Reviews, Reviews, and More Reviews!

Hey everyone Smile How was your Friday? I hope everyone is as excited about the weekend as I am Smile Any exciting plans to tell me about?

I have been pretty busy lately with my Mom, Grandma, and Auntie visiting, but it’s been a great time Smile Later nights than I am used to (it is past midnight right now), but enjoying the company Smile

Even though I had a full morning of class and class in the afternoon, I was able to sneak away for a tasty lunch with the girls Winking smile We went to one of my favourite lunch places downtown that my Mom and I discovered in March. It is a cute cafe called Cafe One located on Richmond Row.

blue ginger 003

For being a cafe, this little gem has quite the large menu! They serve everything from a fruit platter to gourmet omelettes for breakfast or pad thai to homemade flatbread pizza’s for lunch or dinner. One of my favourite things about this restaurant is the ability to customize your meal. They offer “protein add-ons” for salads and even pizza! Today I ordered their green salad with a 6 oz. grilled salmon fillet on top. Cafe One also has the most amazing balsamic vinaigrette I have ever tasted. I look forward to the salad dressing every time I visit Winking smile

blue ginger 002

The salmon was done to perfection. I hate when salmon is dried out from cooking it too long; nothing is worse than dried out salmon. When I order salmon, I want a nice juicy fillet Winking smile 

I just need to note that those cherry tomatoes were the sweetest little things I have ever tasted Smile I definitely saved them for my last bite! Do you save your favourites for your last bite? (It’s something I have always done!)

The girls and I decided to go out and see a movie tonight at the theatre Smile Horrible Bosses was playing at 10:10 pm, so we went out for appetizers before the movie. We went to Blue Ginger for appetizers. This was my first time at Blue Ginger and I was extremely impressed. The menu wasn’t large, but the choices were far from limited. The variation of the menu was incredible. They offer everything from tempura vegetable maki rolls to mushroom risotto. Tonight, I chose to roll with the P.E.I. mussels served in a white wine broth with tomatoes, garlic, and sautéed onions. The broth was definitely one of the best I have had with mussels.

blue ginger 017

There were so many different items on the menu I would love to try, so I will definitely be back! I know my Dad would absolutely love the maki rolls, so I think I will take him here in November when he comes to visit me on the long weekend Smile 

Today was a great day for restaurant choices Smile Blue Ginger is definitely a new “go to” place for me now.

We finished our appetizers just in time, so we went directly to the theatre. Horrible Bosses was an OK movie, but definitely not the best. I laughed a few times, but not constantly. I wouldn’t tell people not to go, but it’s definitely not a movie I would rush to.

However, wanna know which movie I DO want to rush to? Smile LION KING 3D! How come I didn’t know about this movie!? I must see this. I have never been to a 3D movie before and I think this would be the perfect movie to see in 3D Smile Lion King 3D is in theatres September 16th and I will definitely be there Winking smile Anyone want to join me? Winking smile

Tomorrow is my last full day with the girls, so we will be shopping, going to visit the farmers market, and trying a few new restaurants I am sure. I love the market, so I am positive that will be the highlight of my day tomorrow Smile

I can’t believe I am still awake. I am becoming quite a night owl I guess? Once my company leaves I will definitely have to get back into a routine. Soon I will not be able to function with this little sleep. I am not a “sleeper inner” by any means, so I need to get to bed early if I want a good sleep!

We are just enjoying each others company right now Smile Chatting and doing the whole girl thing right now Winking smile So I will say goodnight and talk to you all tomorrow!

Good night!

Meg
xoxoxo

Have you been to a 3D movie yet or am I the only one completely missing out?

For those of you in school, have you gotten back into your school routine yet? I can’t wait to get back into my routine! I am sure I will be back in the swing of things by Monday Smile

About Meg (A Dash of Meg)

Hello, my name is Meg. I am a 20-year-old passionate Foods & Nutrition student on my way to becoming a Registered Dietitian who loves food, cooking, fitness, seafood, and a nice cup of tea.

Posted on September 10, 2011, in Eat, Restaurant Reviews, Review. Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

A penny for your thoughts...

