Back to School Jitters and First Restaurant Review!

Hey friends!!!! Open-mouthed smile How are all of you? Smile I have missed you! Sorry about being a slacker with posting lately, but I truly have tried!

My forgetfulness kicked in the other day when leaving Yorkton for London – I left my cell phone charger and laptop charger at home! So, the airport blogging I had anticipated on doing couldn’t happen Sad smile When I got to London, I bought a new laptop charger and was hoping to blog after my wireless internet was hooked up, but I was thrown another loop and my laptop wouldn’t even turn on! The same thing happened to me last year during my first week of university. My laptop spent a little vacay at Staples so they could fix it. Thankfully, this year my laptop chose to fix itself and I am able to start blogging again Smile I hope I still have some readers!?

Since it has been a few days since I posted last, I should update you on what’s going on…

Mom and I flew to London. We arrived Tuesday night, went out for supper, grabbed a few groceries, and hit the hay! It was a long day of travel!

On Wednesday night, my Auntie (my Mom’s sister) and my Grandma (my Mom’s mom) flew to London, so Mom and I went to the airport to greet them Open-mouthed smile I was so excited. The only visitors I have had so far have been my parents, so now I get to show some new peeps what London life is life Winking smile

first day of school 152

Today marked my first day of classes of my third year of university. I actually had back to school jitters while getting ready before my first class! I felt really stressed because I wasn’t able to use my internet to see my course outlines before I went to class, but I also just felt generally nervous. I am in my third year of university, but many classes of mine have a blend of third and fourth year students. The two classes I had today are very important courses for my program, Clinical Nutrition and Advanced Food Science, so the nerves may have been slightly elevated because of them.

My first class began at 11:30 and ended at 2:30, so I got to school for 11:00, with my new David’s Tea travel mug in hand, and enjoyed my very first class of the year Smile I think I am going to love my Clinical Nutrition class. We did our first lecture today and I was fascinated with the material.

first day of school 173

On Thursdays I have two back-to-back three hour lectures. Yes, you read that correctly. If you add that up, it totals to a constant six hours of Foods and Nutrition, but hey, this girl ain’t complainin’ Winking smile 

ALERT: I am a die hard nutrition nerd Smile

Even though I was incredibly jealous of how my Mom, Grandma, and Auntie were spending their afternoon, shopping downtown, I was totally loving school life again Smile I am so happy to be back in action at Brescia Winking smile

The six hours literally flew by and before I knew it I was also downtown shopping with the girls Winking smile I tried on a few nice tops, but will need to go back with the skirt I have that must match them. Do you go shopping with articles of clothing you already own to make sure your outfit will be a perfect match?

For dinner we went to Bertoldi’s, an authentic Italian restaurant. I have been there two times before and thoroughly enjoyed my meals each time. I chose to order a meal I had not tried there yet and am extremely happy I did Open-mouthed smile

I ordered their Teglia which is an extremely flavourful seafood stew with prawns, scallops, monk fish, zucchini, and thin potato slices in a chunky tomato. I gobbled up my entire meal and loved every single bite. I definitely recommend this restaurant and dish to anyone in London or visiting London.

first day of school 181

Bertoldi’s has great service and a wonderful atmosphere both inside and out. It is located on London’s busiest street downtown, Richmond Row, so after dinner you are able to stroll down the street and enjoy the London night life Winking smile Other great dishes that I have tried at Bertoldi’s are Pasta Pescatore (with whole wheat pasta), Grilled Calamari, and Cozze (Tuscan mussels). We chatted for quite a while after our delicious meal over some wine (for the ladies) and green tea (for me). I am so happy I have such lovely visitors Smile

first day of school 188

Tomorrow my classes start at 8:30! I love morning classes Smile I like them much better than night classes. I swear my brain shuts off after I eat dinner.

I plan on getting back into a routine with school starting now, so be expecting a post tomorrow! Winking smile 

Time for bed now! Nighty Night!

Meg
xoxo

Any back to school jitters for anyone else?

How do you deal with the nerves?

Seeing my friends that I hadn’t seen all summer sure helped my nerves fade away Smile It is so nice to be back in London Smile

About Meg (A Dash of Meg)

Hello, my name is Meg. I am a 20-year-old passionate Foods & Nutrition student on my way to becoming a Registered Dietitian who loves food, cooking, fitness, seafood, and a nice cup of tea.

Posted on September 8, 2011, in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink. 2 Comments.

  1. Hi hun! Love your pictures… 4 lovely ladies 🙂 I totally understand your back to school excitement — I miss my undergrad degree ALL THE TIME! I had my first university class today, but the only good thing about it was seeing my education friends hahaha. It was seriously lame! Hope you have a lovely weekend. xoxo

    • I love your comments babe 🙂 Thank you ❤ I had another two new classes today which I am going to LOVE! It is always such a great thing seeing friends again hey?? 🙂 I love it.So happy to hear from you Kenny! I LOVE U GIRL 🙂

A penny for your thoughts...

