Eat Your Dessert!

Hey there! Smile How are all of my lovely readers today!? Smile I hope your Tuesday was as fab and fun-filled as mine was Winking smile We all know my love for Tuesdays!

Even though I am partial for Tuesdays, this one was especially fabulous Winking smile I received really exciting news, created two new tasty treats, and had a wonderful workout Smile This all took place before 9:00 am this morning, but the rest of my day followed the trend of pure awesomeness Smile
I was really productive homework wise, my Food Science lab was cool (we did some experiments with various vegetables), and now I am enjoying my dinner as I blog and watch Friends on TV! Reruns obviously, but it’s been forever since I have actually seen it on TV, so I just had to watch it. Friends was my all-time favourite TV show as I was growing up (I had the biggest crush on Joey!)

I knew it was going to be a wonderful day when, for the first time in a long time, I saw this peaking out behind the trees…

IMG-20111004-00317

Yes! Open-mouthed smile It’s the sun! Recognize it? I didn’t. It’s been incredibly dreary and dark here lately.

My day may have also turned out as awesome as it did due to the amazing breakfast I created for myself Winking smile Anyone up for having dessert for breakfast!?

This recipe requires a teenie bit of prep work the night before, but hey, you do it for overnight oats, so I’m sure you can find the time if you want a little dessert for breakfast, right!? Winking smile

Ladies and gents, I present to you…
Apple Crisp and Protein Ice Cream! Sounds irresistible, doesn’t it!?

eat your dessert 033

Apple Crisp and Protein Ice Cream

1 apple

1/2 cup rolled oats

cinnamon

3/4 cup Greek yogurt

1 scoop vanilla protein powder

Begin the night before by combining yogurt and protein powder. Mix and place in freezer over night. In the morning, run container that you froze the yogurt in under hot water for several minutes until the frozen yogurt easily slides out of container. Meanwhile, boil/bake apples sprinkled with cinnamon and cook oats stove top according to package directions.
Top your ice cream with the hot apples and hot oatmeal! Indulge! I also added a lump of almond butter for the ultimate dessert breakfast of life Winking smile

This meal gave me so much energy (either because it was so incredibly delicious or because of it being a nutritious and well-rounded meal, I think both!) which allowed me to bust out an amazing back and bi workout! Smile It isn’t the same workout that I shared with you guys previously because I wanted to make sure I incorporated narrow grip pull ups in my routine. The trainer I worked with last week informed me that it is a great idea to implement narrow grip pull ups and wide grip pull ups into your routine if you want to improve your back and biceps strength. I definitely want to gain back muscle (I think back muscle is incredibly attractive and important for beautiful posture!), so I decided to take her advice and do a routine with those two exercises included Smile Another piece of advice she offered me was to begin with pull ups, so I can perform the exercise with the least assistance and get the best workout possible Smile

This is the workout I did today
(It was adapted from Jill’s Simple Back and Biceps Workout)

Exercise Sets Reps
Circuit 1
Close Grip Pull Ups 4 6
Wide Grip Pull Ups 4 10
Seated Row 4 10
Circuit 2
Bent Over Single Arm DB Row 3 10
Wide Grip Lat Pull Down 3 10
Double Crunch 3 20
Circuit 3
Cable Curl 3 8
Hammer Curl 3 12
Hanging Leg Raises 3 Failure

I moved fast, resting 1 minute after I completed a full circuit. In total this routine took me approximately 30 – 35 minutes and my arms were complete jellified Smile

I developed a brand spankin’ new PWO meal for myself this morning and fell in love. I am pretty sure this is my new favourite thing on the planet and I don’t even have a picture to share with you all Sad smile!Even though there is no picture, I am assuming you all will have trust in me and give this recipe a shot Winking smile

Sweet Potato Pudding

1 baked sweet potato

1/2 banana

1/2 cup greek yogurt

1 scoop chocolate protein powder (cinnamon flavoured would be amazing with this, too!)

