The Day I Wait For

Good eve friends Smile How’re we all doing tonight? Anything particularly exciting happen today? Smile Fill me in! Winking smile

As we know, my day was exciting because I met with my professor regarding the  volunteering position I applied for and received! Smile The meeting went great and it feels so good to be part of a project that relates to everything I love Smile My professor was so enthused about the project which made me even more excited (if that was possible!?) Smile

Not only was my day exciting because of the meeting, but it was also exciting because it’s the day I have been waiting for Smile Yup, that’s right! I always wait for the day that is two days before something exciting (example: going home this weekend!) so I can say “tomorrow I can say I leave tomorrow!” I find the day that I can say this phrase incredibly exciting Winking smile Perhaps even more exciting than tomorrow when I can actually say “I leave tomorrow!”
I know, I’m weird, but it’s something I have said ever since I was young, so now it’s kind of a little joke between my parents and I Winking smile

Since this is the day I have been waiting for, I celebrated with some fantastic eats Smile Juuuust kidding Winking smile My eats are always pretty fab Winking smile But some were so good that I have to share them with you!

Thanks to my lovely friend, Alex, I was able to indulge in these bad boys for the past few days Winking smile

grapefruit 016

She shared her turkey muffin recipe in September and I have been dying to try them so I whipped up a batch and added in spinach and mushrooms!

Ok, I couldn’t stop with just one batch… I made two Winking smile
For the second batch, I added jalapeño’s because I like it spicy Winking smile

grapefruit 023 

I have been taking these lovely numbers for snacks all week and today I packed them for lunch! I made myself a little burg while on my break between classes Winking smile I was snapping pictures left right and centre. I really wish I could turn that horrific shutter noise off of my blackberry because heads were turning and I am sure people were also wondering “what is wrong with this chick taking pictures of her food!?” I’ll admit, I was being a little ridiculous with the picture taking. But come on, the more delicious the food, the more pictures it deserves! Right!? I think so Smile

I lathered up the bread with some BBQ sauce (I thought I’d change it up from my usual mustard topping!)

IMG-20111005-00330

Not sure why it looks like jam, but I swear it was BBQ sauce! Winking smile 

IMG-20111005-00331

The sandwich was so good Smile Luckily I have more muffins left Open-mouthed smile Guess what Meg is eating tomorrow!? Winking smile Open-mouthed smile

IMG-20111005-00332

I also had some veg with my lunch, but I thought I already annoyed the poor people enough with all of the pictures, so they got left out of the photo shoot Sad smile However, I do have a picture of the Sweet Potato Pudding I shared with you all last night Open-mouthed smile I told you I would have it again today!

wiaw 001

All ready to be mixed up! Smile If you guys haven’t tried this recipe yet, DO! It’s amazing.

Some other amazing things!?

The weather.

IMG-20111005-00329

IMG-20111005-00333

Campus looked particularly gorgeous today Open-mouthed smile 

My Dad’s pretty amazing, too. It’s his birthday, so I am going to finish up this

IMG-20111005-00334

and chat with him on the phone until it’s time for bed Open-mouthed smile

20th bday 068

Good night precious people!

xoxo
Meg

Are you a Daddy’s girl?
What was the best thing you ate today?
Tell me one weird thing that you do!

About Meg (A Dash of Meg)

Hello, my name is Meg. I am a 20-year-old passionate Foods & Nutrition student on my way to becoming a Registered Dietitian who loves food, cooking, fitness, seafood, and a nice cup of tea.

Posted on October 5, 2011, in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink. 21 Comments.

  1. That BBQ sauce totally does look like jam! I believe you, though 🙂
    Turkey muffins have been on my list to make for a while now. Putting them on a sandwich just adds to the genius of it all.
    Congrats on the volunteer position!!

  2. Beautiful pictures of campus! The weather looks absolutely stunning 🙂 And so glad you enjoyed the turkey muffins!! They’re THE BEST aren’t they?! 😀
    I’m a huge dad’s girl too, I admire and love my daddio sooo much. 🙂 Have a great time chatting with your dad tonight!

  3. I completely understand and I AM ON AN ALL FOOD AND NUTRITION students floor. Everyone at dinner goes “Why are you taking a picture”… Usually I am good at remembering combinations but I enjoy looking at my food in the past to see WHAT i combined with what. Plus, sometimes it makes me see if my portions are full or not 🙂

  4. So wish I was going home this weekend so we could finally have a date!! Those turkey muffins look amazing and cannot wait to try those! Meg, you honestly make eating healthy fun, and easy at the same time! Safe travels home and keep the pictures coming 🙂

  5. Hmmm best thing I ate today was a pumpkin cream cheese muffin! The school I substituted at had a table full of treats today for World Teacher’s Day so I snagged on 😉

    Congrats on your position and happy birthday to your dad!

  6. Oh my gosh I laughed out loud when I read the line about taking photos of your food with your Blackberry!!! I work in a very small office, with just two other people and everyone is very quiet and keeps to themselves. There I am, snapping photos of my food with my phone – they must think I’m crazy! I really wish I knew how to turn off that annoying sound though…

  7. Absolutely a Daddy’s girl; my mama and I have a very (verrrry) close relationship, but my dad and I tend to think the same way/have the same sense of humor, etc.
    K. Turkey muffins. I am SO glad I found you girl. That’s just genius.
    Can’t wait to keep reading. Love this blog!
    xo

  8. Wow those muffins look great! I have never tried making savory muffins for some reason… I ought to start though 🙂
    I recently found your blog and just love it! Can’t wait to read more

  9. Girl, I’m soooo glad you commented on my blog so I could find yours!!! I looooveee it! 😀
    I totally do the whole “two days before” thing! Sometimes even the three days before thing… the day after tomorrow I can say I’m leaving tomorrow 😉
    Those turkey muffins look yuuuummy! And I’m definitely making your sweet potato pudding sometime!!
    Happy Birthday to your dad! Our dads have the same birthday! 🙂
    ❤ ❤

  10. Happy Birthday to your Dad!! I’m not really a Daddy’s girl… maybe when I was little I was. My sister is for sure though! He’s definitely the best Dad ever though and does a lot for me. The best thing I ate today was my postworkout smoothie, which I literally just finished! Those turkey muffins sound awesome – I used to make those all the time.

A penny for your thoughts...

