This Is My Home

Hello beautiful friends of mine! Smile How was everyone’s Monday? Is everyone ready to get back into the swing of things tomorrow?

I enjoyed my long weekend Smile Today was my day of travel, so my internal clock is extremely confused. Ontario is two hours ahead of Saskatchewan, so I thought I would be wide awake tonight and have a hard time falling asleep at a decent hour, but I don’t think I will be having trouble with that…
When I got off of the plane, it was already pitch dark in London and it seems as though my body changed directly back to “London time”. I am quite seriously fighting to stay awake. I find this weird because it was only 5:00 in Saskatchewan when I arrived back in London. I guess my weekend was busier than I thought and my body is asking for rest!

I had an early morning today. I was up at 5:00 am because we had to leave our house at 6:30 in order to make it to the airport in Regina on time…

Of course we picked up a Timmie’s for the road trip

this is my home 008

I got a large chai tea

My tea warmed me up, but Cuddles was doing a good job too Winking smile 

this is my home 004

She was cozied up to me the entire two hour drive to Regina Smile I think she knew I was leaving her…

When we arrived to the airport, I met up with two of my other friends from Yorkton (coincidentally) and we were all on the same flight to Calgary Smile This has never happened before as I usually don’t know anyone on my flights to or from London, so it was really comforting to be around familiar faces Smile We chatted and caught up with each other until it was time to board Smile Unfortunately, we didn’t sit near each other on the plane, but I did sit beside a girl who was interested in Foods and Nutrition. She noticed the textbook that I was reading for my Nutritional Assessment class and began asking me tons of questions about becoming an RD Smile I quite enjoyed it! Smile 

I had a two hour lay over in Calgary which was fine because one of my friends had a lay over too, so we ate lunch together Smile I packed leftover Thanksgiving turkey for part of my lunch Winking smile My friend was shocked that I ‘snuck’ it through security; I guess she should have read my post about travel tips Winking smile (Update: I am still not sick of eat Thanksgiving turkey yet! Wish I had more!)

Before I caught my next plane to London, I grabbed a Starbucks

IMG-20111010-00360

A venti Zen and Ethos water Smile Water drank while tea cooled Winking smile It’s what I do each and every time Smile (tea flavours will change, but I am on a Zen kick right now).

The flight from Calgary to London is a long one and I never look forward to it. It’s four hours and it seems incredibly long; I always get so antsy! However, this was probably one of the better flights Smile 
I was one of the first people on the plane (a rare occurrence because I usually let everyone line up before I do. The plane will not leave without me!) because the line just kind of formed itself behind me. I guess I was standing in the right spot when they called for general boarding? As all of the other passengers were boarding I was actually recognizing other students from UWO which is totally crazy because it is such a ginormous university! The girl who sat behind me was actually in my chemistry class and lab last year! Apparently she is from Calgary!?
I sat beside a boy from UWO who also looked incredibly familiar. I totally recognized him from the gym when I used to use Western’s facility. FYI, he was not the guy creeping on me though! He was pretty cool Smile We chatted most of the way to London (when we weren’t doing homework). I doubt I will ever see him again though…

Once I got home, I ate dinner while watching Dancing With The Stars. Is it just me or are most of the dances and songs pretty brutal tonight?

Now, I am working on unpacking these suitcases of mine…

suitcase 001

Somehow, I went home with a single suitcase and came back with two? Winking smile How on Earth does that work? Oh yeah, robbing your parents of all the food they own! Right right… I forgot Winking smile

Mom and Dad always set me up so good Winking smile I won’t have to go grocery shopping for a day or two which makes things much less hectic for me. I always have luck traveling with food because my Mom always wraps everything really well and surrounds it all with ice packs.

However, this banana isn’t looking too happy to me haha

this is my home 011

Perfect for blending into my sweet potato pudding though Winking smile Bruised shmoozed! It’s all good Smile

Reflecting back on my trip home today compared to last Thanksgiving was completely different. Last year, when I was waiting in Calgary I actually started crying because I was observing everyone hanging out with their friends as I sat there being a huge loner. Usually I am really content being alone (I mean, I am an only child), but I felt so alone last year. I didn’t know a soul and it seemed as though everyone around me knew at least one other person. This year; however, things were much different. Despite knowing the two girls who traveled with me from Regina to Calgary, I recognized so many faces on my flight to London! This was extremely comforting and truly made London feel like my home and where I belong Smile I always refer to London as home, but today I knew why Smile 

Now, I am going to leave you all with some stuff to ponder on as I go unpack some more and enjoy my home Smile Here in London, Ontario Smile 

Do you live away from home?
What do you classify as your home? A city? The physical building in which you live?
Where is the place you feel most comfortable?
Are you content with spending time with yourself or would you rather be surrounded by others?
Are you an only child? If so, do you enjoy it? If not, have you ever wondered what it would be like to have no siblings?

Have a great evening everyone! I hope you are all in the comfort of your own home or happy wherever you may be! Smile

Lots of love,

Meg
xoxoxoxo

About Meg (A Dash of Meg)

Hello, my name is Meg. I am a 20-year-old passionate Foods & Nutrition student on my way to becoming a Registered Dietitian who loves food, cooking, fitness, seafood, and a nice cup of tea.

Posted on October 10, 2011, in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink. 11 Comments.

  1. Mmm love chai tea, glad you made it home safe! I think of my home as anywhere I can be with family, whether it be a restaurant where we meet up for a meal or a hotel on vacation. As long as I’m with family, I feel at home 🙂
    And I’m an only child and I actually really like it! It’s let me be closer to my parents and even though I get lonely sometimes, I enjoy my me time 😀
    Have a great week and good luck unpacking!

  2. As much as I will miss my family (since I am not an only child- not that you can’t miss your family but i do enjoy the constant noise and company of my three siblings) London is my home too. I couldn’t wait to get back to my schedule here at Brescia. It is comforting to have my independence and to have my own itinerary and schedule and not have to “abide” by other rules!

    Glad your traveling was good. Chai Tea and Zen are my favourite too (But I do like an Earl Grey or Pumpkin Spice Tea as well)… 🙂

  3. I have a twin sister, and with her is when I feel most comfortable! We can talk about anything and everything for hours, and I just really feel like myself when we’re together.

  4. I much prefer being by myself, but I do love being with my family… my mom, dad, brothers, grandparents… they make everything better 🙂

  5. Aha I thought you were talking about London, UK for the longest time here and I was all “omg you’re here?!” but Ontario is just as good, especially if it’s home 🙂
    I totally get what you mean about being a bit of a loner. I pretty much didn’t have any friends in high school so when I go home on breaks and such, I’m pretty much stuck in my house hanging with my family- which is great but sometimes I feel lonely, you know?
    Since I’m studying abroad this year, I’m trying to redefine my idea of “home”. I know it’s where my heart is and sometimes I get a bit homesick because my family the most important thing in my life, isn’t here with me. But as a young adult, I need to realize that home can be made anywhere I can feel comfortable. It’s all up to me to decide!

  6. I go to school 2 hours away from my family so I definitely get lonely sometimes. I have a younger sister who I’m really close with so it’s hard to leave her sometimes. Luckily I can go home every other weekend or so and see my family 😀

  7. I like to think I can handle being alone, but I don’t really know! I’ve never been on my own, and I have 3 siblings so I’m not sure what’s gonna happen next year. I never really think about how my life would be different if I was an only child. Usually I think about how my life would be different if my brothers (both have autism) weren’t disabled. It would change things a lot!

A penny for your thoughts...

