Long Distance Tea Date

Hello friends Smile How is your weekend so far? Mine has been pretty productive. It is a lot easier doing homework for classes that I am actually interested in than not; last year I had to take business and computer science, not my thang Winking smile I read a lot about nutrition care programs today, how to carry out a nutrition assessment, and I also did my first practice case study today too! Smile I needed to begin practicing case studies because we have been assigned two case studies this week that will be due by the end of this term. Case studies are done in groups of three, but members usually assign questions to each other and then compile answers later on closer to the due date. I received my group placement for one of the case studies so far and my group members and I have already made a date to meet up for this coming week! The usual fast pace of school is sneaking up on me already!

Even though my day was productive, it was more on the laid back side Winking smile I needed a day to enjoy my new home, chill, and have Meg time Smile I love having time to myself and rarely get bored; I think it is an only child thing?

My Meg time included:

  • New recipes

baking 009

My breakfast was a new-to-me recipe that I came across a while ago over at Twink and the City. I was excited to try this recipe because they are a “protein powder free” protein pancake. All of my protein pancakes include a protein powder of some type, so I thought I would give this one a whirl Smile They tasted fab, especially with the addition of my wonderful sugar-less blueberry syrup Smile

Protein Powder Free Protein Pancakes

1/2 cup cottage cheese

1/2 cup egg whites

1/4 cup rolled oats

1/4 wheat bran

1/4 tsp baking powder

1/4 tsp baking soda

pinch of salt

pinch of Stevia

baking 003

Blend all ingredients together and cook in a non-stick pan over medium heat.

Sugar-less Blueberry Syrup

1 cup blueberries

1 – 2 tsp lemon juice

Bring blueberries and lemon juice to a boil. Mash all blueberries with potato masher. Remove from heat.

baking 016

Lunch time called for a Mexican inspired meal Open-mouthed smile Not sure what to call this combo, but it is definitely worth sharing Smile

Vegetarian Mexi Stir Fry

1 medium red bell pepper, chopped

1/2 cup brown rice

2 servings Yves Veggie Ground Round Original

1/2 cup cottage cheese

2 tbsp avocado, thinly sliced

olive oil

Sauté red peppers, rice, and ground round in pan over medium heat. Remove from heat and top with cottage cheese and avocado. Easy peasy!

baking 023

Supper included a lazy man’s version of stuffed chicken breast Winking smile That’s the way I was rolling today…

Deconstructed Stuffed Chicken Breast

1 chicken breast, sliced in half

handful fresh spinach

sundried tomatoes

goat cheese/ricotta cheese/any cheese Open-mouthed smile 

Layer up your chicken as pictured above (chicken, spinach, sundried tomatoes, cheese) and broil in the oven!

  • Body Rock

I tested out a new Body Rock interval workout to get my blood pumpin’ in between all of my studying Winking smile I worked up a sweat for a quick 20 mins. which is a norm when it comes to any Body Rock workout.

  • A much needed tea date

baking 021

By far, this was the best part of my day Smile I had a “long distance” tea date with my Daddy Smile He called me while I was taking a study break and we chatted while having tea at the same time Smile This is something my parents and I started doing last year to make it seem like we aren’t so far away from one another. There have even been times that my Mom and I will go to the gym “together”, her in Yorkton and me here. I think it’s pretty cool Smile 

I hope you enjoyed the new recipes I shared with you today! Smile Try them out and tell me what you think Smile I am trying to get my parents into eating Yves Veggie Ground Round. I think it is so tasty! Maybe since I shared the recipe on my blog they will test it out Winking smile 

Do you enjoy having time to yourself or do you get bored easily?

Did you make any new recipes today?

Have you done Body Rock before?

Meg
xoxo

 

About Meg (A Dash of Meg)

Hello, my name is Meg. I am a 20-year-old passionate Foods & Nutrition student on my way to becoming a Registered Dietitian who loves food, cooking, fitness, seafood, and a nice cup of tea.

Posted on September 17, 2011, in Breakfast, Dinner, Eat, Lunch, Recipes, Sweat, Uncategorized, Workouts and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 8 Comments.

  1. These recipes are rockin my friend!! I wanna eat em all 🙂 I love having time to myself, it’s nice to just kick back and have some peace with your thoughts. And I’ve tried body rock too, isn’t it awesome?! Love it!
    Hope the rest of your weekend is nice and relaxing!

  2. Those pancakes sound so good! Going to make them really soon! 🙂

  3. your recipes look great!! Dontcha just love the magic bullet? And I love mexican inspired egg meals…I grew up in texas and we have so much stuff w/ beans and avocados!

  1. Pingback: Women, Beautiful Women « A Dash of Meg

  2. Pingback: Meatless Monday No. 2 « A Dash of Meg

  3. Pingback: A Sweaty Start to a Great Day « A Dash of Meg

  4. Pingback: Going Banana’s for Basil | A Dash Of Meg

A penny for your thoughts...

