beauties down? I couldn’t.

locallove 049

Tahini, black beans (they were on sale; buy one get one free!), and turmeric (I will be using this in an upcoming recipe!)

locallove 050

And last, but definitely not least (I have been eyeing this up since I moved to London at the beginning of September) About Time Protein Powder! I decided to try the chocolate flavour since they only offer chocolate and vanilla and I already had vanilla at home.

locallove 046

Protein powder review comin’ at ya tomorrow Winking smile Be ready.

Overall, my day was fabulous Open-mouthed smile As I knew it would be Smile Friends, a farmer’s market, and shopping for food at my all time favourite place in all of London!? Yup, today was amazing.

You know what else is amazing?
You guys Open-mouthed smile I have been loving all of the comments you have been leaving me lately and have to thank all of you for being such wonderful people Smile I love being able to share my love for food and fitness with you all Open-mouthed smile

Thanks for reading!

Love,

Meg
xoxo

Who has visited a farmer’s market lately? What did you buy?
What protein powder are you currently using? Do you have a favourite?
Have you tried About Time Protein Powder yet? What did you think of it?
Do your friends understand your love for food?

Quote of the Day:

“Happiness doesn’t mean everything is perfect, it means you’ve decided to see beyond the imperfections”.
– Julie Stump

About Meg (A Dash of Meg)

Hello, my name is Meg. I am a 20-year-old passionate Foods & Nutrition student on my way to becoming a Registered Dietitian who loves food, cooking, fitness, seafood, and a nice cup of tea.

Posted on October 15, 2011, in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink. 29 Comments.

  1. WOW! What an awesome day at the farmers market!

    Those berries look simply ah-mazing!

  2. That really is foodie paradise! I’m waiting for my about time protein powder package to arrive. I’ve never tried it but I’ve been wanting to, especially the birthday cake flavor. And my friends and I are all goodies for sure! But I still love it the most 😛

  3. What fun! Love all the pics, everything looks tasty 🙂 and about time protein powder is the bomb, I love the peanut butter flavor a ton mmm 😀 Dymatize iso-100 vanilla whey is my ultimate favorite, just wish it wasn’t so expensive though haha!
    Enjoy the rest of your weekend love!

  4. Oh man, I haven’t had fresh raspberries in so long just because they ARE so expensive. They have always been one of my favorite fruits, even since I was little and called them “cranberries” by mistake.

    I love farmer’s markets! I haven’t been to one around here in a while, but I did go apple picking today so I guess that’s pretty much a “right from the farm” kinda deal 😉

  5. Wow, you hit the jackpot!! I hope one of those squashes is kabocha if you haven’t tried that yet… it’s heaven in the form of a squash. I actually have tried quince before! It was interesting. It wasn’t earth shattering delicious… heck I hardly remember what it tasted like.
    I’ve never tried about time, but I’ve seen it all over the blog world so I’m looking forward to the review! I like Jay Robb, Tera’s Whey, and Spirtutein.

  6. Best morning ever! It definitely motivated me for my chemistry exam. Thanks love!

    It is funny how different the items I saw at the market were from you- None of our pictures are quite alike… of course I might have snapped a photo of the lettuce and I definitely did see the squash (As I look up the different names!!).

    Us foodies must reunite more often 🙂

  7. I checked out the site for that protein powder, oh my goodness! Cinnamon roll, peanut butter?! Where have I been in this word of amazing flavored powder? I cannot wait for your review of the product.

    I also think I really need to come visit you! Such amazing things about London 🙂

  8. Oh my goodness, what a beautiful Farmers Market! It looks like you had an amazing morning, and even better than you had fellow foodies to share it with. My local farmers market is on Sundays so you know where I’ll be tomorrow morning!

    “There’s something about local food that makes me feel all warm and fuzzy inside”- I seriously squealed when I read that. Me too!! I’m such a dork, but local food makes me soo happy!
    And I use Sunwarrior protein powder but I’ve heard great things about About Time. I’ll be interested to hear your review!

  9. yay for farmers markets!! i totally know what you mean about local food making you all warm and fuzzy haha. and i WANT that quinoa granola!!

  10. I had so much fun yesterday! Even if we were a bit crazy to venture out into the rain and wind. 😛 You’re making me regret not buying those raspberries though – they look so good!

    Have a great Sunday girl. See ya tomorrow in class! xoxo

  11. AHHHHHH take me there! I love love farmers markets- they are soo fun!

  12. That looks like so much fun!!! If I’m ever in London, we’re going to the farmers market, kay?? 😉
    Have a great Sunday Meg!

  13. mmmm i love paw paw!!! and tumeric! i fling it into everything.. love yellow rice 🙂 sounds like you had an amazing day! cool pics- thanks for sharing!!

  14. I love your gym outfit and the headband! 🙂 Wow Meg, I’m soo damn jealous of you living in London, it’s probably a good thing I didn’t go as I would have got far too over excited just looking at all those squash’s and freaked everyone out hehe. Awesome that your friends are into food, I’m working on mine ;P

  15. WOOOOWWW look at all that fresh produce…im am literally super jealous right now!!

  16. aaaah I love farmer’s markets!! I went to the one in my town yesterday – not quite as epic, but still got some good artisan bread and bok choy!! I can’t wait to hear the protein powder review – I have YET to find a powder that actually sits well with my stomach so I’m always trollin’ around the blog world to see which ones others are successfully using 😀

  17. Looks like such a fun day! That must of been so exciting going to a farmers market in London. That place really does look like a foodie paradise!!

    And I love your quote of the day!

  18. looks like a great market!

  19. I alternate with whey and vegan protein powders on the same days. I eat a lot of dairy (like a LOT), so I probably shouldn’t use whey, but I do. So…

    Everything is so so expensive though and that is troublesome. I feel so sad because I don’t exercise and have no gym or anything, so I feel like a big blob I have to admit.

    But in the past I’ve tried genuine health vegans+ proteins, different whey brands (perfect nutrition diesel, GNC brand, isoflex, isonatural, some others). I have used brown rice protein sometimes now and then and can’t decide if I like it or not. Not that I use these alot or anything; I totally eat “real” food and junk and carbs. I just try things now and then I guess.

    Meg, I have binging a lot lately and its really making me feel horribly. Anything carby or sweet or anything. I can’t break it. I just can’t.
    I wish I could eat nicely balanced great meals and snacks, but I just lose control and do things all messed up. And tired of caring or worrying about it. I’m convinced I’m just going to keep gaining and gaining (no extra money’s available ever for anything).

    Oh, and I love stevia.

  1. Pingback: Protein Powder Review and a Fierce Workout « A Dash of Meg

  2. Pingback: Give Yourself Some Creds « A Dash of Meg

  3. Pingback: Pep In My Step « A Dash of Meg

  4. Pingback: A Tour of London « A Dash of Meg

  5. Pingback: Adventures in the Kitchen Soon To Come! « A Dash of Meg

A penny for your thoughts...

