Girlie Night

Hello everyone! Open-mouthed smile I have to thank you for all of your wonderful comments on my first blog post and all of the amazing Canadian love Smile 

Today was my last full day in Yorkton before my family and I go camping for the long weekend to Cypress Hills then to London on Tuesday. Being my last day here, I, of course squeezed in some hang outs and visits Smile

I met my friend for coffee this morning after vacuuming the house while being entertained by the talented Joshua Kadison Smile My Mom and I have a tradition of playing his CD whenever we clean the house Smile Do you have a favourite CD to listen to while cleaning?

I was lucky enough to find time to stop at the farmer’s market after my coffee date Smile I love buying local, so I was happy I got to hit up the farmer’s market one last time before I go back to London! (I am really excited to get back to London, though, since they have a farmer’s market that is 1,000 000 x more amazing than the one here!)

I bought oodles of fresh vegetables and a big puffed wheat cake for the weekend Winking smile The lady who bakes the puffed wheat cake knows I’m coming for her puffed wheat before I even tell her. She definitely caught on as the summer has passed Winking smile Smart gal.

A creation was made at lunch Open-mouthed smile I got creative in the kitchen and made a butternut squash soup! It was a savoury soup with a little bit of a spicy kick Winking smile

last day in ytown 009

Butternut Squash Soup

Makes 1 serving

Ingredients

200 g butternut squash, roasted and mashed

1/2 cup unsweetened almond milk

1 small garlic clove, minced

1 1/2 tsp. white onion, diced

1/2 tsp. olive oil

pepper, coriander, cayenne, herbamare

Heat olive oil and sauté onion and garlic until translucent. Place all ingredients in blender. Blend together until all squash is puréed. Heat thoroughly stove top.

It’s a pretty simple recipe and I actually blended it all in my Magic Bullet (a.k.a. my best friend). I really enjoyed this soup. You can top it with fresh cilantro (as I did in the picture above) and a blob of Sriracha (which I did after the picture was taken!) I like it spicy Winking smile

last day in ytown 012 

The soup was so good. I made three more batches to take camping Smile 

last day in ytown 014

Mom and I also packed some fresh herbs from our herb garden for cooking while camping Smile Fresh herbs make everything taste better. I think we have a bit of a basil obsession…

last day in ytown 016

The rest of the afternoon was filled with last minute packing, grocery shopping, etc. Mom and I will be leaving for the camping trip after she is done work tomorrow. My Dad and many relatives are already camping in Cypress, so we will be meeting them there tomorrow (Friday) night.

When my Dad is gone, my Mom and I always do something special for dinner Winking smile Breakfast for dinner anyone? Mom and I have a tradition of having pancakes for dinner when we have the house to ourselves Smile I made protein pancakes while my Mom made her go-to recipe that she has been using for years Smile

last day in ytown 028

I usually top my pancakes with fruit when I have them for breakfast, but I thought I’d make something different for the special girl’s night Winking smile I made a coffee-flavoured Greek yogurt topping and almond butter drizzle Winking smile Almonds + coffee = heaven.

last day in ytown 031

Almond Meal Protein Pancakes

Makes 3 pancakes (one meal)

Ingredients

2 Tbsp. almond meal

1 scoop protein powder

1/4 cup + 1 Tbsp. egg whites

1/2 tsp. baking powder

pinch of salt

Mix all ingredients together. Heat a pan on low (it is important to cook these particular pancakes on low because of the almond meal). Cook just like a regular pancake – bubbles form, flip, done!

Coffee Greek Yogurt

Greek yogurt

instant coffee

Mix yogurt and coffee together and you got yourself some coffee flavoured yogurt! You can sweeten with Stevia or another sweetener of your choice!

Almond Butter Drizzle

1 Tbsp. natural almond butter

2 Tbsp. almond milk (or water, but I use almond milk)

Mix ingredients together until blended. You can alter the amount of almond milk to the consistency you want the drizzle.

Dinner was followed by my all-time favourite Pop Pilates workout, Lower Belly Pooch Attack. My Mom and I powered through this quickie workout, but definitely felt it Smile I am so proud of my Mom!It was her first time trying out one of Cassey’s workouts and got through it like a pro! Go Mama Winking smile 

Tomorrow I’ll be sending out an earlier shout out to all of you before I go camping for the weekend, but then you will have to go without hearing from me until Monday. Sorry guys! I will definitely be thinking of you all while camping though Winking smile 

Talk to you tomorrow Open-mouthed smile

Nighty night,

Meg

xoxo

Tell me!

What do you do for girl nights? My Mom and I ran out of time and didn’t paint our toes Sad smile 

Do you like changing things up and having breakfast for dinner? It’s one of my favourite things!

About Meg (A Dash of Meg)

Hello, my name is Meg. I am a 20-year-old passionate Foods & Nutrition student on my way to becoming a Registered Dietitian who loves food, cooking, fitness, seafood, and a nice cup of tea.

Posted on September 2, 2011, in Eat, Recipes and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink. 2 Comments.

  1. girls night definitely need painting toes, chick flicks, wine or tea, and gossip. hehe

    when my gfs and i get together our moms always join for a bit 🙂

    glad you and your mom enjoyed it.

  2. if you dont have protein powder what could be the substitue to use all almond flour instead?

A penny for your thoughts...