Sunday, Smiles, and Recipes

Hello friends! Open-mouthed smile Yet another new week is about to begin! How exciting Smile It’s like a breath of fresh air Smile Truthfully, I really do look forward to Mondays. New beginnings are always great, but, really, you can turn anything around and look at it as a “new beginning” or a “fresh start”. That’s exactly what I did with my day today…

Sundays have always been a “family” type of day for me.

My parents and I usually start off our Sundays with church which is always a great way to spend an hour together as a family Smile After church my Dad usually spend time cooking with each other. We always tried to create a new recipe on Sundays Smile

20th bday 034

(This is a picture of my Dad and I this summer testing out new marinades on a few racks of ribs!)

The rest of the day would be spent with my Mom and Dad doing various things around the house and in our back yard. My Mom and I always liked to wrap up the day with a walk around our neighbourhood Smile

june 038

(Mom and I heading out for our first walk of the summer once I came home this June!)

Yes, Sundays are family days for me, so I find Sundays to be “hard days” while being away… I try to occupy myself by scheduling a gym session in the morning and leaving my homework and meal prep for the week on this day, but today I was having a hard time getting out of my funky Sunday mood.

I’m not sure why it was so hard for me to turn this particular Sunday into something positive, but it was. Maybe I know I’ll be home in less than a week, so I just want this coming week to fly by as fast as possible.

Even though today was tougher than usual Sundays, I did manage to turn it around and “start fresh” Smile Thanks to a little help… Winking smile

A call from my Mom can always help me out Smile She always seems to know what to say. I guess it’s that “motherly nature” she is ever so blessed with. In my opinion, she is the worlds best Mom Smile I chatted to my Mom for a while and over the course of our conversation she convinced me to go to the mall. Not like it takes a shopaholic much convincing to go to the mall, but she basically ordered me to go to the mall and buy some new shoes for myself Smile

Shopping = Happy Meg, so off to the mall I went Smile

While driving to the mall, some other things brought a smile to my face Smile

Feel good songs were playing on my CD player when I got into my car Smile I have an old, old mixed CD in my car and it always brings back memories of my friends and I driving around town way back when we were young and 16 Winking smile Some of the songs that played on my way to the mall were:

Brittany Spears – I Love Rock ‘n Roll

Hilary Duff – Sweet 16

Skye Sweetnam – Billy S

(I told you the CD was old old!)

I also noticed a nose picker in my rear view mirror, so I got a chuckle out of that Winking smile You’re never too old or too glum to laugh at someone picking their nose and driving…

My trip to the mall was successful and I actually spent less money than I thought I would, but I came home with more purchases than I thought I would as well!

How on Earth does that work!?

NO I did not steal.

Gift cards! Smile 

I got a steal of a deal on my shoes Winking smile

shopping sunday 021

And used my GAP gift card to buy these

shopping sunday 023

And my Aritzia gift card to buy this

shopping sunday 022

It was a great day of shopping Smile However, I was a little disappointed…

I spent so much time in Aritzia, that by the time I was ready to purchase my top, the mall was closing. Which means, by the time I got upstairs to DavidsTea it was locked up Sad smile 

A closed DavidsTea = a sad Meg

Luckily, I am an addict and have my own stash at home Winking smile So I’m currently sipping on one of my favourites, Banana Nut Bread! It honestly tastes exactly like banana nut bread boys and girls. I do not lie.

shopping sunday 026

Now as promised, recipes!

hoco2011 004

All Natural PB&J

Spread your favourite all natural nut butter on an Ezekiel english muffin or a piece of toast and top with raspberries (or any fresh fruit!)

foodbeautifulfood 029

Crunchy Carrot and Chickpea Salad

1 cup chickpeas (I used canned)

1 cup shredded carrot

2/3 cup chopped tomatoes

1/4 cup diced green onion

1 Tbsp sunflower seeds

chopped fresh dill

pepper to taste

Combine all ingredients together and dress with…

White Wine Citrus Vinaigrette

1 Tbsp olive oil

1 Tbsp white wine vinegar

1 Tbsp lemon juice

I hope your enjoyed my recipes Smile I have been loving this salad as a side for my lunch this week! Let me know if you test it out Open-mouthed smile

I’m off to a student council meeting now! Hopefully I get good feedback from the Homecoming Parade! Winking smile 

Talk to you all tomorrow!

Love always,

Meg
xoxo

Do you dread or love Mondays?
Does anyone have the same experience with Sundays as me?
Any shopping sprees lately? What did you buy?