Blend sweet potato and banana together into puree (I used my Magic Bullet and added water as needed). Combine sweet potato and banana puree with yogurt and protein powder. Consume after your workout for the perfect PWO meal Open-mouthed smile

I’ll try to take a picture for you guys tomorrow because I am definitely enjoying this again tomorrow! It was that good Open-mouthed smile I have a feeling Alex is going to like this one? Winking smile

Well that’s all I have for recipes for you guys today, but I do have some exciting news and thoughts to share before I leave you for the night Smile

Exciting News/Announcement

So I only have one piece of exciting news to share with you all, but trust me, it’s really exciting Smile It may not be a huge deal for you, but it sure brought a smile to my face and had me walking tall and proud for the entire day Smile

Since I am in the Foods & Nutrition program, I have to apply for an internship in the middle of my forth year which will then be completed in my fifth year. Internship acceptance heavily relies on amount of experience the applicant has; therefore, I have been working hard each summer with am RD back home on student projects that she has created for me. Last year, I developed a Gluten Free Product Guide for Celiac patients in my hometown. My guide was published into booklet form and is used by many of the patients living with the disease Smile
This year, I focused on dairy free milks and compared their nutritive value. A booklet is being made, once again, for patients interested in comparing nutrients found in different dairy free milks.
During the school year last year, I did some volunteering, but nothing too significant. The largest project that I tackled last year was helping the Eating Disorders Foundation of Canada, which was founded in London, ON., with raising money for transition homes. It was an amazing project to be a part of and plan to continue volunteering with the foundation Smile

This year, I was planning on waiting until second term to do volunteering since my first term is very hectic, but then a position was presented to me that I couldn’t turn down Smile
There was a position available for a student to create a blog for the London Home Economics Association (LHEA)! The student would be given the opportunity to develop a blog for the association and be able to work along side a Foods & Nutrition professor who is very involved with the program, community work, and LHEA. I was very intrigued by this volunteering opportunity and, despite my previous plans, applied! Today I found out I landed the position and will meet with the professor tomorrow! Smile I am really excited about this opportunity and am looking forward to my meeting tomorrow Smile

Thoughts

I have been thinking a lot about my training program lately. I have been doing a lot of research on different workout splits, exercises, etc. I definitely want to gain muscle and do not want to over train. In some peoples opinion, training your lower body and upper body two times a week is most beneficial, but in other peoples opinion, targeting certain muscle groups (what I am currently doing) provides best results. Through much deciphering, I think it’s all your own opinion. Since I love what I am doing right now, I will stick with it. I am going to continue with my 5 day split, but remember, since I am focusing on certain muscle groups each workout, my workouts hardly take 45 minutes to complete.
I emailed my trainer for advice and insight. She suggested I stick with focusing on certain muscle groups rather than 2 upper body workouts and 2 lower. I am happy I emailed her and was provided with such helpful feed back. She said by training specific muscle groups I will avoid overtraining which is something I definitely do not want to do! If I overtrain, I will not see the results I want.
The back and bi workout I did today will be the routine I follow each Tuesday. I will be doing back and biceps on Tuesdays (the beginning of my weekly workout routine) since I want to work hard on gaining back muscle and strength. It is beneficial to start your workout week (when you are the strongest) with the workout that you need to work the most at. I want to improve my pull ups, so I decided to start with back and bi’s Smile

If I do not see gains, I will start upping my calories which is another component when it comes to seeing gains (a very important component!) I have not done cardio for a week which will also help me with gaining muscle Smile

As for tomorrow, my workout will be quad focused (squats!) If it changes from this workout, I will update you tomorrow, but I really like that workout, so we will see what happens Smile

Thanks for listening! Smile

xoxo
Meg

Something to try:
When performing bicep curls (using a barbell or cable), focus on the negative (the downward motion) Concentrate on descending slowly. This method is great way to implement intensity into your workout!

Have you used negatives in your training routine before?
Do you do any type of volunteering? If so, what do you do?
Tell me something exciting!

About Meg (A Dash of Meg)

Hello, my name is Meg. I am a 20-year-old passionate Foods & Nutrition student on my way to becoming a Registered Dietitian who loves food, cooking, fitness, seafood, and a nice cup of tea.

Posted on October 4, 2011, in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink. 27 Comments.

  1. Haha you’re so right, I think I’m in love with that sweet potato pudding recipe 🙂 I’ve had Greek yogurt, protein powder, and sweet potato together, but never with a banana too, yum 😀
    And a big congrats on landing the position! Tomorrow should be oober exciting, can’t wait to hear how it goes!
    I volunteer at an animal shelter and love every second of it, it’s just so hard jot to bring them all home though! I want all of the dogs and cats! 😛

  2. Wowee, congrats on the publication of the guide and the internship- you should be really,really proud- you talented girl!
    Yeah, Friend just does not get old! And I also totally thought Joey was HAWT .
    Thanks for the workout( I will def be trying it) and all the tips , I’m always needing ways to improve in strength training.
    That pudding sounds exactly like my kinda thing- I make something similar replacing the potato with mango- which is also deeelish:)
    Xxx

  3. Yum! The apple crisp + protein ice cream sounds amazing! 🙂

  4. You are my hero! I wish I could complete just even one pull up. Biceps and back are definately what I would love to improve but with the options and space at the school gym here, its quite hard. Once I get back to Yorkton, and have a home gym to use again, I will be using your routine for sure!

