Welcoming Autumn

Happy Friday everyone! Smile Who else is super happy it’s finally the weekend!? I feel absolutely swamped with homework, so it’s going to be a homework weekendfor me, that’s for sure! I am taking five courses, two of which have labs and believe it or not I have a project in every single one of those classes except one!

So, in the spirit of the new season upon us, here is how I have celebrated my day Smile

A new pancake recipe featuring… apples! The fruit of the season Winking smile

autumn 004

Apple Protein Pancakes

1.5 oz apple

2 tbsp almond milk

¼ cup egg white

¼ cup rolled oats

½ scoop vanilla protein powder

I topped these fluffy monsters with Greek protein yogurt frosting and my favourite freeze-dried apple crisps, Yogavive!

My favourite fall knit from French Connection Smile

autumn 011

So warm and cozy Smile

Leggings that were incredibly inappropriate for the rainy day Sad smile

IMG-20110923-00270

A three hour lecture of Food Science

The three hours of lecture really flew by today Smile Our lecture was all about fruit and how to buy, store, and cook it. My professor loves class discussion, so I learnt some pretty neat tips today that I have never heard of before Smile

This tip interested me the most:
– To remove the “sting” a fresh pineapple creates on the tongue, soak sliced/cubed pineapple in a salt water solution for 2 – 5 minutes and problem solved!

An autumn-inspired lunch that had the entire library wondering what smelt so good I am sure Winking smile

IMG-20110923-00269

Roasted Zucchini and Butternut Squash Bowl

1 cup roasted zucchini (seasoned with herbs prior to roasting)

1 cup roasted butternut squash, cubed

1 chicken breast, cooked and sliced

Goat cheese

Slivered almonds

I began to roast my butternut squash before the zucchini because butternut squash takes longer to cook. I roasted the butternut squash and zucchini at 375 degrees. The butternut squash was in the oven for 30 minutes, while the zucchini took only approximately 20 minutes (depending on the size). Once your zucchini and squash is roasted, place in bowl, add chicken, cheese, and almonds! I heated this up for my lunch today at school Smile

A wet walk to Biochemistry (no smiley face here! Just kidding, it wasn’t that bad – I love getting some fresh air between classes and studying!)

IMG-20110923-00272

A cup of season-appropriate tea Winking smile

tea 002

This stuff is good, but I was really craving DavidsTea’s new flavour, Mom’s Apple Pie, from their new fall collection Smile

Hello, my name is Meg and I am a DavidsTea addict Smile

davidstea 003

The rest of my wonderful autumn day has been pretty swell Smile I had a friend over, chatted with my parents over the phone, and now I will probably just chill until the sand man gets me Winking smile (I’m like an old lady, so bed time will be soon!)

With all of the rain and gloomy skies today, my parents thought they’d send a picture of the weather back home to tease me SmileIt worked.

2011-09-23 06.51.50

Lovely, isn’t it? Saskatchewan is definitely hogging the sun! This picture was taken at 6:52 AM! Our morning definitely did not look like this! It looked more like 10:00 PM Smile

Goodnight friends!

I hope you all had a wonderful first day of autumn Smile And if you had Mom’s Apple Pie tea today, you should have shared with me Winking smile

Meg
xoxo

What’s your favourite flavour of tea? Mine is always changing, but I think you may have a hint of what my current obsession is Winking smile??

Have you ever heard of soaking pineapple in salt water to remove the “sting” or tartness?

How did you welcome the new season?

About Meg (A Dash of Meg)

Hello, my name is Meg. I am a 20-year-old passionate Foods & Nutrition student on my way to becoming a Registered Dietitian who loves food, cooking, fitness, seafood, and a nice cup of tea.

Posted on September 23, 2011, in Breakfast, Eat, Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 7 Comments.

  1. Ooh great pancake recipe! Sounds perfect for fall, man I’m so excited for apple season woohoo! 😀
    Best of luck with all of your homework this weekend, I know you’ll totally own it 😉 Happy Friday!

  2. Wow, I really do love your blog. Its a lot of fun.

    I tried emailing you again, but no response. No big deal though. I tried the email printed on your “about” page. Oh well!

  3. With a pumpkin spice latte of course! 😉
    Love that pancake recipe!

  4. you are so pretty! i love all the fall inspirations in this post…eeek i CAN’T WAIT! Love your rain jacket!

A penny for your thoughts...

