Farewell Yorkton

Happy Friday morning everyone! Open-mouthed smile Everyone looking forward to the weekend? Any exciting plans??

I thought I would post now before the day got too crazy and I ran out of time Smile

I started my day off with one of my all-time favourite breakfasts: Strawberry Cheesecake Oats!

cheesecake oatmeal 005

Strawberry Cheesecake Oats

Ingredients

1/4 cup steel cut oats (I use Bob’s Red Mill)

water (for cooking your oats!)

1 scoop vanilla protein powder, divided

strawberries

1/2 cup cottage cheese

Cook your oats as directed on package. Add in a few cut up strawberries and half of a scoop of protein powder. Remove and pour cooked oats into bowl. Place remaining strawberries in pot and heat in a teenie weenie bit of water. Heat strawberries until you are able to mash up the strawberries (I couldn’t find a potato masher, so I just mashed the heated strawberries with a fork!) Pour strawberry sauce over oats. For the cheesecake topping, blend cottage cheese and remaining protein powder together in a Magic Bullet or another type of blender until all lumpies are gone from the cottage cheese. Top oats with cheesecake topping and additional fresh strawberries!

This recipe can be used with any fruit of your choice, but Mom and I bought strawberries yesterday and they looked so delectable I just had to make strawberry cheesecake oats this morning Winking smile

A shoulder workout followed this scrumptious breakfast. My workout looked something like this:

Exercise Sets Reps
Overhead DB Press 4 8
Lateral Raises 4 6
Upright Row 4 6
Front Raises 4 8
Military Press 3 15

I am trying to make a new weekly training routine for myself for when school starts back up again, so I have been creating some great workouts lately. I think I may keep this one for my “back to school” workout routine Smile

After my workout I gobbled down my post-workout meal. I take the “30 minute window” very seriously Winking smile So unfortunately, I only have a picture of the empty Ziploc bag and Magic Bullet cup. Next time I will take a picture before my workout Winking smile

IMG-20110902-00147

I had a shake that tastes exactly like an iced cappuccino. It was incredibly amazing, so I think I should share the recipe! Smile

Just Like an Iced Cappuccino Protein Shake

Ingredients

1 cup almond milk

1 scoop vanilla protein powder (chocolate would be great too!)

lots of ice (I think I used about 8 ice cubes)

Blend it all together and you have yourself the perfect homemade iced cap Winking smile

I also had a banana sandwiched in between three rice cakes. I always look forward to my banana sandies after a hard workout Smile

I realized once I was driving away from the gym that this was my last workout in Yorkton for a while; probably until Christmas or next summer. It then hit me that this was my last day in Yorkton until Thanksgiving. I’m going to miss home.

IMG-20110902-00154

Although the gym is tiny compared to the one at UWO, I have grown to love it over the summer. It’s a gym where everyone knows your name and it just feels like home Smile One time this summer, there were seven people at the gym all who were very close friends of mine. That will definitely not happen when I am back in London.

I need to take this precious thing to the vet for her check up now Smile I always like to be the one to take her to the vet. She usually gets pretty scared and shakes the whole time. I feel like it is my job to comfort her Smile

cuddles ball 002

Have a great long weekend everyone! Smile Let me know what you are up to and about all the adventures that take place Open-mouthed smile I am sure camping will be great! I am praying for good weather Smile It has snowed on us before, so let’s all cross our fingers for nice weather Smile

Talk to you on Monday!

Meg

xoxo

Tell me!

Do you have a training split you are currently following?

How often do you change up your workout routine? I like to change mine up every month or so!

About Meg (A Dash of Meg)

Hello, my name is Meg. I am a 20-year-old passionate Foods & Nutrition student on my way to becoming a Registered Dietitian who loves food, cooking, fitness, seafood, and a nice cup of tea.

Posted on September 2, 2011, in Eat, Recipes, Workouts. Bookmark the permalink. 14 Comments.

  1. I need to work on my lifting routine as well. I’ve been following one from The New Rules of Lifting for Women, but I gored bored about halfway through the program and decided to scrap the plan. Plus I wasn’t really enjoying that each workout was full body, and left me sore and tired all the time. I need to come up with one that focuses on specific body parts on certain days, to give my muscles more time to recoup in between. Hope everything goes well with your puppy! I know what you mean about feeling like you need to comfort them when they’re scared… I feel the same way with my girl!

  2. The Teenage Taste

    Ooooh, those oats look super yummy! Do they really taste like cheesecake though?

  3. The strawberry cheesecake oats looks amazing!

    I use to change my workouts every 2 weeks. Right now I am doing the same thing and have not changed for about 2 months. It’s still working so no need to change it up yet.

  4. Hey Megs! Hope you have a great time camping. I laughed when I read that about snow… I totally remember waking up to snow.. ruining my uggs! hahaha Or remember being in the pool and our hair was completely frozen! So ridiculous! Hope ya had better weather 🙂 xox Safe travels to London!!

  1. Pingback: Miss Productive « A Dash of Meg

  2. Pingback: Pancake Love « A Dash of Meg

  3. Pingback: Updates and Recipes « A Dash of Meg

  4. Pingback: A Foodie’s Paradise « A Dash of Meg

  5. Pingback: S to the 5 « A Dash of Meg

  6. Pingback: Weekend Recap and a Recipe! « A Dash of Meg

  7. Pingback: A Sweaty Start to a Great Day « A Dash of Meg

  8. Pingback: Smoothie Savvy | A Dash Of Meg

A penny for your thoughts...

