Let’s Get Nerdy

Hello friends Open-mouthed smile How was everyone’s first day back after the long weekend? Smile I love short weeks Winking smile Tomorrow is already hump day! What!?

So when I opened my day planner this morning, I was greeted with a wonderful reminder…

IMG-20111011-00365

Midterms are upon us folks! Luckily, I don’t start until the last week in October, but according to my day planner studying starts today.

Surprisingly, I took a jump start and kicked off my morning with a study session Winking smile Notice how I had study time planned for the evening in the picture? Yeah, well, I am such a committed student that I started this morning Open-mouthed smile Winking smile 

The trend followed as the day progressed and I was actually so “into” everything that I was reading today Smile It was great! I hate the days when you can’t get “into it”. Since I have been loving all of the information I read about today I figured why not do more of an “educational” post tonight!? I mean, my learn page is looking pretty bare… haha

Today, my studies included Nutritional Assessment and Food Science. I only had one class today which was my Food Science lab, but I worked on some Nutritional Assessment homework in the morning.

In Nutritional Assessment, we were given case studies at the beginning of the year for a group assignment. Case studies are situations that present a problem in which we have to solve (usually by giving a diagnosis to the patient). The case study for my Nutritional Assessment class is dealing with a patient who has diverticulosis. So this morning I read about diverticulosis, diverticulitis, and diverticula. It was all very interesting as I did not know of this condition before. If you haven’t heard of it either, I will briefly sum it up:

Diverticula – bulging pockets in the lining of the colon or the large intestine due to the weakening of the muscular wall of the colon.

Diverticulosis – condition when diverticula are present in colon.

Diverticulitis – condition when diverticula become inflamed.

So there you go Smile Maybe you all learnt something new today? Winking smile The most interesting part of this case study are the questions pertaining to drug-nutrient interactions. This afternoon I was consumed in a text book that taught me about the diet changes necessary for my patient with diverticulosis who will be taking Ex-Lax, Vasotec, and amoxicillin. It was all incredibly interesting. I was typing up notes for an entire hour! I loved it all! I could have kept gathering information, but I thought I’d wrap it up after an hour because my Food Science lab would be starting within the next 5 minutes, so I went to save the pages of notes I spent typing up and the computer crashed. Yeah, just my luck. Whatever, not much I can do about it, but it did feel like a huge waste of time Sad smile Technology hey? At least it was the library computer that crashed and not my laptop! I would have been pretty rattled if that happened.

Food Science lab was the best one yet Smile I wish you could have smelt the kitchen! Wowzers. The topic of todays lab was vegetables and vegetable sources of proteins, so all dishes were vegetarian meals or vegetable side dishes Smile Some of the recipes made today looked pretty amazing. Unfortunately, mine was the most basic recipe out there (if it was up to me, I would have picked a different recipe, but the recipes are assigned to us). I made red cabbage and apples. I love red cabbage, but the recipe was so easy and not appealing to the eye. I also think it contained a bit too much cider vinegar, but it was a necessary ingredient in order to keep the purple colour of the cabbage or else it would have turned blue. Do you know why?

Anthocyanin is the red-purple pigment found in red or purple cabbage. When anthocyanin is combined with an alkaline (basic) substance it changes to a blue colour because there is not an excess of hydrogen atoms present. However, when excess hydrogen atoms are present, like in an acidic substance such as vinegar or lemon juice, anthocyanin maintains its beautiful red-purple coloured pigment.

Wow look at us go! I bet you learnt at least one new thing today? Winking smile

Alright, I’ll stop now. You all probably had enough of my lecture. I also have to apologize for the little bit of chemistry thrown in there too Winking smile I know, it’s chemistry.

How dare I?

Well, no chemistry talk is necessary when telling you all about my new breakfast creation that I enjoyed this morning Open-mouthed smile 
What is necessary? Drool.

kiwioats 011

I like to call this…

Toasted Almond and Kiwi Oats

1/4 cup steel cut oats

1/4 cup almond milk

sliced almonds

1 kiwi

Cook your oats with the almond milk and some added water (or you could use more almond milk!)
Meanwhile, toast them almonds!
When those oats are done, top them with your fragrant almonds and kiwi chunks!
Enjoy Smile Oh this was so ultra yummy. Good combo.

My workout today was amazing once again. I sure love the back and bi workout I started last week Open-mouthed smile I love super setting the narrow and wide grip pull ups! I am so close to doing unassisted pull ups! So close it’s frustrating. I’ll get there Winking smile Just you watch!