About Meg (A Dash of Meg)

Hello, my name is Meg. I am a 20-year-old passionate Foods & Nutrition student on my way to becoming a Registered Dietitian who loves food, cooking, fitness, seafood, and a nice cup of tea.

Posted on October 2, 2011, in Accessories, Breakfast, Clothing, Dinner, Eat, Lunch, Recipes, Shoes, Style, Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 34 Comments.

  1. Ehh…Mondays are okay. I always look forward to my lifting in the morning, and my photoshop class…but after that it all goes down hill when I have to go to my Astronomy class. 😛
    I love the clothes you got- they’re super cute!

  2. Cauuute shoes.. love the Gap too! Toasted ezekial english muffins. Good choice 😀

  3. I can’t believe you posted this–we are SO similar! My parents and I always do stuff together on Sundays too, and I miss them SO much on these days. Being an only child, I’m super close with them. Like you, I find keeping busy really helps, if my mind is idle for too long I get really homesick. Annnndd shopping never hurts haha 😉 love the cute clothes you snagged!
    And I like mondays too, yay for a fresh start! 😀

  4. I’m so excited to go home next weekend too. I’m starting to really miss my family! There’s nothing like the comfort of being at home and cooking up family meals together. 🙂

    Cute shopping buys! I love that Aritzia top. Sadly enough I haven’t even had time to get to the mall lately.

    • It was my first time this entire school year! Crazy! It seems like last year I was there ALL the time. I guess rez was just that awful I had to get out a whole lot more haha. I am happy you are going home for Thanksgiving too 🙂 YAY!

  5. Nice finds! I love shopping on a Sunday 🙂 Moms are the best, huh?

  6. Are we twins? Seriously, my Sundays at home are the same as yours–I go to church, go for walks with my parents and even cook with my dad sometimes! I always struggle with finding something to keep me busy on the weekends I don’t go home, but shopping is the perfect solution 😀 I am also a total shopaholic and I love your purchases!

  7. ehh mondays are okay for me. i don’t dread them and i don’t like them. and shopping sprees…i go on shopping sprees at whole foods 🙂 so basically my wallet hurts after…a lot

  8. Hey, just found your blog and like it a lot. Love your shopping finds and your yummy eats ❤ hope you'll enjoy your Monday!

    xoxo Mel

  9. I normally do dread Mondays.. I think its just the fact of having to go to work or that the weekend of doing what ever you wanted is over. Currently though, my school schedule has the best days on Monday and Friday so I quite enjoy Mondays right now because I only have classes in the mornings 🙂

    I honestly thought I was the only one that got in little ruts like that. I too will look to my mom for comfort and encouragement. I find that getting myself to the gym and just doing a small bit of cardio gets my mind off everything and gets me back into a better mood/mind set. What would we ever do without our Moms? 🙂

    Shopping spree of mine involves a favourite of both of ours, David’s Tea 🙂 I was on my way through Regina Friday and just had to stop in as last time they did not have any Pumpkin Chai to purchase and I just had to try it as it smelt so good! I ended up spending $73! Which isn’t too bad since I did get a cup with infuser for my friend for her birthday along with two types of teas for her and two new ones for me. I got two from the Fall Collection for myself. Pumpkin Chai and Mom’s Apple Pie. Both are wonderful. I am quite jealous of your tea stash though. A few months back I wanted to purchase Banana Nut Bread but they informed me that it was only a seasonal tea and did not have it. Did they happen to bring it back this fall and I just did not notice? 🙂 If so, I may have to make another trip, and spurge at David’s Tea this week!

  10. I love David’s Tea!! My favourite is Forever Nuts! I’m definitely going to try Banana Nut Bread since it has your approval 😉

  11. I am loving your shopping finds Meg… the shoes are so cute!
    I try not to dread Mondays, they go by quick enough I guess haha
    And I am going home this weekend, so hopefully my mom and I will also go on a shopping spree 🙂

  12. Every monday is different for me…depends on homework/schedule for the week, but sometimes the start of a new week can be refreshing!
    I don’t get to spend Sunday with my family because I’m away at school, but when I was in high school, Sundays were always pretty chill because that was the one day I had off from swim practice, so I would just hang out at home, catch up on homework, and relax 🙂
    P.S LOVING the clothing haul – very cute stuff 🙂

  13. Those shoes are adorable!- I just found your blog and you’re adorable too!:)
    I love all natural pb sammies, especially with strawberries, dark chocolate dreams with strawbs is awesome too
    Xxx

  1. Pingback: The Dilemma « A Dash of Meg

  2. Pingback: Give Yourself Some Creds « A Dash of Meg

  3. Pingback: Friday Favourites: Christmas Presents « A Dash of Meg

A penny for your thoughts...

