Dwell on the Positive

Hello friends Smile I hope everyone had a fantastic day Smile Maybe a wee bit less emotional than mine perhaps? Well, I am not going to dwell on the fact that my mom is gone and I have to face reality now, so I thought I would post about all of the positives that occurred throughout my day today and share a thought I had about what I will be posting about on Tuesdays! Smile

Do you take time in your day to reflect on all of the good in your life? Smile I often reflect on my day and give thanks for all of my blessings before I go to bed or at any random time throughout the day Smile There is so much to give thanks for and I truly believe that by dwelling on the good aspects of our day we are able to lead a much more positive and fulfilling life Smile It really doesn’t take long to reflect on your day and acknowledge all of the good that happened. It is something peaceful to do before you close your eyes at the end of a long day. Maybe even try shutting off your electronics during this time of reflection so there are no interruptions Smile

I am thankful for my school schedule. What do I mean by this? Well, I didn’t have class until 2:30 pm today, so I got to spend the entire morning with my Mom before she had to catch her flight Smile

I am thankful that the tears flowing from my eyes as I left the airport didn’t cause me to get into a car accident as I drove back to school Winking smile (I told you it was an emotional day)

I am thankful that I saw so many more of my friends that I hadn’t seen all summer long. It is always extremely comforting getting hugs from friends that I have missed so much over the summer.

hug

[Source]

I am thankful that I have a class with one of my best friends Smile I had my first Food Science Lab this afternoon and saw her sitting there Winking smile I was extremely happy! We get to cook together now Smile

I am extremely thankful that I got the very last parking stall in the entire lot when I came to class today Smile I was getting prepared to parallel park (I am not too confident with my parallel parking skills, but I needed a spot!) when a nice gentleman pulled out of his stall at the perfect time, so I could easily pull in and make it to class on time Winking smile 

I was happy I was able to have my snack during class today Smile Being a lab and all, I wasn’t sure if I was going to be allowed to, but I figured I would give it a shot since it was a food lab and not a chemistry or biology lab! Luckily for my hungry tummy, I was able to enjoy my afternoon snack in class Smile

I am thankful for this beautiful home I get to come to at the end of the day Smile It is so comforting and “homey” which made it incredibly easy to adjust to Smile 

I am thankful for my readers Smile Even though I would blog without any readers, it is nice to have friendly comments at the end of my posts Smile I love hearing from my readers and knowing that they can relate to what I am going through or feeling Smile

What are you thankful for today?

While I was sitting in class today, an amazing thought came to mind! A theme for Tuesday posts! What do you think of: Tasty Tuesdays?!? I think it is fitting because on Tuesdays I have a Food Science lab where we will be cooking Smile Since I developed this blog not only to reflect and share the adventures of my day, but to also share what I learn throughout my studies I thought it would be a great idea to share recipes or cooking tips that I learn in my Food Science lab! Smile 

Today, I will end my post with a recipe I developed myself Smile Although this recipe was inspired by many floating throughout the bloggy world, this is all mine and it tasted so divine Winking smile My first words to describe this breakfast?

“Oh wow, this is just like dessert!”

Enjoy my friends!! It’s a good one Winking smile

carrot oatmeal 003

Carrot Cake Oatmeal

1 cup almond milk

1/3 cup grated carrot

1/3 cup oats

1 scoop vanilla protein powder

cinnamon

walnuts

more almond milk (or Greek yogurt!!)

Directions

Bring carrots, cinnamon, and milk to boil. Once carrots are tender, add oats. Cook until oats are done. Stir in protein powder. Top with more almond milk and walnuts.

Are you excited for Tasty Tuesdays?

Do you like finding out about new cooking tips and techniques?

Meg
xoxoxo

About Meg (A Dash of Meg)

Hello, my name is Meg. I am a 20-year-old passionate Foods & Nutrition student on my way to becoming a Registered Dietitian who loves food, cooking, fitness, seafood, and a nice cup of tea.

Posted on September 13, 2011, in Eat, Recipes and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink. 5 Comments.

  1. Awwr what a beautiful post 😀 You’re so right that there are tonnes of things to be thankful for each day. We just get so used to having them, that we start to take them for granted. Lately I’ve been putting more effort into noticing the small things… especially when I’m starting to feel down. Once I start taking note of all of the blessings in my life, I start to feel much better. Gotta focus on what we have instead of what we think we don’t.

  2. That oatmeal looks super yummy!! 🙂 Great post reflecting on all things to be thankful for. I find myself doing that from time to time as well and it makes me smile nonstop with joy. Tasty Tuesdays sounds great, can’t wait to see other posts about it!

  1. Pingback: Tuesday Love « A Dash of Meg

A penny for your thoughts...

