How To: Lettuce Wraps

Hello everyone and welcome to my first “how to” post Smile I thought it would be fun to explain how to make a simple and easy dinner that is also tasty and nutritious! As a busy university student, I find that an evening of lettuce wraps is a fun way to get away from the books, but allow me to get back into the homework jive right away Winking smile No time to waste, right!?

Last night I had a dear friend over for dinner and decided to treat her to some lettuce wraps as she has never had them before Smile

If you want to make lettuce wraps for a dinner party or any meal at all this is how you can go about preparing them…

First, I like to choose the type of protein I will be using! It was a nice night for the grill, so BBQ chicken was the source of protein for these lettuce wraps!

dinner with kal 019

Other ideas for protein options are:

  • Extra lean ground beef
  • BBQ pork
  • Shrimp (peeled and tails removed!)
  • Crab meat
  • Extra lean ground turkey/chicken
  • Turkey
  • Tofu
  • Yves Veggie Ground Round

the options are endless!

Next, choose your veggies! This is the fun and easy part Smile Choose your favourite veggies! This is also a great way to use up vegetables in your refrigerator Smile The vegetables that I had on hand were:

dinner with kal 022

– bell pepper

dinner with kal 023

– cucumber

dinner with kal 024

– carrot

dinner with kal 026

– sprouts

dinner with kal 021

– green onion

I like slicing the vegetables really thin, so they fit nicely into the lettuce wraps! Smile

I also like making the table look perdy Winking smile

dinner with kal 020

After you have your veggies sliced and chopped, it’s time for the grain! There are so many different options for grain/starch sources which is what makes lettuce wraps so versatile Smile My family usually rolls with rice, whole wheat couscous, or quinoa, but there are so many more options and combinations! I still have yet to try them with garbanzo beans, one of my favourites!

roasted veg salad 004

A carb source that would make your lettuce wraps more “Asian” inspired is Cantonese noodles! They give a great texture and crunch to lettuce wraps! Smile

Next is the toppings!

Toppings are another fun part Smile (I am starting to think lettuce wraps are just super fun all around!)

I always like to add a healthy fat Smile My favourite? Avocado!

dinner with kal 034

And another necessity for lettuce wraps? Sauces! My favourite? Hot sauce! Salad dressings are another great topping for your wrap Smile My Mom’s favourite sauce for lettuce wraps is peanut sauce, so I created this recipe for her this summer during a lettuce wrap feast:

Healthy Peanut Sauce

1 Tbsp natural peanut butter

2 tsp low sodium soy sauce

1 tsp ginger paste or minced ginger

1 Tbsp hot water

Mix all ingredients together. The hot water will “melt” the peanut butter and create a great consistency for the sauce. Make sure to stir until all clumps are removed!

The last and most important ingredient for lettuce wraps?

THE LETTUCE WRAPS!
(Did you think I was going to forget the most important ingredient!? Winking smile Never.)

dinner with kal 027

This is a fun dinner to have with your family or friends Smile I like it because it is a complete meal containing protein, carbs, healthy fats, and vegetables and you can make each wrap different!

Have you ever had a lettuce wrap night before?

What is your favourite meal to prepare for dinner guests?

See you in the fall Winking smile

Meg
xoxo

About Meg (A Dash of Meg)

Hello, my name is Meg. I am a 20-year-old passionate Foods & Nutrition student on my way to becoming a Registered Dietitian who loves food, cooking, fitness, seafood, and a nice cup of tea.

Posted on September 22, 2011, in Dinner, Eat, Lunch, Recipes, Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 2 Comments.

  1. Well I wish I was there!! 🙂
    All your ingredients looked amazingly delicious!! 😀
    Lucky friends to have you cooking for them!
    Love you,
    Mom 😉
    xoxoxoxoxox

  2. Yum! I love lettuce wraps, but I’ve never used such awesome ingredients! mine are usually just tuna and mustard with quinoa haha 😉 Happy almost weekend!!

A penny for your thoughts...

