Getting Personal

Hey friends! Smile How was your weekend? I hope it was fantastic and all of you have a great week comin’ at ya Winking smile I am looking forward to my week, since I get to go to some new classes and see which friends I have classes with Smile It’s always fun walking into a class and seeing which friends you’ll be hangin’ with all term Smile So far my classes have been great and I am loving this term (I sound crazy since it has only been two days of school so far, but I just know this term will be great!)

I mentioned yesterday that the continuous late nights were really starting to affect me. When I get tired, I tend to get really hard on myself which is totally unnecessary. I need to learn to not be so critical of myself and just chill out sometimes. I am usually pretty chill and a happy-go-lucky type of girl, but once I get over-tired and run down I become hard on myself.

When my grandma and auntie were here (they left this morning) things were very busy. I love being busy, so it was awesome touring them around London and showing them my “London life”, but I was totally out of my routine which was not the easiest thing for me…

I usually eat six meals a day which are generally spread three hours apart. I try not to be too anal about this, but it’s my schedule, it works for me, so I tend to stick with it. I also am used to hitting up the gym at least four times a week, but it was hard to make it even once this week since I had company. I know rest is important, so I didn’t let myself go crazy about not working out, but it was hard to eat out at restaurants for lunch and dinner and not fit in my workouts. I know rest is important and totally necessary, but I like taking care of my body and exercising is one of the things that allows me to do that.

Today, I got back into the swing of things Smile I started my day off with a delicious breakfast of scrambled eggs with grape tomatoes and green onions and a bowl of Scottish oatmeal with cinnamon and a touch of Stevia.

mom and i day 002

I have started a new category on my eat page that will list all of my scrambled egg combo’s Smile I love mixing up the veggies I use, so I thought I would share Smile

I finally got to have a workout today Smile It felt so good to get back into somewhat of a routine Smile I did an upper body workout that consisted of some DB shoulder presses, overhead DB triceps extensions, hammer curls, etc. This workout wasn’t a usual workout I follow, since I just used the weights that the gym in my apartment had to offer Smile I didn’t feel like going to the gym on campus today since my Mom is still with me and we had a lot of things to take care of after my workout Winking smile We were busy gals! Open-mouthed smile

My workout was followed up by a post workout snack. Can’t go without a post workout right? Winking smile

mom and i day 004

– Banana

– Chocolate protein sauce (1 scoop chocolate protein powder mixed with some water)

– Rolled oats

So delicious. You can picture me licking the plate clean because that is exactly what happened Winking smile

After the shopping spree at H&M Mom and I had no choice, but to wear our new outfits Winking smile 

mom and i day 007

mom and i day 008

Lunch was at a new-to-me restaurant Smile A restaurant in London that used to be called Chancy Smith’s, recently changed their name, menu, and chefs. The restaurant is now called Gambrinus Bistro & Cafe and offers a very creative menu that takes a contemporary twist on classics. The have a different lunch menu than their dinner menu, but their lunch menu did not disappoint.

mom and i day 011

I was drawn to the mussels which were served in a broth made of beer, chicken stock, and lemon juice. I also ordered a side salad that came with the most amazing roasted shallot dressing.

mom and i day 015

mom and i day 014

Mom ordered gnocchi which was recommended to her by our waitress. Let’s just say Mom fell in love with this dish and would go back again for dinner. The gnocchi “melted in her mouth” if I remember correctly Winking smile

mom and i day 013

Gambrinus Bistro & Cafe is connected to the Covent Garden Market which makes it even more amazing Smile Just so you all know, I literally wish I lived in the Covent Garden Market. No lie.

Finally, I was able to make a homemade dinner. I have been waiting to do this all week, but it just seemed more fun to take my relatives out to the neat restaurants in London Smile

Tonight I actually got to BBQ! Mom and I enjoyed our dinner on my patio Smile Life is good Smile

mom and i day 024

– BBQ chicken breast

– Sprouted brown rice with lentils and flax

– Steamed asparagus

mom and i day 025

The view Smile Even though the view was great and the weather was prefect, my company was my favourite part of the entire day Smile

first day of school 169

My Mom is my best friend and always will be.

I would spend every moment of every day with her if I could.

She knows when I am upset without me even saying a word.

She gives me a confidence boost every time I need one and even when I don’t.

She listens to every story I have to tell even if they exceptionally boring, long, and pointless.

She constantly shows and tells me how incredibly proud she is of me.

She gives the best hugs in the world.

She always makes sure to tell me how much she loves me and appreciates our friendship.

She always picks out clothes that I love. She has great style.

She is beautiful inside and out.

She is hilarious and can come up with some pretty ridiculously funny phrases and comments.

She is protective, but knows when I need space.

She has created a wonderful life for me and has given me everything plus more.

She is my best friend and I love her Smile Forever and always.

Who is your best friend?

What are some of your favourite things about your best friend?

About Meg (A Dash of Meg)

Hello, my name is Meg. I am a 20-year-old passionate Foods & Nutrition student on my way to becoming a Registered Dietitian who loves food, cooking, fitness, seafood, and a nice cup of tea.

Posted on September 11, 2011, in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink. 2 Comments.

  1. Love your outfit, girl! You and your mom both look beautiful 😀 My mom is my best friend as well. No matter what I’m going through, I can always count on her to be there for me to offer support and advice, and she always does thoughtful things like bake cookies or buy me a little something when I’m in a funk. She puts up with my moods and loves me anyways. I don’t know what I’d do without her.

A penny for your thoughts...

