Cold Feet

Hey loves Smile How was everyone’s Monday? Mine was… wet. From the moment I left for school to the moment I returned to my cozy apartment, it was either sprinkling, showering, or absolutely pouring rain. Oh well, it happens. And like my Mom says, it cleans everything up Smile I also love the smell of fresh rain, too, so I wont continue to complain Winking smile

My day started out with a breakfast I created this summer and had to make again, a breakfast burrito Smile

rainy day 001

I began by scrambling eggs, chopped tomatoes, Veggie Ground Round Original, and chopped green onions.

Once the eggies are cooked you are ready to roll it up in your favourite tortilla! My favourite are Ezekiel tortilla’s Winking smile 

Add some hot sauce if you like it spicy like me Winking smile

rainy day 005

(the entire scramble didn’t fit into the tortilla, so I had a side dish with a pool of hot sauce on top Winking smile)

Breakfast was tasty, but lunch was phenomenal. My new creation should by tried by everyone reading because I ensure you will love love love it if you like egg salad Smile The egg salad I made contains no mayo and no yolk, but tastes like a replica of the “real” egg sandwich. It was phenomenal. I ate my sandwich in the student council office and was caught stuffing my face and licking my fingers at the same time by one of my friends and fellow student council members Smile Why do people always seem to look at the wrong time? Smile She had a good laugh…

rainy day 011

No-Mayo No-Yolk Egg Salad Sandwich

6 whites from boiled eggs

60 g of your favourite original hummus (I used one single serving container of my favourite hummus)

1 Tbsp avocado

Combine, mash, and mix this long list of ingredients together and spread over your favourite slice of bread Smile

I decided to top my bread with alfalfa sprouts first and then add my egg salad Smile The egg salad would be delicious on its own, too! You guys seriously need to try this recipe Smile 

rainy day 010

Too bad my friend didn’t get a picture of me with my mouth full of egg salad and finger lickin’ Winking smile Now that would have been a sight for all of you to see; however, somehow I don’t think I would have shared such a beautiful photo with all of you Winking smile A little embarrassing?

After lunch I roamed the halls of Brescia and participated in Clubs Week! Smile Clubs Week is a full week event that gives UWO students the opportunity to check out all of the clubs that UWO and affiliate colleges, such as Brescia, have to offer! There is an extensively long list of clubs offered by the university. It blew me away the first time I read over it as a first year Smile Some of them are pretty neat Smile I wish there was more time in a day, so I could participate in more fun events Sad smile Who wouldn’t like to belong to a club called For the Love of Wine?

Despite my busy schedule, I did sign up for clubs offered specifically for Foods & Nutrition students:

– Students Human Ecology Association (SHEA)

– Canadian Association of Foodservice Professionals (CAFP

I was a member last year and wanted to register again. I am also going to become a member of London Home Economics Association (LHEA) and Ontario Human Ecology Association (OHEA), too. All of these clubs help improve my knowledge on the dietetics and human ecology profession and I like to keep busy Winking smile

Speaking of busy, I should get busy doing my dishes! It’s always nice waking up to a clean kitchen Smile Right Dad?

Have a great night!

Meg
xoxo

One last thing:

I know I said I wouldn’t complain about the rain anymore, but look at my shoes!

rainy day 016

They are not suppose to be this horrible dark green colour! I guess I will stop wearing my TOMS on rainy days? Not a good idea, not at all. My feet were freezing the entire day. I hate soggy feet.

But it sure felt good coming home to these babies Winking smile

rainy day 015

Beauties aren’t they?

Have a crazy pair of socks that keep your feet super warm? Send me a picture to dashofmeg@hotmail.com Smile If I get enough pictures maybe I’ll have a warm fuzzy sock inspired post Winking smile

About Meg (A Dash of Meg)

Hello, my name is Meg. I am a 20-year-old passionate Foods & Nutrition student on my way to becoming a Registered Dietitian who loves food, cooking, fitness, seafood, and a nice cup of tea.

Posted on September 19, 2011, in Breakfast, Dinner, Eat, Lunch, Recipes, Uncategorized and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 12 Comments.

  1. Oooh that egg salad sounds DELISH! I love alfalfa sprouts on my sandwiches too, they always add a nice crunch 😀
    Sorry to hear about your soggy shoes! I wore my Toms today too and stepped in a giant puddle…I feel your soggy pain haha 😉 Those socks look insanely warm and amazing–since it’s always blazing hot here I never really invested in a nice warm pair, but I want to!

  2. Those fuzzy socks are soooo cute. Love them 🙂 And i love me some eggs doused in hot sauce!

  3. Those socks are absolutely adorable! They make me want to cozy up in a blanket and sip tea. Maybe after class!

    As for the egg salad recipe, I’ve never been a fan of eggs until this year so I haven’t even dared (Still not fond of the egg yolk- Too strong of a taste) to try egg salad! Maybe I’ll have to try this recipe. What do you do with the egg yolks? I hate wasting food! I only wish I could somehow boil egg whites (IS that possible to do?) from a carton so that I don’t waste the insides!!

  4. No no, I love YOUR blog! That egg salad sounds incredible. I love eggs, hate mayo. This is the perfect alternative!

  5. Hi Meg,(I sent you an email but am not sure if my email is working).
    I’m wondering if you can help me. I need meal plans starting with 2200, then 2400 and 2600 . I’m not vegan (not at all).I tend to do better with protein/fat I think. But I’m a bit of binger with cereals, etc…but I’d like to think they are okay…Any websites, books, blogs that show calorie counts and good plans? I have no morning appetite and tend to go for smoothie…but feel I may be overdoing the dairy/protein powder/nuts during the day, but can’t help it.
    I walk daily once and do some gentle stretches occasionally. Also, do you think a weight gain of 2 lbs per week is too aggressive?
    Thanks for any help. It would be so helpful! You can email me if you want. I understand if I’m a nuisance though, so thanks either way.

    • Hi Jeni, sorry I don’t think I received your email! If you want to try emailing me again that would be great, but I am wondering… have you ever searched for a dietitian near to you? I am not a dietitian yet, so I don’t really feel comfortable suggesting meal plans and giving clinical advice regarding weight gain. I have had great experience with meeting up with dieitians and asking them questions! 🙂 So knowledgable! I can’t wait until I have my RD! 🙂

  1. Pingback: Positivity is the Source of Happiness « A Dash of Meg

A penny for your thoughts...