    Also, that sweet potato and banana recipe of yours sounds amazing! I will add that to my list of recipes to try 😉

    Hope your Wednesday is just as productive as today and thanks a million for all the help/tips these past few days ❤ not sure what I would do without you 🙂

  5. Ooh I love the recipes! It’s like apple pie a la mode, and im always looking for fun new ways to use sweet potatoes! Congrats on the blog development opportunity. That’s such a cool thing to do and I know you’re going to do so well with it. They picked a great person for the job 🙂

  6. congrats on your intern position! that’s amazing 🙂

  7. Your breakfast looks amazing! I tried something similar not too long ago with peaches instead of apples. So so good! What kind of protein powder do you use? I’m looking for one that’s not full of artificial stuff…and that actually tastes good!

    • I like using natural powders too! Currently, I am using the All Natural Whey Isolate products from BioX 🙂 I also have Promasil which tastes incredible and is sweetened with stevia, but also some artificial flavours. After I finish these tubs, I will be purchases About Time Protein 🙂 I have heard amazing things about this powder and recently found it in a store here, so that’s my next purchase! 🙂 You can order it online at http://www.tryabouttime.com/ Unfortunately, they do not ship to Canada so I am out of luck 😦 But, the store I found does carry the chocolate and vanilla flavours

      • Thanks Meg! I am out of luck too…from Toronto 🙂 I’ll look into those brands, maybe I can locate them somewhere! Just a suggestion – you should get the Comment Reply Notification widget so that people can see when you write back to them on here! I came back to check because I was curious. When you install the widget, people get an email with your reply 🙂

  8. The post just kept on getting better and better.

    Firstly- Yum I want to try that baked potato. As well, the “Dessert for Breakfast” looked scrumptious… As I begin to workout more (Still not quite there) I want to add protein powder into my diet so this will be a FIRST on my list. My friend tweeted me and said she baked cranberries/peaches/apples and cinnamon (all) together- Maybe another combination with the oats?

    Secondly- WOOT WOOT WOOT! You are so personable (Although sometimes you are so wise I become intimidated) and will be GREAT for this position. Congratulations Megs!

    Would it be possible to read those two booklets- You are neither Celiac nor Lactose-Intollerant though right? I find Gluten free sets better in my tummy but I LOVE my normal cows milk (Then again I can’t have almond…:()!

    Good job Megs. Loved the post and LOVE the accomplishments you have been making. As for that back of yours- Can’t wait to see you wear a low back shirt someday!

  9. Protein powders are so expensive and I REALLY wish they weren’t. Trying to gain and be “okay” with food is so hard when my money is nonexistent. I’m really struggling. Never tried those brand name protein powders before.

    Meg, what can someone do that can’t really run yet because they need to gain, but can do strength, but no (no) gym or equipment. I need structure and a sense of accomplishement, a goal. Flailing and doing nothings is not working for me. Help? And when you were underweight, how did you know when you were “okay” to start again (my doctors are pretty uneducated. I’m totally medically fine though). Maybe I’m just depressed and maknig excuses and being lazy?

  10. Wow, congratulations Meg! That’s awesome news 🙂

    I just can’t do the sweet potato as a dessert/smoothie. It seems so wrong to me! Haha

    I would definitely recommend sticking with the five day body part specific plan you’ve got, although it does depend on your goals. Because I’m competing I don’t have much choice: I have to do a lot of isolation work. For those who are looking to improve their general fitness, though, I would suggest the four day upper body split.

    Your back and bicep workout looks great though – I also need to work on my pull ups the most! I never even thought of doing back day at the start of the week when I’m feeling strongest, so thanks for the tip 🙂

    • WOW TARA! Thanks for the comments 😀 This honestly means so much to me! I love getting advice from others who KNOW what they are doing 😀 !!!!! Maybe we can chat about a 4 day split? I can small legs and want to gain mass really badly

  1. Pingback: The Day I Wait For « A Dash of Meg

  2. Pingback: This Is My Home « A Dash of Meg

  3. Pingback: Let’s Get Nerdy « A Dash of Meg

  4. Pingback: Protein Powder Review and a Fierce Workout « A Dash of Meg

  5. Pingback: Attitude is Everything « A Dash of Meg

  6. Pingback: Goals, Changes, and Challenges: Everything Else « A Dash of Meg

A penny for your thoughts...

