Meatless Monday: Zucchini Noodles

Happy Monday friends Open-mouthed smile How has everyone’s day been?

Mine? A little stressful.

But, I have the best Dad in the world (IMO) and he always seems to know how to cheer his stressed-out “big city university girl” up Smile (Yes, that is a new nickname my Daddy has for me!)
These are just a few of the many pictures I received from my Daddy throughout the day… all of which put a smile on my face Smile

He wants me to try and find these at Remark. Do you think I will have any luck?

untitled

Apparently this tap has the flu?

sadtap

Personally, I think these would be delicious

bananalemon

And I found this one all on my own… I thought it was fitting for exam period

125397170844290290_UsQG9Esc_c

But, enough with all of these fun and games! I have a recipe to share! Winking smile

As tradition has it, I have a meatless recipe to share with all of you on this wonderful day I like to call Meatless Monday! Smile I am really excited to share this recipe, but when am I not excited to share a recipe?
This recipe is so good and super easy Smile Sounds like the perfect meal to have during these long days of studying doesn’t it!? Winking smile However, even if you aren’t a slaving student – I am sure you will appreciate this recipe Smile Who doesn’t like an “easy to whip up” recipe?

dailyeats 041

Zucchini Noodles with Chickpeas and Sautéed Tomatoes

1 medium zucchini

1 cup chickpeas, cooked

1 medium tomato, diced

1 TBSP olive oil

1 – 2 garlic cloves

fresh dill, chopped

Begin by thinly slicing your zucchini into “noodles”. I have used a very sharp knife for doing making the noodles, but now that I own a mandolin I use that instead Smile

dailyeats 024

Next, heat the oil in a pan. Sauté garlic, tomatoes, and zucchini until tender and garlic becomes fragrant.

dailyeats 027

Remove from heat and place in bowl or on plate. Toss with warmed chickpeas and a pinch of fresh dill (I microwaved my chickpeas right before my zucchini was ready to be removed from the pan). Serve.

dailyeats 032

This meal is incredibly versatile Smile You can add different veggies, sauces, and even meat!

Here is a version with shredded chicken Smile

dailyeats 044

I hope you enjoyed this recipe! Let me know if you try it out! Open-mouthed smile 

What did you have for Meatless Monday?
Tell me one positive thing
about your day! Or two!? Or three!? It’s always good to keep positive! Open-mouthed smile And reflecting on the positive things throughout our day is a great way to do just that! Smile

Before I go, I must thank all of you for the wonderful comments after last nights post Smile It was a more personal post of mine, so it was an incredible feeling when I received so much positive feedback on it! For those of you who have emailed me, I will be getting back to you by the end of the night! <3

One more thing, Harold Gibbons commented on my post last night and hooked me up with a wonderful article that I think all of you would appreciate and enjoy reading! So read it! Open-mouthed smile You will not be disappointed!
Thanks again Harold!

Alright, now I will go! Winking smile 
I’m off to DAVIDsTEA to meet up with one of my favourite girls Smile Guess who suggested to go to DAVIDsTEA? Hmmmm… tricky question Winking smile 

See you all tomorrow!

Meg
xoxoxoxoxo

About Meg (A Dash of Meg)

Hello, my name is Meg. I am a 20-year-old passionate Foods & Nutrition student on my way to becoming a Registered Dietitian who loves food, cooking, fitness, seafood, and a nice cup of tea.

Posted on December 12, 2011, in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink. 26 Comments.

  1. YUM!!!! I am totally making this tomorrow. Thats looks DELICIOUS. Thank you for sharing

  2. That recipe looks really good/fresh and simple too! I love worth1000.com! They have the neatest contests on there. :)

  3. I have used zucchini for noodles before! I don’t think i’ve been able to slice them thinly enough, though! I also just love roasted zucchini so much that no other cooking method will do :)

    Those pics are crazy! The banana and kiwi ones, I had to do a double take!

  4. Zucchini never fails to make me drool! I had some grilled last night for dinner with my chicken and holy yum haha :D Thanks for sharing the recipe girl, I never would’ve thought to use it like noodles!

  5. My meatless Monday involves eggs and cheese for dinner :)

  6. ohmygah! I want to try this terribly. I also want to drink tea with you, very much! SOON! :)

  7. Bookmarking your zuc noodle and chickpea recipe. I absolutely love zucchini noodles! For some reason they just taste better when their thin :)

  8. YAY for another delicious looking Meatless Monday! I’ve only made zucchini noodles once but they were sooo good. I definitely need to do it again soon.
    And that finals/coffee picture literally made me laugh out loud.
    You’re almost done with your finals, girl! Try not to stress. And enjoy your tea date! :)

  9. This is the second time I’ve seen zucchini noodles today…I must try them!!!

  10. Ugh I have nothing positive to say :( I’m NOT having a good day. I was up all night (because of the time difference!) arguing with my PT institution and it doesn’t look like my papers are going to arrive by the end of the week, which means I have to wait until mid-January to sit the exam. Not only does that mean I have to study all over again, it means that our whole move to the UK is potentially pushed back because I’m not going to be able to start level 3 in time. ARGH!

  11. YUMMMM That looks so delicious!! I love making zucchini into things it’s not “supposed” to be – like noodles, lasagna, I’ve even made zuke pizza crust before lol. I love all the flavor combos going on there too :-D. and LOL at that banana-lemon…lemonana? that would indeed taste awesome. Speaking of, having fun at Davids!! let us know what kind of tea you get! :-D

    Positive things about my day…I got to bake muffins, I got asked back for a second round of interviews for a job, aaand I have a great mom who knows how to cheer me up! :-)

  12. I had lots of veggies, and fro yo haha. Yup, fro yo is a food group. And a positive, I had a enjoyable run with a great friend.

  13. This looks fab! U should definitely look into buying the Benriner Spiraliser- it’s great for making super thin noodles out of loads of different veggies..and very easy to use! One thing positive about my day: I ran today after 4 days of being ill…I made myself stop after 2 miles as I don’t want to risk relapse but it felt SO great!

  14. those look AMAZING and YUMMY!!!

    I don’t have a mandolin~NEED–right??

  15. YUM Meg your creations never fail to amaze me! :D What other kinds of things do you use your mandolin for? I’ve been thinking about getting one!

    My meatless dinner was my bean and butternut squash soup. As much as I love to cook, sometimes during exams there is nothing better than pulling a meal out of the freezer. Not a frozen packaged meal though. Gross. Haha! ;)

  16. FAB pictures! I agree- the banana + orange [or some type of citrus?] would be yummy! I totes would buy a Sbucks IV [even though I'm not in finals period] haha :P

  17. sweet recipe! :-) love the idea of meatless mondays! :-)

    good luck on finals! I totally could have used the Starbucks IV..haha!

  18. I really like the idea of using zucchini as a replacement for real noodles! It’s a great way to incorporate another serving of veggies into your meal!

  19. Zuchinni noodles are delicious..they are like the best kept secret!!

    Awe I love how you are so close with your dad..I am too. Being a daddy’s girl is so much fun :)

    P.S. That Starbucks IV…great idea..someone should realllly try this out! haha

  20. The citrus banana would be such an amazing combo! :) I had lentil soup at lunch for my meatless Monday. It was wonderful!

  1. Pingback: Meatless Monday Makes a Comeback | A Dash Of Meg

A penny for your thoughts...

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 124 other followers