My workout was so good, that when I went to the locker room to refuel with my sweet potato pudding I literally had to cradle the bowl like a baby because my arms were so noodle-like Winking smile 

Untitled

Noodle arms! Gotta love ‘em Winking smile 

I also am still loving this weather we are getting in London Open-mouthed smile Definitely embracing it all with summer clothes and dinners on my patio Open-mouthed smile

I wore the dress I bought for 99% off today Winking smile

kiwioats 015

Snapshot_20111011_8

It’s striped and denim Smile Loving it! How could you go wrong for 65 cents!? You can’t. You just can’t.

Alrighty friends, time to get nerdy again Winking smile 

Did you enjoy learning about my classes?
Do you use a daily planner?
Do you love feeling like you have arms made of noodles after an upper body workout?

Love forever and always,

Meg
xoxoxoxoxo

About Meg (A Dash of Meg)

Hello, my name is Meg. I am a 20-year-old passionate Foods & Nutrition student on my way to becoming a Registered Dietitian who loves food, cooking, fitness, seafood, and a nice cup of tea.

Posted on October 11, 2011, in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink. 23 Comments.

  1. Oh my gosh I LOVE that dress!! Your style is super cute girl 🙂 I also love all of these random tidbits of info, I’m a super nerd, I can never get enough of learning that kind of stuff!
    Good luck studying my dear!

  2. That’s the cutest outfit ever! I wannttt it. Thanks for the oats recipe. I could definitely see myself making that, I always love a simple breakfast.

  3. I hate computers sometimes! Once I was typing up an essay and I was 2000 words in and I accidentally closed the program and hit the N key when it asked if I wanted to save!! So I couldn’t even autorecover the document. I had to step away from the computer for half an hour because I was so hysterical. I definitely learnt my lesson though, and always save my work every 10 minutes or so.

    I’m SO close to doing unassisted pull-ups too. I did pull-ups and chin-ups this morning and I don’t think I’ve ever propelled myself up so fast! My trainer has me doing 6-10 reps of them, and I only have 10kg of assist on the machine. I’m patiently waiting to drop the reps and see if I can do them all on my own 🙂

  4. i’m a dietetics student and i LOVE that i’m now finally into the higher level classes because like you, i find them all SO interesting. i love telling my hubby about what i learned 🙂 so nerdy

  5. I love your dress, so cute…and I’m jealous you got it for so cheap!

    Food Science sounds like such an awesome class, I wish I was some kind of nutrition major so I could take something like that. And I’m a planner user for sure, I can’t live without it!

  6. love the outfit

  7. Kim @ Eat, Live, and Blog

    All of your classes sound interesting! I just switched my major this year to dietetics and I just love it! I love my food lab and I’m looking forward to the rest of my classes as well. I’m glad I found your blog! 🙂

  8. I lovelovelove that dress! What an amazing find.
    And thank you for reminding me to use kiwi in my oatmeal! It’s one of my favorite combinations and I always forget about it. Yum. (:

  9. That is the cutest dress on earth! I want one! I have toooo many (Maybe 52 I think was my last count.. then again there was all summer) dresses but never have I ever seen one as flattering and creative as that. So jealous!!

  10. Mind blowing.. you are so beautiful!!!!

  11. I love your outfit!! So cute. I also love your noodle arm drawing – I’ve definitely felt that way after a hard workout. Good luck with midterms!! You’re gonna do just fine. At least I know you’ll remember what all those conditions are. I’ve never heard of them!

  12. I’d never heard of Diverticulosis, so yep, definitely learned something new!

    Love the dress! How did you manage to snag it for 99% off! That’s caaraaazy! I need to go shopping with you!

  13. I am a planner freak!! I used to get a new one each year, but I finally invested in one that you just buy refill pages. I love it 🙂
    And to me there is no better feeling than that noodly feeling after a workout!! I love feeling like I have TRULY worked. It means my muscles are growing 🙂
    Gorgeous pic as well :):)

  14. Hi Meg,

    I notice you don’t do WIAW kind of posts. Do you think you could have a post where you show maybe a list of each 3-4 options you might choose daily for each of Breakfast, lunch, dinner, and 2-3 snacks (eating 6 times a day?). I guess you might not want to show a specific full day of eating for you. But I’m trying to figure out how to piece together a good day and you eat all the kinds of foods I like.

  15. You are so pretty.. what a steal on that dress! I always forget my love for kiwi. But your oats are tempting me to make a trip to the store big time!

  16. 99% off? What is this magical sale?? And such a cute dress!

    Kiwi in oats seems like such a great idea..I will have to try that for sure 🙂

  17. You have such great style… that dress is adorable! Please share your fashion sense with me 🙂

  1. Pingback: Positivity is the Source of Happiness « A Dash of Meg

A penny for your thoughts...

